lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Workbench Camera
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-03-2013, 02:29 PM   #1
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 118
Current Game: Assassins creed
Workbench Camera

Simply put, is it possible to have a camera zoom in on all workbenches?


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2013, 07:45 PM   #2
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 595
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunters Run View Post
Simply put, is it possible to have a camera zoom in on all workbenches?
If you were to use anicam, and if one could access the OnClick event on the workbench(Can we?),... maybe. Anybody else have any input?


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2013, 02:49 PM   #3
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 118
Current Game: Assassins creed
Getting the camera to zoom in on a workbench shouldn't be a problem. Simply place a camera over the workbench (not the easiest thing) and use the camera Id and angle tab in the dlg editor. However, placing a camera means making a new entry in area's git- not the best method if your looking for compatibility as other mods would edit this file. For k2 this would be tslrcm, another mod for k1. An idea is that I edit the .git files of these mods with the permission of the authors. For anybody else I can give instructions on how I edited the .git file.

As you are no doubt wondering what mod I am working on, all I can say is that involves a real time workbench (provided everything works out).


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2013, 02:55 PM   #4
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 595
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunters Run View Post
Getting the camera to zoom in on a workbench shouldn't be a problem. Simply place a camera over the workbench (not the easiest thing) and use the camera Id and angle tab in the dlg editor. However, placing a camera means making a new entry in area's git- not the best method if your looking for compatibility as other mods would edit this file. For k2 this would be tslrcm, another mod for k1. An idea is that I edit the .git files of these mods with the permission of the authors. For anybody else I can give instructions on how I edited the .git file.

As you are no doubt wondering what mod I am working on, all I can say is that involves a real time workbench (provided everything works out).
If you're willing to wait, I can probably make a program that will unpack a .mod, open the .git file, and allow you to edit it. I could make it make a list of the changes(similar to the changes.ini of TslPatcher) and then re-pack it. I will need time though, since I have no laptop/computer that I can do whatever I want on and am forced to visit my brother and use his.

It is possible though, if you're willing to wait...


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2013, 09:36 AM   #5
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You can already have the TSL Patcher edit/attach individual lines to the git, very similarly to the way it edits/attaches to .2da files.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2013, 09:54 AM   #6
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 595
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Guardian View Post
You can already have the TSL Patcher edit/attach individual lines to the git, very similarly to the way it edits/attaches to .2da files.
Yes, this I know. But will it automatically extract the .git file from a .mod, then edit it, and then re-pack it?


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2013, 10:16 AM   #7
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Yeah. I have a TSL Patcher currently setup to edit the BattleMusic slot of a .GIT file. It changes the original battle music ID to one corresponding with a newly added 2da line. I ran two instances of this TSL Patcher just now and here are the results:

After the first run the battle music was listed as 100 within the .GIT (and Windows showed that the .MOD had been edited recently). After the next run, the battle music listed as 112 and Windows again showed the .MOD had been recently edited.

This means it was extracting the .GIT, editing it to correspond with the .2da, then repacking it.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2013, 12:03 PM   #8
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 595
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Guardian View Post
Yeah. I have a TSL Patcher currently setup to edit the BattleMusic slot of a .GIT file. It changes the original battle music ID to one corresponding with a newly added 2da line. I ran two instances of this TSL Patcher just now and here are the results:

After the first run the battle music was listed as 100 within the .GIT (and Windows showed that the .MOD had been edited recently). After the next run, the battle music listed as 112 and Windows again showed the .MOD had been recently edited.

This means it was extracting the .GIT, editing it to correspond with the .2da, then repacking it.
Well then, no tool needed. And as for Hunter's Run's worry of compatibility, I think he(or she!) doesn't have anything to worry about, now does he/she?


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2013, 12:31 PM   #9
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
The only problem I can see is when exactly would he/she want the camera to zoom in. If it's whenever the player clicks on it to use it one could just edit the workbench's default dialogue to have a camera showing the workbench in the opening node.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2013, 02:16 PM   #10
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 118
Current Game: Assassins creed
He actually. I created a new dialogue file for the mod. Thanks for telling me about the TSL Patcher. I'll use that. Is there a tutorial on how to edit the git file with the TSL Patcher or is it in the documentation.


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2013, 02:59 PM   #11
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 595
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunters Run View Post
He actually. I created a new dialogue file for the mod. Thanks for telling me about the TSL Patcher. I'll use that. Is there a tutorial on how to edit the git file with the TSL Patcher or is it in the documentation.
You can try here for the basics. It talks about .uti and .utc files, but a .git file is still the same format. I would suggest that you have the .git file from each module with a workbench in a folder, and then have your edited versions in a different folder, and for each file just compare the versions between the folders.


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2013, 11:58 PM   #12
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 118
Current Game: Assassins creed
The hard part is now getting the camera to stop going through a wall. If someone experienced in cameras could walk me through this it would be appreciated.


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2013, 10:11 AM   #13
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Are you using an animated camera or a static camera? Quite frankly animated cameras are much easier to work with and can be either animated or static. Plus, they only require two files in the override (an MDL and an MDX), so it make it more compatible. The only problem with animated cameras is wether you intend to use a script to switch camera shots in the middle of the dialogue node, because you cannot call animated cameras with that function.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2013, 11:29 AM   #14
Hunters Run
Rookie
 
Hunters Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: the same place as gnus
Posts: 118
Current Game: Assassins creed
Static. Unless you can lock an animated camera in place. I am kind of new at this type of modding.


It's just like chicken-only different.
Hunters Run is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Workbench Camera

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.