Thread: Asia Pacific Server Consolidation/ Free Character Transfer
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-06-2013, 06:55 AM   #1
the_raven
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Moldova
Posts: 33
Current Game: Kotor, JKA, SWTOR
Angry Asia Pacific Server Consolidation/ Free Character Transfer

I've received an e-mail from SWTOR about them consolidating the Asia Pacific Server into the West Coast North America server, something I can't agree with since I play on Asia Pacific, because it's the least populated and I can play there without as much lag. Do those guys even think of their members?
the_raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2013, 07:03 AM   #2
Rogue15
Reconnaissance Specialist
 
Rogue15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,558
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer 10 year veteran! 
yeah move to harbinger, it's better. or bastion.


Battle is a pure form of expression. It is heart and discipline, reduced to movement and motion. In battle, the words are swept away, giving way to actions-- mercy, sacrifice, anger, fear. These are pure moments of expression.
Rogue15 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2013, 07:16 AM   #3
Lynk Former
internet hate machine
 
Lynk Former's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,974
10 year veteran! The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer LF Jester 
I'm from Australia, in Melbourne, and I play on The Harbinger which is a US west coast server. My ping is around 170-180ms standard and it's not bad. I've run a lot of ops and done a lot in the game and it really isn't that big a deal unless you're an absolute diehard PvP fan.

I can understand not wanting to move from the server you've planted yourself in... I know I left the game for a while because of similar circumstances, but if you do keep playing, it's not all THAT bad to move to one of the closer US servers.

Lynk Former is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2013, 07:35 AM   #4
the_raven
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Moldova
Posts: 33
Current Game: Kotor, JKA, SWTOR
the problem is, I'm european, so the Asian server's closer to me and the American one, but back when I first started playing TOR, I played the European server, and tryed the American server as well, and it was pretty bad because of the huge amounts of players... =\
the game already glitches like hell by eating up my ram and because my video-card isn't as strong as it should be, so imagine my experience with playing a full server? =\
the_raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2013, 07:56 AM   #5
Rogue15
Reconnaissance Specialist
 
Rogue15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,558
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer 10 year veteran! 
idk im in kuwait playing on a west coast server, and very surprisingly the lag isnt that bad....

it is probably your ram...


Battle is a pure form of expression. It is heart and discipline, reduced to movement and motion. In battle, the words are swept away, giving way to actions-- mercy, sacrifice, anger, fear. These are pure moments of expression.
Rogue15 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2013, 08:56 AM   #6
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,829
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_raven View Post
the problem is, I'm european, so the Asian server's closer to me and the American one, but back when I first started playing TOR, I played the European server, and tryed the American server as well, and it was pretty bad because of the huge amounts of players... =\
the game already glitches like hell by eating up my ram and because my video-card isn't as strong as it should be, so imagine my experience with playing a full server? =\
Well, that seems more of a problem with your computer not being able to handle the game very well than with the place you are relative to the server. I play on The Harbinger (US West Coast) and I'm in Europe, but I don't have any serious lag issues. I get pings similar to what Lynk's got.

The servers are meant to be populated, considering this is an MMO, so a server very low on people doesn't make sense, even if it's in your best interest.


PSN id: BE_Miltiades

Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2013, 04:21 PM   #7
JasraLantill
No One Liners
 
JasraLantill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,387
Current Game: SWOTR
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Alderaan News Holopics contributor LFN Staff Member Roleplayer 
I play on Harbinger from the U.K., but have played on the European and East - Coast servers as well. I get pings in the 180-190ms range on Harbinger, slightly less lag on the Euro and the EastCoast servers, but not enough to really make any real difference. I do get huge lag spikes now and then, but I think that's due more to the fact that I live in a rural area and therefore pretty far away from the telephone junction box. If I lived in a town, I bet I wouldn't ever have that problem. I do have to say that I turn my graphics settings down a bit and get smoother play.

On a different note, I purchased a new video card specifically for this game. My old one, although very capable of supporting other high graphic games, wasn't on the official 'list' of ones that support SWTOR. Once I made the switch, things were fine.


Veni, Vidi, Velcro. (I came, I saw, I stuck around)
___________________________
JasraLantill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2013, 11:21 AM   #8
the_raven
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Moldova
Posts: 33
Current Game: Kotor, JKA, SWTOR
JasraLantill, I though the low graphic settings gave me smoother gameplay too, but that ate up my ram horribly! and some people on various forums said that if you have a win64 system, then it's better to set your settings to high, and it worked, ram's only wasting around half of what it wasted before, so that's all good. don't have money for a new video-card, not to mention the one I have is pretty new itself...
the_raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Forums > Game Discussion > Tython Temple > Asia Pacific Server Consolidation/ Free Character Transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump