lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: no reponse dialuoge
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-13-2010, 03:41 PM   #1
bryzz
Rookie
 
bryzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 144
no reponse dialuoge

there are alot of npcs in kotor that when you walk up to talk to them you get that box above their head that has the lines they are saying in it and you can hear the voice but you are not really talking to them - i am adding a mandalorian on dantooine near the ruins and i want this to happen because i dont want the pc to get into a conversation with him at that point - so how would i go about doing this??
bryzz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2010, 03:43 PM   #2
Viado Onasi
Rookie
 
Viado Onasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 104
Current Game: NCAA 13
floating dialog and a tigger type thing. I think not sure how to make those, but I've been wondering the same thing

Viado Onasi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2010, 04:29 PM   #3
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Veteran Modder 
You create a dialog that consists of only one line using a dlgeditor application. You then save that dialog to your override. Then you put the dialog name in the dialog box on the utc file you created for your mandalorian.

So, when the player clicks on the mandalorian he says his one line bubble speech.

That's pretty general description. If you need more ask or check the tutorials an creating a dialog.


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2013, 02:43 PM   #4
Darth Hayze
Rookie
 
Darth Hayze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 27
Current Game: Revenge of Revan
Does it have to be one line? It wouldn't work say, for the banter dialog to have that just happen instead of stopping the game with a cutscene?

Darth Hayze is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2013, 10:01 PM   #5
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Hayze View Post
Does it have to be one line? It wouldn't work say, for the banter dialog to have that just happen instead of stopping the game with a cutscene?
Instead of having an individual dialogue file for each line, executing each one to be played in a sequential order, you could have one script fire off all the lines from their central location in the dialog.tlk.

For instance, say I wanted to have Bastila and Carth's conversation about the Vulkars capturing her. I'd look up the StrRef numbers for each of the lines (they're shown right above the text in tk102's dialogue editor) and paste them into a script like the one below:

Code:
void main()
{

   object oCarth = GetObjectByTag("Carth");
   object oBast = GetObjectByTag("Bastila");

      AssignCommand(oCarth, ActionBarkString(38791));
      AssignCommand(oCarth, ActionBarkString(38792));
      AssignCommand(oCarth, ActionBarkString(38793));

}
This would make Carth "shout" his first line of the conversation, then make Carth "shout" Bastila's reply and then make Carth "shout" his reply again. Essentially the "shouting" would be the pop-up dialogue bubble - at least that's my understanding of it. I tried working with bark string in one of my projects and it didn't work, but I was using it in a rather tenuous situation to begin with so there could've been other problems causing it not to work.

Now I had Carth do all the "shouting" because this way, in theory, the barking of each line gets added to his action queue - which means line 38792 would have to wait for line 38791 to finish playing before being barked. If I had Bastila actually assigned to bark her line she'd do it at the same time Carth does his first line, which would be pretty weird.

Anyway, like I said, I haven't worked much with bark string before so this may or may not work - hopefully it does.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-21-2013, 04:31 AM   #6
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
If you really wanted to have a dialog like that with multiple people you could always inject a DelayCommand () function in front of the lines so they pop up in a timely order giving it the illusion that it's in sequencial order.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > no reponse dialuoge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.