lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Phantom menace installation problems!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-23-2013, 09:28 AM   #1
sebulba244
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Unhappy Phantom menace installation problems!

I have just bought a new laptop (windows 7, 64-bit) and can't install the phantom menace...

this is a disaster!


when trying to install the game a error message along the lines of this pops up
"the setup was unable to launch, can run setup.exe from the disc"

i've looked in the files on the disc and can't seem to find setup.exe and dont know what to do.

phantom menace is one of my favourite games ever so any help on installing it would be great!
sebulba244 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2013, 01:39 PM   #2
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,503
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I think the problem is actually that the installer is not a full 32-bit installer, but loads 16-bit code first. 64-bit Windows removed support for 16-bit code, so that's why you're getting the error. MSI installer packages (for use with Windows Installer) have been made for some games (the X-Wing series comes to mind, but there may be others), so if you want to try your hand at making an MSI installer package for this game, you're welcome to; remember, though, that the installer also needs to place the correct entries in the Registry in order for Windows to be able to run the game.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2013, 03:20 PM   #3
Alexrd
Senior Member
 
Alexrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,172
Current Game: UEFA Euro 2004
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
KJ9 has sent me a 64-bit installer. Although I haven't tried it yet, I can send it to you if you want.



Star Wars: In Concert - Lisbon - Some pictures of the exhibition accompanying the event.
Alexrd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2013, 03:46 PM   #4
Ibex3050
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrd View Post
KJ9 has sent me a 64-bit installer. Although I haven't tried it yet, I can send it to you if you want.
If you don't mind i would be really happy if you could send that 64-bit installer to me
Ibex3050 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2014, 07:26 PM   #5
florida
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrd View Post
KJ9 has sent me a 64-bit installer. Although I haven't tried it yet, I can send it to you if you want.
Do you still have this? Would you be able to send it?
florida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > Episode I: The Phantom Menace > Phantom menace installation problems!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.