lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Wrong music in some modules
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-21-2013, 11:31 PM   #1
Kainzorus Prime
My vision is augmented
 
Kainzorus Prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Top of the food chain.
Posts: 1,222
Current Game: Deus Ex series
Contest winner - Modding 
Wrong music in some modules

So, I've noticed some of the modules in K1 play the wrong music than they're supposed to. Korriban areas play the Sith Base combat music instead of actual Korriban battle music, and Sith Embassy on Manaan plays the ambient Korriban music instead of the Sith theme.

Any way to fix this? And don't tell me to rename files in StreamMusic, I'm looking for a more permanent solution than juggling music files every five minutes.

Kainzorus Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2013, 02:34 AM   #2
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Malachor V
Posts: 1,143
Current Game: Halo: Master Chief Collection
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
I suppose you could fiddle with the music.2da file.



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread
LDR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2013, 09:04 AM   #3
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 571
Pretty sure music is listed in the .are files of each module.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2013, 09:41 AM   #4
Kainzorus Prime
My vision is augmented
 
Kainzorus Prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Top of the food chain.
Posts: 1,222
Current Game: Deus Ex series
Contest winner - Modding 
So I'd have to fiddle with these using a GFF editor, right?

Kainzorus Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2013, 12:18 PM   #5
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 628
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter View Post
Pretty sure music is listed in the .are files of each module.
Yeah, you're right. There's a section for the music, though each number is a reference to a line in the .2da, so either editing option could work.


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2013, 01:54 PM   #6
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 571
Yeah, but editing the .are would be better, since editing the .2da might change music in other modules that you didn't want changed.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2013, 07:41 AM   #7
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Just go to the music sections of the modules that you want to have the music become and copy the reference numbers to their appropriate fields. Then just throw them into the override. Fortunately since these are .are files you dont have to worry about recompiling the module afterwords and have to go through the hassel of extensive testing to ensure they are working properly
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2013, 12:30 PM   #8
Kainzorus Prime
My vision is augmented
 
Kainzorus Prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Top of the food chain.
Posts: 1,222
Current Game: Deus Ex series
Contest winner - Modding 
Actually, I found the music entries are in the .git files. Can I paste these into override without fear of the game exploding in my face?

Edit: It works like a charm. Thank you lads, you've helped me create another 'fix' mod.


Last edited by Kainzorus Prime; 09-23-2013 at 12:54 PM.
Kainzorus Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2013, 08:17 AM   #9
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 571
As for the crossed question;

No, you should never EVER put .git's in override (of a finished mod).
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2013, 10:40 AM   #10
Kainzorus Prime
My vision is augmented
 
Kainzorus Prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Top of the food chain.
Posts: 1,222
Current Game: Deus Ex series
Contest winner - Modding 
Yes, that was resolved pretty quickly with the TSL Patcher.

Kainzorus Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2013, 11:49 AM   #11
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 571
Indeed.
I always prefer stuffing stuff in the .mod anyway to prevent similarly named files conflicts.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Wrong music in some modules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.