lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Problems with fps (JA)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-19-2003, 11:15 AM   #1
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Problems with fps

Everytime i hit 100 fps or higher, i always get a connection interrupted. Its very irritating. And i'll have to take a screenshot so it will return to normal. How do i fix this?




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2003, 12:55 PM   #2
Admiral Chemix
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth, where else?
Posts: 146
There is an FPS limit, I think it's whats interfering, but I would not know much about high FPS probs seeing as teh most I get is 40. Anyway search the console for the command about FPS limit. Default is 80 or somethin
Admiral Chemix is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2003, 12:59 PM   #3
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by Admiral Chemix
Anyway search the console for the command about FPS limit. Default is 80 or somethin
If you are talking about "com_maxfps", that doesnt help. Still the same




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2003, 01:27 PM   #4
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Play Orbital Extreme, I swear you won't go 100+.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2003, 04:30 PM   #5
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
it defaults to 85, just lower your capped fps then, since i dont think u need 120 for straif jumping, try capping it at 70, in ur autoexe.cfg put

seta com_maxfps 70

experiment with diff numbers, check waht it is in ur console first, if its capped at 85 i dunno how u could hit 100 anyway maybe turn vsync off?

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2003, 01:03 AM   #6
SpecialForces
Junior Member
 
SpecialForces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: subconciousnes
Posts: 272
I dont think fps would do that.... maybe its a crapy server that cant handle it?


Defenders of the Force -The Jedi Academy Clan-

"<FP> Fallen Power"
-Siege- IP: 67.15.18.232:29070
"<FP> Fallen Power"
-CTF- IP: 67.15.20.187:29070
"<FP> Fallen Power"
-CTF- IP: 67.15.21.115:29070
SpecialForces is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2003, 05:17 AM   #7
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by SpecialForces
I dont think fps would do that.... maybe its a crapy server that cant handle it?
No, it wasnt like that before. Just happend a week ago i think.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2003, 09:50 PM   #8
Chuahtemoc
 
Chuahtemoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: I am a domesticated cow
Posts: 234
alot of times, trashy servers don't hold higher than 70 or so fps, especially when there are lots of Jedi. The problem is that though the default is 85 fps, during katas, butterflies, etc (which ALOT of people use) the fps has to drop to create the "dragging" effect, the trails of the saber slicing through the air. Since people do katas and such all too often, the extra frames bunch up, lowering the fps. While the default is 85, your comp is struggling to get past 70-ish, which stresses the memory and the program more. The only way to ease that pain is to lower the fps on servers where you notice lag and framerate drops around the same time as katas.

com_maxfps 75 should do it.


YORIMOTO says SUMiSUMi!!!


"When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature's God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation." - Thomas Jefferson

"It is vain, sir, to extenuate the matter. Gentlemen may cry, peace, peace; but there is no peace. The war is actually begun! The next gale that sweeps from the north will bring to our ears the clash of resounding arms! Our brethren are already in the field! Why stand we here idle? What is it that gentlemen wish? What would they have? Is life so dear or peace so sweet as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery?

Forbid it, Almighty God -- I know not what course others may take; but as for me -- give me liberty or give me death!" - Patrick Henry


3x50p 11.21.03
Chuahtemoc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 01:35 AM   #9
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
FPS humbug

aren't you happy to play at <80fps like everyone else crow ?

MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 08:52 AM   #10
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Re: FPS humbug

Quote:
Originally posted by Astrotoy7
aren't you happy to play at <80fps like everyone else crow ?

MTFBWYA
Yes.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 11:38 AM   #11
|GG|Carl
Invisible
 
|GG|Carl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,175
This is the first time I've heard anyone complain about to high fps!

Why don't you turn all graphics settings to maximum? Then you won't get any problem with to high fps, I can assure you.
|GG|Carl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 11:56 AM   #12
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Its already at max. Its ok now anywho.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Strategy Shack > Problems with fps (JA)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.