lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Vader mask mods
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-20-2004, 06:11 PM   #1
Arianna
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6
Vader mask mods

Besides the re-breather thingy, are they're ny Vader like mask mods available? Also, are there any mods for cooler looking robes/armor available. It would be really cool if you could use force powers while wearing armor. TIA
Arianna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 06:54 PM   #2
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
There aren't a lot of mods involving masks or robes as of yet..

One problem is that so far, no one has worked out the game's models yet, meaning we can't make new ones or edit them.

This means we're limited to using existing models for the time being, though with the ability to extract the textures and convert them to TGA, and people working on the models themselves, we're getting closer.

It might be possible to find and use the mask that Revan wears in the cutscenes, but as far as I'm aware, no one has yet made this possible, but since the scenes seem to all use ingame models and such, that would tend to suggest that there IS a valid model for that piece of armor somewhere... so we shall see.

As for using the force with armor.. I could make a quick hack for you that would do the job if you like. Which in some ways would seem almost more fair, since the "bad guys" can do it. (Darth Bandon's Fiber armor anyone?)

-Kitty

*Edit*
Haven't tested this yet, but it SHOULD work, and there should be no need to start a new game, so you can test this with a later-game save in which you already have force powers and the like. Give it a try, and let me know if there's any problem. Just save the file from this link to your \Override folder in your KotOR installation.

Spells.2da

Cheers



Last edited by Kitty Kitty; 01-20-2004 at 07:10 PM.
Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 06:56 PM   #3
darthface
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 41
One thing possible at this point is using force powers with armor on.. this spells.2da file should let you use all the force powers no matter what you're wearing, although I haven't tested all of them.
Put it in the override directory in the main kotor folder.

spells.2da
darthface is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 07:12 PM   #4
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
LOL

Well now you have 2 sources to the file. Left my message open while I fixed up the file and then just edited it, so I didn't see darth sneak his up there.

Both our "fixes" are very likely identical however, so have fun.

-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 07:23 PM   #5
darthface
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 41
Well I guess this problem is doubly taken care of
One thing about this mod is that it's incompatible with any others that change the spells.2da file, like the holowan emporium. People will have to be selective about what mods they apply, or else learn ways to combine them.
darthface is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 08:32 PM   #6
Aven'aeris
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
it's the forbiditemmask column you altered, yes?
Aven'aeris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 08:40 PM   #7
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Indeed.

So, if anyone has a previously modified version of spells.2da (such as for the emporium as previously mentioned), they can combine this mod with any other by opening their spells.2da file (I reccomend using that WONDERFUL Kotr_Tool) and simply changing all values in the forbiditemmask colum to read "0x0000" (forbid nothing) instead of "0x003f" (Forbid armor).

Then simply write the file to the override folder and viola.

-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 09:22 PM   #8
Lil' Jawa
Rookie
 
Lil' Jawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 101
It's spelled "voila" though, "viola" is something else..


Fer all your KOTOR modding needs:
http://www.sith-res.tk

..Press any key to continue..
Lil' Jawa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 09:40 PM   #9
Stator
Rookie
 
Stator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 81
I'll whip up a quick spells.2da file for you in just a moment.

Nevermind. Two fast typers beat me to it.

Edit: I'm sorry about that but I simply couldn't resist.

I do have a question though. I understand and know how to edit the 2da files to do things such as give myself nearly unlimited force points, skill points, feats, etc. What I would like to do is change armor designations. For example: Have Davik's armor retain all of it's stats but have it classified as a jedi robe. I think that this would be possible but I'm not quite sure where to start. I basically want to take a piece of armor that I like the look of and have it classified as jedi armor. This would allow a scoundrel/consular for example, to use said armor without needing to take the appropriate feats. Any ideas?

Stator

Last edited by Stator; 01-20-2004 at 09:59 PM.
Stator is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 10:59 PM   #10
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Well there's a few ways to go about something like that...

Personally, I would think the simplest way would be to use that modified spells.2da so armor doesn't restrict force powers, and then hack the feat.2da and simply give light, medium, and heavy armor to jedi as freebies at level 1 for all 3 jedi classes.

Just edit the 3 lines for the 3 various armor feats, changing the values of the following labels to have a value of 1:
allclassescanuse, jcn_list, jcn_granted, jgd_list, jgd granted, jsn_list, jsn_granted

Then all jedi would get all the armor feats for freebies at level 1 and you'd already have fixed the problem of it bothering force powers.

This would be IMO the simplest way.

The other way would be to manually edit evrey single piece of armor you want to be able to use.

You'd load up Kotor_tool, then open up the BIF files. Once it builds the list, you'd open the "templates" entry.

Most armor is "g_a_classNNNN.uti" but there's a couple special ones here and there if I remember right that use g1_a_classNNNN as well as one or two that have completely different names. If you have a list of cheat codes and possible items you can spawn into the game, those numbers match up here.

Anyways, you'd have to figure out which entry is which item in game, then export the file to the \Override folder. Then using the GFF Editor, you'd edit these files and manually change the properties individually. You'd have to change the "BaseItem" from whatever value it was (should be 38 - 43 for non-robe armors) to 35 (Jedi Robe), 36 (Knight Robe), or 37 (Master Robe).

Then save the file. I THINK that would work anyway. lol.. like I said, I'd probably just add the feats

Oh, you could also create a totally new item by saving the file you exported with a new (unique) name. Then you'd have to add it in game with the console codes, using "giveitem <your_item's_file_name>" without the .uti extention so as not to alter an existing piece of actual equipment in the game at your discretion. =)

-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2004, 12:33 AM   #11
Stator
Rookie
 
Stator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 81
I looked into altering darth bandon's fiber armor already. I was just hoping someone could come up with an easier or better method. This probably sounds strange but I want to alter as little as possible in the game. The only mod that I actually use right now is an altered version of jawa's revan reincarnate mod. I changed it so that you only get basic jedi items with colors based on your jedi class. There are just a few things in the game that irk me and I am working towards changing them. Things like not starting out as a jedi and being forced to be a jedi. It would be nice to play the entire game as a scoundrel if you desired. I also detest that even if I play a dark jedi, my force powers are restricted if I wear anything other than a robe. The npc dark jedi such as bandon don't have these restrictions. Oh well. Back to editing .2da files. Thanks for the input.

Stator
Stator is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 10:27 AM   #12
axelthorpe
Lurker
 
axelthorpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
Making the dark side and universal powers non-restricted by armor is an easy solution.

But i don't know how easy or hard it is to edit the powers.
axelthorpe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 02:20 PM   #13
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
looks like the easiest way to do this, is to open the appearances.2da file. then under all the many options for PC and NPC characters, change the model reference for jedi robes, to a model reference you like. this in itself is no small task.

and as there are only 10 model categories i am guessing something somewhere else would cause the specific variation of that particular class item to be loaded.
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 08:00 PM   #14
jordie8472
 
jordie8472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MO
Posts: 83
What is the rebreather thing mentioned in the first post?
jordie8472 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 08:15 PM   #15
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
i'm guessing the breath mask maybe. it's immunity to poison.

there is an advanced version called the advanced bio-stabilizer mask sold at yavin. don't remember what it adds though. probably mind-affecting immunity.
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2004, 07:05 PM   #16
Johan_Ranger
Lurker
 
Johan_Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada eh!
Posts: 3
yeah, the advanced bio-stabilizer mask gives you immunity to poison and mind affecting, but if you want to use it to cover your face, like revan's mask, it only covers your mouth and goes up to cover your nose, not the entire face.


Johan_Ranger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Vader mask mods

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.