lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Windows 7&8 random crashing
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-13-2012, 01:03 AM   #1
sw-junkie
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Windows 7&8 random crashing

First off here's my info ->

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=12/12/2012 10:46:33 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=Win9x
Version=Windows 9X v6.2 build 9200
Service Pack=None
Status=Fail

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=4
CPUSpeed=3411
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=10
CPUStepping=7
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=4096
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=19.54GB
E: (NTFS), UNICODE=53.21GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=

[Video]
Video Card Name=NVIDIA GeForce GT 440
Video Memory=4096
Desktop Resolution=0x0x0
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=4.2.0
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce GT 440/PCIe/SSE2
NVidia Driver=(null)
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Fail
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
EnableCheats=1
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=0
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=16
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
RefreshRate=60
Height=768
Width=1024
V-Sync=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=8
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action265=52
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

There's my "configure" output file.

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
EnableCheats=1
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=0
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=16
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0


[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves


[Graphics Options]
RefreshRate=60
Height=768
Width=1024
V-Sync=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=8
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1
[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action265=52
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

Here's my .ini file

Graphics driver is ->


GeForce R304 Driver
Version: 306.97 WHQL
Release Date: 2012.10.10
Operating System: Windows Vista 64-bit, Windows 7 64-bit, Windows 8 64-bit
Language: English (U.S.)
File Size: 175 MB

Now, I haven't seen a post on my problem yet, but I'm sorry if this is a clone of an existing thread. Yesterday I tried to go back and install KoTor 1 on my windows 7 pro, but to no avail (same exact problem as stated below). I had a copy of windows 8 I had yet to install so as of today I'm running windows 8 Pro MCE with all updates installed and drivers freshly installed TODAY. This was not an upgrade but a format and clean install of windows. That being said I installed AND run the game in compatibility for XP SP3 and as Admin. I have updated to 1.03 and have no problems of any kind getting the game to launch, create a character, watch the intro movie, and start playing. HOWEVER I get random crashes - Never due to a movie, conversation or combat. but I can't even get through the endar spire without saving after every single battle. It will probably crash and right now my only hope is to reload and hope to get through that battle in order to create my next save. I don't have videos disabled but if someone suggests I would ask that they explain why, as I've already said I have no problems with videos, conversations, or anything of the like. In fact it always seems to crash while not in combat and I'm simply walking. Symptoms are no different in windows 7 or 8. If someone could help me out I would greatly appreciate being able to play on of my favs again!
sw-junkie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2012, 09:13 AM   #2
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Which copy of the games? Because my laptop runs both fine with an Sandy Bridge Intel i5 and Nvidia GeForce 540M. Did you tell the .exe's to use the (discrete) Nvidia GPU instead of the (integrated) Intel graphics? That might make a bit of difference, at least for KotOR II.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2012, 12:47 PM   #3
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
OP has the swconfig.exe utility, so it's either the original disk version, or (maybe) Best of PC(?).

OP: Did you install the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2012, 03:02 PM   #4
sw-junkie
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
I have my integrated graphics disabled in bios so that doesn't even show up in device manager, I wouldn't think the game would have an issue there.

I'm running the original 4 cd's version of the game, I've had it since it came out. Just haven't pulled it off the shelf in quite some time.

I -may- have found the issue. Out of all the stuff on that second post I did all but one, I updated via the game launcher instead of downloading a separate patch. I will uninstall and try a clean install and update this thread with my findings. Thanks!
sw-junkie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2012, 11:33 PM   #5
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sw-junkie View Post
Out of all the stuff on that second post I did all but one, I updated via the game launcher instead of downloading a separate patch.
Really? Because I see no Dantooine lag fix in your report. Lack of it can cause random crashes.

As can not setting CPU affinity to a single core.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2012, 12:09 AM   #6
sw-junkie
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
The Dantooine lag fix has been around since this game was almost new. I played through the game many times on xp and never needed it. Since I have always been among the "lucky few" I have always ignored that one. Until now, I had never been aware it affected anything but dantooine. As for processor affinity I set that manually on game launch rather than muddy up my settings files.
sw-junkie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2012, 12:19 AM   #7
sw-junkie
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
On a different note - Simply using the correct patch nearly fixed it. When I started it would crash once per 5 minutes, if it made it that far. After reinstalling using correct patch it has crashed twice during gameplay and I've made it to the part where you meet Juhani on dantooine. Not completely bug free but much better than it was.
sw-junkie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2012, 12:21 AM   #8
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I prefer the manual patch, set to XP SP2 compatibility mode for both games, myself. I actually set every .exe this way.

I agree that the Dantooine lag fix may or may not be necessary. It does affect more than just Dantooine, though; especially with newer video cards. I always have it in my .ini file regardless of what hardware I'm using. If it turns out that I don't need it, I just change the 1 to a 0.

There's no need to set CPU affinity manually. If you follow that step in the guide, it will do it automatically.

All of this is your choice, of course. I can tell from your posts that you know what you're doing.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2012, 01:23 AM   #9
sw-junkie
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Well I should have read through that other post and stated specifically what I did different in the first place. Like setting my processor affinity to 1. I'm out of time tonight but I will certainly try the dantooine fix tomorrow and post back my results afterwards. Just curious "Q" why do you prefer SP2? I don't have any particular reason for using SP3 myself other than, there are usually some stability fixes included in each SP, so I have always defaulted to the latest available. Maybe that would be worth a try in my case? Though I don't cherish the thought of another install I'd like to get this game to run bug free. Rest assured I keep a notepad file with every change needed in order so I won't have to track all this info down next year. Haha! Thanks to all for the replies!
sw-junkie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Windows 7&8 random crashing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.