lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KOTOR 1/2 Working on Windows 8
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-30-2013, 01:56 PM   #1
kirk1994
Rookie
 
kirk1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chewelah
Posts: 23
Current Game: kotor 1 and 2 ^.^
KOTOR 1/2 Working on Windows 8

Will anyone out there mind making a patch for kotor or TSL ?

I can't do it myself and if one isn't made no one can play kotor on the newer computers. I know theirs a patch that was made for vista so i hope what Im asking for isn't out of the question.
kirk1994 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2013, 02:03 PM   #2
Vindikorr
Rookie
 
Vindikorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 123
Current Game: TOR
This thread explains how to install on windows vista, and works for 7 and 8 too. Keep in mind that if you have intel integrated graphics you will almost certainly experience problems, but there's plenty of fixes. I've never had a pc I couldn't get kotor to run on, and I've tried it on a lot of pcs

If a mod could move this to Work Bench...


My WIP: The Liberation of Manaan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Totalbiscuit
Can tell it's been a busy day, 121 Chrome tabs open
28.04428% on the geek test

Bile Beans keep you healthy, bright-eyed and slim
Vindikorr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2013, 05:59 PM   #3
kirk1994
Rookie
 
kirk1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chewelah
Posts: 23
Current Game: kotor 1 and 2 ^.^
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindikorr View Post
This thread explains how to install on windows vista, and works for 7 and 8 too. Keep in mind that if you have intel integrated graphics you will almost certainly experience problems, but there's plenty of fixes. I've never had a pc I couldn't get kotor to run on, and I've tried it on a lot of pcs

If a mod could move this to Work Bench...
I still don't understand I still can't get it to work have you ever made it run on windows 8 ? How exactly did you do it?
kirk1994 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2013, 06:13 PM   #4
kirk1994
Rookie
 
kirk1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chewelah
Posts: 23
Current Game: kotor 1 and 2 ^.^
Can anyone explain it step by step please?

Last edited by kirk1994; 04-30-2013 at 06:25 PM.
kirk1994 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2013, 06:54 PM   #5
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,288
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk1994 View Post
Can anyone explain it step by step please?
If you start at the second post of the thread Vindikorr led you to you will see a step-by-step process of installing either KotOR game for Windows Vista, but it works for 7 and 8 as well. Alternatively, if you're willing to shell out a little bit of cash, you can just pick up the anniversary boxed set of the game, which - from what I've heard - installs just fine onto Windows 8 without any modifications (though I could be wrong about the boxed set).


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2013, 07:14 PM   #6
kirk1994
Rookie
 
kirk1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chewelah
Posts: 23
Current Game: kotor 1 and 2 ^.^
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Guardian View Post
If you start at the second post of the thread Vindikorr led you to you will see a step-by-step process of installing either KotOR game for Windows Vista, but it works for 7 and 8 as well. Alternatively, if you're willing to shell out a little bit of cash, you can just pick up the anniversary boxed set of the game, which - from what I've heard - installs just fine onto Windows 8 without any modifications (though I could be wrong about the boxed set).
Thank you! I will try that next
kirk1994 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2013, 03:06 AM   #7
Aaron00018
Rookie
 
Aaron00018's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: On Dantooine of Course.
Posts: 32
Current Game: kotor 1 + 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Guardian View Post
If you start at the second post of the thread Vindikorr led you to you will see a step-by-step process of installing either KotOR game for Windows Vista, but it works for 7 and 8 as well. Alternatively, if you're willing to shell out a little bit of cash, you can just pick up the anniversary boxed set of the game, which - from what I've heard - installs just fine onto Windows 8 without any modifications (though I could be wrong about the boxed set).
I'd have to agree with Fallen Guardian.

I bought the "collection" 2 dvd version , and it works great on my windows7, no problems , and I did not have to install any patches or updates what-so-ever. So I don't doubt that it would work easily on windows8.

When installing, it takes about a minute before it actually gets going, but once it does, and is installed, it's awsome.

And my computer is an HP with intel graphics, which, (from what I heard) isn't suppose to play the game good, Yet my computer works GREAT with the games.


Also the "collection" is soo cheap on amazon, quite worth it.

I highly suggest it.

Here is a link:

http://www.amazon.com/Star-Wars-Knig...keywords=kotor

-Aaron


May The Force Be With You.
Aaron00018 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-19-2013, 04:44 PM   #8
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
I used to be quite active in the Vista/7 thread, as Renegade Sniper was an old friend of mine from the Team Gizka forums.

That said, gladly paying $20 tonight for the collection so I can install on Win8 without any extra pains in the arse

Got modding to do


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-12-2014, 09:14 AM   #9
ryanita
Banned
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
I want to try but I'm not understand...can some one give step by step...
ryanita is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > KOTOR 1/2 Working on Windows 8

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.