lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: WIP: Cinematic for JKII
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-07-2003, 09:51 PM   #1
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
WIP: Cinematic for JKII

(yes, i posted this as that good idea or bad idea thing)

Im making a movie type thing for JKII. It uses only cutscenes, and its ingame. I know if this can go really good, or really really bad, depending on how it turns out. Heres what ive done so far:

EDIT: Sorry, but the link is gone!!!!

EDIT # 2: Go to my site www.freewebs.com/bens_maps and my beta is in the downloads section, use the dark spire clan mirror... thanks!

DL it, put it in your gamedata/base directory, and open up JKII sp and type in the console map cinematic. Then tell me what you think. Ill be posting updates, and more peices of it here too. This is part 2 (what you are downloading) I havnt made part 1 yet, but i will soon.

UPDATE:

Ive emailed the people who made the boba fett model, i want him to be in this, if they say no, then ill just have to make a bounty hunter, but boba fett would be cool

-lukeskywalker1

Last edited by lukeskywalker1; 12-14-2003 at 11:50 PM.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2003, 10:19 PM   #2
Captian
 
Captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 32
dang, it says temporarily unavailable. ill check back later then
Captian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 12:04 AM   #3
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
That's pretty impressive for a cutscene.

My only real gripe is the quality of the map it takes place in, but the cutscene is top notch.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 01:21 AM   #4
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Yeah, it was a test, so i didnt do much with the map... but now im making my maps better thats why it has the mirror floor... the rain, and a lot of md3s dont worry pt 2 isnt really that important.... just shows kyle going in the base... and that there are some enemies... stuff like that. And I know about how you see into the void in certain areas, thats to improve FPS for slower machines, and its ok as long as it doesnt show up on camera

anyways, i got permission to use boba fett yay!

and.. i got some screenshots from my new level (part 1)







shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 02:06 AM   #5
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally posted by lukeskywalker1
And I know about how you see into the void in certain areas, thats to improve FPS for slower machines, and its ok as long as it doesnt show up on camera
Seeing into the void = leak = WORSE frame rates. Plug the leaks and texture the visible sides if you want higher FPS!!!

...A little hint...if you download the FRAPS utility (www.fraps.com, I believe), you can record the game directly to an .avi file, as long as it's in 640x480 res and you can record the sound some other way. Then you can release the movie as a true movie.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 12:51 PM   #6
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
oh, i just put caulk on the brushes ill check out that link!
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 11:37 PM   #7
master_thomas
 
master_thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Is this safe to answer?
Posts: 536
That's really good . How long have you been scripting in Icarus?


Glow achieved 3/23/03 at 3:20 without any donations.

Current WIP: The Attack on Yavin series.

"Homer Simpson: 'Don't ever say that! Stupid risks make life worth while. Now, you mother is more stable and that's okay in small doses, but I'm always taking stupid risks. That's why I have so many adventures. Now what do you want to do?'

Lisa: 'Well, I would like to go to the museum, but it's closed.'

Homer: 'So breaking in would be a pretty stupid risk. What do ya say, honey? Feeling stupid?"
"Thomas" on MP
master_thomas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2003, 01:28 AM   #8
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Well..... my 1st cutscene was, the camera standing still for 8 seconds in a room, then i gave up, my 2nd was the camera standing still in a room... but it was sideways (dont know why) then i gave up then i made this one amazing huh?
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2003, 03:27 AM   #9
Neř
 
Neř's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Thats a good cutscene, and since the map isn't final thats about all I can say on it, I just wish that the Q3A engine did cut scenes like the Unreal engine, which moves much smoother.
Neř is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2003, 08:11 PM   #10
name_unknown
 
name_unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 4
So how's the work going? any progress?
name_unknown is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2003, 09:00 PM   #11
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Mostly been adding to part 2. But ive had some issues to take care of, and havnt been able to work as much latley.

heh, here are some screenies





The guy is the dark jedi. Needs a little more work.

Plus, in part 2, ive added a lot to the map, mostly detail. Im still adding a tiny bit to the script, mostly a boba fett scene, nothing special really. Just makes it look nicer
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2003, 11:19 PM   #12
master_thomas
 
master_thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Is this safe to answer?
Posts: 536
Move the flame thrower effect a tiny bit down, so it matches the source. Other than that, it looks great.


Glow achieved 3/23/03 at 3:20 without any donations.

Current WIP: The Attack on Yavin series.

"Homer Simpson: 'Don't ever say that! Stupid risks make life worth while. Now, you mother is more stable and that's okay in small doses, but I'm always taking stupid risks. That's why I have so many adventures. Now what do you want to do?'

Lisa: 'Well, I would like to go to the museum, but it's closed.'

Homer: 'So breaking in would be a pretty stupid risk. What do ya say, honey? Feeling stupid?"
"Thomas" on MP
master_thomas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2003, 05:37 PM   #13
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
It's not so obvious that you'd notice in-game. I'd leave the flame right where it is.

It might look like it's shooting from his palm otherwise.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2003, 02:52 AM   #14
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Well, the camera was moving at the time. And it was a test, because i was trying to learn how to trigger Fxfiles in scripts. There were dumb errors, and in the end it was i had misspelled the file

mostly been working in part 2, ive added detail to the level (mostl md3s) but i did add another scene (about 50 seconds) which includes boba fett and an atst, with slave one in the back round. Ive made certain areas look a whole lot better to.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2003, 05:11 PM   #15
<EJK>DevMapAll
 
<EJK>DevMapAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: here
Posts: 29
man this is cool. You should (after you finish this, of course) make cutscenes for SP projects made by other ppl (i.e. be part of a mod team). You really have a knack for cinematics.

Also, maybe include some ambient music. Just an idea.


May the force be with you.
And also with you, amen.

Tell me what you think of my WIP: http://lucasforums.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=108789

Last edited by <EJK>DevMapAll; 09-23-2003 at 09:19 PM.
<EJK>DevMapAll is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2003, 06:51 PM   #16
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
For taking a screenshot, bind the f12 key like this

bind f12 screenshot silent

that will get rid of that writing up at the top the

Wrote screenshots/shot999.jpg

That should help to better show off the cinematic in a frame grab.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2003, 12:53 AM   #17
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Thanks

Ill probably go into a team when i get JA. I know ill be making a map i started for JK2 MP, but i never finished, mostly FPS problems. But now ive learned a whole lot about mapping, so i probably will remake it.

Do you know a command to get rid of that 'couldnt find image for shader no draw' ? Also, ive added music. The music starts when kyle first walks into the building. So its not right in the beggining when the level starts.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2003, 05:05 PM   #18
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
That error appears when the shader could not be loaded, probably not loaded into the pk3 properly or wasnt in the right folder. But I am not sure about removing the text for it.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2003, 08:42 PM   #19
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
I didnt make a shader i was making it so the jeditrainer model didnt have a collar... or it might be the boba fett model but im not sure. Ill just mess around with it a little....
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2003, 01:33 AM   #20
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Ok... can you rate these screenshots for me... (if its good, then ill use it for most of the remnant base [ I decided to use remnant instead of empire because there were more in game voices referring to the remnant, and the more realistic the voices, the better the game]) Anyways can you please say if they need improving



shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2003, 02:37 AM   #21
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Suggestion: Go to the "Curve" menu. Apply liberally.

Also, little things like consoles, weapons racks, and models. This is a movie, spend time polishing the details.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2003, 03:09 AM   #22
Captian
 
Captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 32
32 fps in an area like that? is that your specs or is there a huge area behind those walls? anyway, it looks a little plain right now, try putting in more computers, npcs, etc... look into ravens kejim_post and kejim_base(which looks like what your doing right now anyway)
Captian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2003, 01:48 PM   #23
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Yeah, its the whole map you saw, (i added a few out door areas, the ravens claw lands, and an area with slave one) and more... just a different area. plus i have 128 ram and win XP so... you get the picture...

geometric detail is high, texture is medium and like... that 800 resoultion (cant ever remember the numbers) even though i could turn it to that 1028 resolution... best i can get is around 50 FPS oh well.. (well.. in the void ive gotten over 100 )


Quote:
Also, little things like consoles, weapons racks, and models. This is a movie, spend time polishing the details.
theres one weapon rack... i just took the guns and you see the glass (need to change the shader) theres an imperial officer in there typing at a console, and a few curves... just those wall things though.... and boba is off to the left, you just cant see him cause of the screenshot...

Quote:
look into ravens kejim_post and kejim_base(which looks like what your doing right now anyway)
yep, thats where i got the idea for the walls and stuff the kejim base map...
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2003, 02:59 PM   #24
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally posted by lukeskywalker1
Yeah, its the whole map you saw, (i added a few out door areas, the ravens claw lands, and an area with slave one) and more... just a different area. plus i have 128 ram and win XP so... you get the picture...
Put areaportals in the doors.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-25-2003, 02:08 PM   #25
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Ok, i added in a lot of curves and it looks a lot better... ill see about posting a few screenshots when i get home (school just started, so i dont have a lot of time to work on it, and im at school right now) I hoped to finish part 2 like 2 days ago, but i had other stuff to do.. ill try to get it done by the end of the week... (i hate setting dates for when my maps will be done because something always goes wrong right before the date i set..)
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2003, 01:35 PM   #26
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Ok, I finished PT. 2, and i tried to upload it last night, but it was slow... Ill try tonight. (anyone know a good place to upload stuff? i was using angel fire)
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2003, 02:48 AM   #27
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
argg... been having trouble connecting to this site.. oh well..

EDIT: THE LINK IS GONE!!!

Tommorrow ill post in the swamp for voice actors, and continue what i started for pt. 1

-lukeskywalker1

Last edited by lukeskywalker1; 10-30-2003 at 02:21 AM.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2003, 12:17 AM   #28
Father Torque
Retro KFC
 
Father Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mercer Island,WA
Posts: 1,341
Hot Topic Starter 
Heeee, i get to voice the stormtrooper commando with the ricket launcher . Very nice lamethrower. But i agreee it needs to be moved down. And also I dont know what level you are using (custom level). But maybe you should go to the mapping forum, and find someone to make an awesome map, that flows with the movie. Just my 2 cents. Also will there be any thing that voice actors need to download or anything? Also, I can create some music for you if you want Keep up the good work man

Father Torque is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2003, 02:04 AM   #29
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
You shouldnt need anything, just a mic, and a program that can record sound at 128 kbs, i think. Anyways, heres a pic of the main base:



I can handle the mapping ok. The shot above needs some work...

And thats ok about the music, im using the music from the game. if you check the 2nd beta in my last post, above the picture, it has music, and a custom map (quality may not be too amazing) Toward the end it looked ok in the hallway when boba fett is walking along...
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2003, 03:52 AM   #30
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
You really could benefit from using sunlight or ambient light in your map (or better yet, bouncing radiosity from your existing entity lights).

Those circles of light you've got all over the ground look really unnatural - especially since you don't have that many actual sources. For an outdoor section like that, it'd be very easy to light it with sunlight.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2003, 01:40 PM   #31
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Ok, but how would i make a "Sunlight" type thing? Ill do a quick search in the mapping forum for it. Thanks
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2003, 01:48 PM   #32
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Q3 Shader Manual Entry on light emitting sky shaders (aka sunlight).

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2003, 12:54 PM   #33
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Thanks! Ive been Downloading JA demo, so i havnt been able to do much latley.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2003, 06:35 PM   #34
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Ok, some screenshots: (tell me what you think)










Last edited by lukeskywalker1; 09-22-2003 at 06:45 PM.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 04:58 PM   #35
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
been working on pt1, hopefully it will be done soon.

here are some pics:





shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 07:38 PM   #36
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
This is a really interesting type of project, one I have a lot of interest in trying to do myself at a later stage. I really like the look of those shots with the stormtroopers, their animations already seem to point at good interaction between the characters. It looks like your mapping and animations skills have devloped as you've worked on this project quite a bit, which is encouraging.

If you need any voice actors, I'd be happy to get you in contact with some good voice actors I know from projects I have worked on (all highly recommended!). Keep it up, its a great idea for a project you have here


------------------------------------------------
www.map-review.com
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2003, 12:57 PM   #37
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Im sorry kengo, i havnt looked at this thread in a while. Thanks man, when i first made it, my skills where not so good, because i was working and learning at the same time. And if you look at my first map at www.pcgamemods.com you know i really couldnt map at all...

anyways, i could use some voice actors, i already have 2 i think.

I just had another guy ask about a character, depending on who he chooses, i need boba fett or a rebel commander... I just asked him to choose which one he wants. And ill probably need miscellanious people for different things.

BTW, i got fraps, and i changed part 2 into .avi format, with no sound, and it was 950 MB! Then i compressed it to 1 MB, and it looked aweful.... Ill just leave it in jk2.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2003, 06:12 PM   #38
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
I also have fraps and have been working on ways to compress it(with sound included) and can get it down to about 20-30 MB(but thats after like 5-6 minutes of footage.

[Edit: I'll continue to work on ways to get it smaller but still maintain a decent picture/sound quality]


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2003, 07:20 PM   #39
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Well, mim planning on just leaving it in jk2, because the graphics are a lot better that way. Also for some reason it played really fast when i checked the file, instead of about 5 mins, it was 1:30 mins...
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2003, 08:20 PM   #40
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
if you encoded it at like 15fps and then converted it to like 60fps it would be playing at an accelerated rate.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Mapping > WIP: Cinematic for JKII

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.