lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: BSOD while gaming
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-28-2012, 11:47 AM   #1
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kreuzbasar
Posts: 254
Current Game: Shadowrun Dragonfall
BSOD while gaming

Okay, over the past month I've suffered a lot of BSODs while playing games and I have no idea what's causing it. I installed a fresh copy of Windows and still I got regular BSODs. I updated my graphics card drivers, my audio drivers, my BIOS and still no luck. The error always says DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL and usbohci.sys.

Anybody have any ideas? I'm at my wits' end.

I have:
ASUS M4A77TD PRO
AMD Phenom II X4 945
Radeon HD 4890
4 GB DDR3
Win XP SP3
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 11:59 AM   #2
Pho3nix
#rekt
 
Pho3nix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,365
Forum Veteran 
It might be a heat problem, you could check your fans I guess

Pho3nix is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 12:24 PM   #3
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kreuzbasar
Posts: 254
Current Game: Shadowrun Dragonfall
All fans seem to be working. The GPU temp is 60C in idle, but I guess that's normal for ATI and with the heat wave we've been having in this part of Europe. The CPU temp is around 45C.
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 12:37 PM   #4
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,814
Current Game: The Old Republic
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Do you remember when the problems exactly started and if it happened after you put in new hardware or installed new software? I've had countless of BSOD's before and the bad news is, there's a heap of problems that can cause them. If the BSOD's give that same message (DRIVER_IRQL) every time instead of just giving out random ones, I'd indeed focus on faulty drivers first. Often, it's the graphics driver that causes problems, especially if it's during games. Have you tried reverting to an older (more stable) driver for your graphics card?


PSN id: BE_Miltiades

Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 12:49 PM   #5
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kreuzbasar
Posts: 254
Current Game: Shadowrun Dragonfall
The trouble started about a month and a half ago, but I don't remember installing any new software or drivers or anything at that time. As for the graphics drivers, I installed them last at about the time that Skyrim was released (November - December of 2011) and I updated them a few weeks ago when I already began to have BSOD's. So I have no idea what drivers to revert to because I've had BSOD's on both old and new.
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 12:49 PM   #6
Tommycat
>^..^<
 
Tommycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,577
Current Game: Real Life 1.0(BETA)
Forum Veteran 
Sounds like a motherboard driver. Like it's the chipset giving errors about not being able to connect to a USB device. Or maybe you have something connected by USB. If so check to make sure that has updated drivers.


"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." Thomas Jefferson
Tommycat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 01:59 PM   #7
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kreuzbasar
Posts: 254
Current Game: Shadowrun Dragonfall
The only thing I have connected by USB is the mouse and the modem. I've updated the mouse drivers, but I doubt I'll be able to update the modem's drivers 'cause it's a pretty old modem and I don't think there are any newer drivers than the ones I already have.
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 03:11 PM   #8
Tommycat
>^..^<
 
Tommycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,577
Current Game: Real Life 1.0(BETA)
Forum Veteran 
Modem? As in cable modem, or dial up? easy way to find out is to disconnect the modem while playing games(unless it's online games) and see if it still blue screens.


"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." Thomas Jefferson
Tommycat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2012, 04:45 PM   #9
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kreuzbasar
Posts: 254
Current Game: Shadowrun Dragonfall
Yeah, it's the Ye Olde Siemens A100 ADSL USB modem.

I'll try unplugging it and playing something. It's worth to try. I don't play online games, so it's not a big deal.


EDIT: Well, been playing DAO for an hour and no BSOD, knock on wood. I'll keep testing tomorrow.

EDIT2: Hmm BSOD's again this morning. DAO managed to run for 20 minutes before crapping out, and Skyrim barely managed 5 minutes. Maybe it really is a heating issue. I guess I'll wait until the weather settles down a bit and see if anything changes.

Last edited by Red Hessian; 08-29-2012 at 05:30 AM.
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2012, 11:32 AM   #10
Tommycat
>^..^<
 
Tommycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,577
Current Game: Real Life 1.0(BETA)
Forum Veteran 
try cleaning the heat sinks for your processor and video card. Might be worth a shot. If not write down your stop error code(0x00000007C for instance. but you can leave off the 0's) and check on line. Usually it'll tell you what it is.


"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." Thomas Jefferson
Tommycat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2012, 01:26 AM   #11
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,361
Go to your BIOS and check voltages. If they're coming up lower than the safe zone, you might need to replace your PSU. If you have the spare time and patience, dismantle your PC, clean it all up and set it up again. IRQL errors on a fresh Windows install are almost certainly hardware issues.


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2012, 11:24 AM   #12
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kreuzbasar
Posts: 254
Current Game: Shadowrun Dragonfall
Okay, after a long time digging around the minidumps I figured out that the culprit was Deamon tools (or rather some part of it) and after removing it the BSOD's have disappeared.

BUT, in an earlier effort to fix the BSOD's I seem to have unlocked all cores on my CPU. Now, usually that wouldn't be a bad thing, but for some reason after doing that I keep getting strange processes in the task manager all named 56IR3F5W.exe which eat up all of my memory usage...

Any ideas? Tommy? Sabre?

Last edited by Red Hessian; 08-31-2012 at 11:31 AM.
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2012, 02:52 PM   #13
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,361
You have 'unlocked all cores' on your CPU? How exactly did you do that? The .exe isn't recognised by Google and therefore points very strongly towards a malware infection of some sort.


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2012, 03:06 PM   #14
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,585
Current Game: The Old Republic
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Hessian View Post
Okay, after a long time digging around the minidumps I figured out that the culprit was Deamon tools (or rather some part of it) and after removing it the BSOD's have disappeared.

BUT, in an earlier effort to fix the BSOD's I seem to have unlocked all cores on my CPU. Now, usually that wouldn't be a bad thing, but for some reason after doing that I keep getting strange processes in the task manager all named 56IR3F5W.exe which eat up all of my memory usage...

Any ideas? Tommy? Sabre?
Download and run MalwareBytes Free and see if the exe you listed is a virus/malware.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2012, 03:45 PM   #15
Tommycat
>^..^<
 
Tommycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,577
Current Game: Real Life 1.0(BETA)
Forum Veteran 
Yeah... that isn't part of the OS. Run your antivirus, and check with malwarebytes, SpybotS&D, or any other anti-malware(trustworthy) software.


"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." Thomas Jefferson
Tommycat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2012, 05:30 PM   #16
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kreuzbasar
Posts: 254
Current Game: Shadowrun Dragonfall
Just an update.

After 3 loooong weeks at the repair shop my machine finally arrived today and I'm happy to report that everything's fine. The trouble with BSOD's was caused by the CMOS battery, and those strange .exe files were some kind of malware I got by installing some weird diagnostic software.

Thanks guys for all your help!
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Community > Ahto Spaceport Cantina > BSOD while gaming

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.