lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Animations cracked!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-18-2007, 12:50 PM   #201
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Edit tk102: Version 0.6alpha1 is now "canon". I've copied some of the v0.6alpha posts over to the "official" MDLOps tool thread. Please use that thread for further discussions regarding that tool.

This thread can continue to be a WIP thread if needed.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-02-2013, 11:12 PM   #202
AVMP™StudiosUK
Lurker
 
AVMP™StudiosUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: England
Posts: 2
Current Game: KotOR
Exclamation Extracting Animations *MultiThread Tutorial* 3DS MAX

Guys, i think i can help everyone out here, old thread but we all love modding so, here goes

This only works for people with Autodesk® 3DS Max
Note, there is also the plugin for Gmax too, but i dont have Gmax, i will also host that plugin too!

i figured this out last night, whilst playing around with some nwn tools, all animations are stored within the aurora model extention, hence why it needs it for extract.

So when navigating to your model in Kotor tool,
only navigate to the Aurora model, nothing else, double click on it

ill give an example

BIFS -> Party.bif -> Aurora Model -> p_HK47.mdl

Double Click do NOT click extract on the right

on the popup choose your options, if you want the animations check export animations select the folder where you want it, click ok.

Kotor tool automatically does what mdl ops is supposed to do hidden function only just noticed that, because once its extracted well you no longer need mdl ops, since the ASCII binary is there waiting for you

Next:

Open up 3Ds Max
i have both 2009 and 2012 so i have tested it, and it works in both versions

Now for 3ds max,

you need to have NWmax by Joco, main website is dead but i will host it on the subsection of my company website http://development.avmpstudios.co.uk/

to install run the installer, as admin(win 7 vista) browse to your current 3ds max location be it 2006 or 2013 it doesn't matter it works, select your max location then press ok, when you look at the installation path you should see something like this

"C:/Program Files/Autodesk/3ds Max 2009/3dsmax6"
"C:/(x86)Program Files/Autodesk/3ds Max 2009/3dsmax6"

delete the "3dsmax6" and click next, this allows the plugin to be installed correct, and so no housekeeping is needed, follow through the install, your done!

Here come the fun part!!!

in 3ds max you will have the plugin auto load and be there when you open
the program

dock the tool bar it will be way easier by clicking general utils and select float speedbar

open MDL loading subpanel

on filename click browse, navigate to where you extracted your model, select it

now this is where you need to pay attention

under the filename you have some options, since all the anims are stored within the extention when you extracted the model the anims were placed within the mdl binary

now you can choose if you want the Geo(model) animations or both, NOTE* there is a bug within importer, some animations do get screwed up really bad but you do have the bone rig when importing, some models do have some good animation, so if your willing to give your time and fix the interpolation with the key frames and position them correctly then please go ahead,

i will also put up a vid for 3ds max 2009 and 2012 and show the install process on both and the import aswell, i felt as i needed to share because ive been playing around with these tool and the unreal development kit, so, having these animations saves quite a lot of manual work

if you need help please email me shaun.cassidy@avmpstudios.co.uk
i will do my best to help you, also the web page to download both the gmax and 3ds max plugins are development.avmpstudios.co.uk,

Shaun Cassidy

View page
YouTube Video
AVMP™StudiosUK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2013, 05:37 AM   #203
Darth_Tempust
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 98
Haven't played the video yet, but I'll post my method for HK-47's animations here.

For HK-47's animations to work correctly, I just selected the bones that should only have rotation keys and reduced all the position keys. I then moved HK-47 upwards a bit as the importer had the scene centered to the middle of the model.
Darth_Tempust is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Animations cracked!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.