lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: TSL Patcher error
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-08-2008, 12:29 PM   #1
Ran_Rubbai
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
TSL Patcher error

I am having trouble getting the TSL patcher to work and nothing ive found on the forums has the same problem.

When I try to install I get an error saying:
"WARNING! cannnot find INI file Changes.ini with work instructions"

Followed by:
"Unable to load the instructions text! Make sure the tslpatchdata folder containing the info.rtf file is located in the same folder as this application"
Ran_Rubbai is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2008, 03:18 PM   #2
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
First off, are you trying to install a downloaded mod, or are you trying to setup the TSLPatcher to install a mod you created yourself?

Judging from the error messages, check to make sure that there is a folder called tslpatchdata in the same directory as the TSLPatcher executable and that within that folder, there are at least the two files changes.ini and info.rtf.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2008, 10:25 AM   #3
Ran_Rubbai
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
I am trying to install a downloaded mod.

Well in the actual tslpatchdata folder there is both changes.ini and info.rtf and they are both in the same folder, the .exe and the patchdata folder.

It may be that you have to take me through a possible solution in farily basic terms as I have only a small technical ability when it comes to this lol.

thanks.
Ran_Rubbai is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2008, 12:19 PM   #4
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Okay, here's what you need to do.

Make sure that the TSLPatcher executable is not inside the tslpatchdata folder. It should be one directory above the tslpatchdata folder. Then run the program.

Looks something like this.



Hope it helps.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2008, 03:27 PM   #5
Ran_Rubbai
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
[IMG][/IMG]

This is the file when I open it?

The executable is underneath the data folder.
Ran_Rubbai is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2008, 03:35 PM   #6
stoffe
Mostly dormant
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,834
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ran_Rubbai View Post

This is the file when I open it?
The executable is underneath the data folder.
You need to unpack the files from the zip archive before running the installer.


mt
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2008, 01:33 PM   #7
Ran_Rubbai
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe View Post
You need to unpack the files from the zip archive before running the installer.
Sorry I know little, what do you mean by unpack?
Ran_Rubbai is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2008, 02:37 PM   #8
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Judging from the screenshot, you have 7-Zip installed, right? Just hit the Extract button on the toolbar to unpack the archive to a folder. Then you can run the installer program.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2008, 02:55 PM   #9
Ran_Rubbai
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Thumbs up

Arr thanks.

That was so damn simple!

Thanks for everyones help!!
Ran_Rubbai is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2013, 03:58 PM   #10
NightStalker786
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Damn it -- I've got the same problem, and yet none of the above is working for me!
Trying to install "Brotherhood of Shadow: Solomon's Revenge," but I can't figure it out for the life of me.
NightStalker786 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2013, 04:15 PM   #11
NightStalker786
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Trying to install "Brotherhood of Shadow: Solomon's Revenge" for KOTOR 1. It keeps saying
"WARNING! Cannot locate the INI file "Changes.ini" with work instructions!" even though the file is there in the patch data.
Then directly after that, it says "Unable to load the instructions text! Make sure the "tslpatchdata" folder containing the "info.rtf" file is located in the same folder as this application" even though it already is.
What the hell is going on? What is it that I have to un-zip?
(Yes, I'm new to this)
NightStalker786 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2014, 02:55 AM   #12
T_Hawk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
Don't know if anyone's still around, but here goes:

I'm trying to make a TSL patch program to modify appearances.2da (and possibly heads.2.da, not certain this is necessary). The first is from the Juhani and Sanctuary mod, and the head part could come into play as I'm trying to alter her appearance. However, whenever I run TSL (and I tslpatchdata folder in the same directory) I get a message saying info.rtx is mising. I do in fact have this file in my folder, but I only placed a few lines of text in it, since the guide I followed said that the content wasn't necessary. Can anyone help me out?
T_Hawk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2014, 02:50 AM   #13
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 571
"and I tslpatchdata folder in the same directory"

You can run TSLPatcher from any location, bar the TSL and KOTOR directory. Maybe that's the problem?
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2014, 06:21 AM   #14
T_Hawk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
I'll give it a try... but most of the mods I've used have had the TSL and tslpatfch data folder both go to the override folder.
T_Hawk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2014, 07:09 AM   #15
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,724
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Make sure you have extensions visible. They are hidden by default in Windows (which is retarded, given how easy that makes it to get people to install malware). It could be that your file is actually info.rtf.txt or similar. To unhide (click for bigger):



Also, make sure the extension is RTF not RTX.

Last edited by DarthParametric; 11-15-2014 at 07:15 AM.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > TSL Patcher error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.