lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: POST : "Siege at the Senate Building"
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-12-2004, 03:00 AM   #1
C4-4U
Lurker
 
C4-4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Massachusetts
Posts: 2
POST : "Siege at the Senate Building"

Hi

I am new to this Forum, but, definitely plan to park myself here for quite sometime. I am so HAPPY I found this site!

I have been working on a Level for JK2:Outcast hoping to break my way into a Game Level Editing position!

Siege at the Senate Building



Feedback and critiques welcomed!

If anyone has any faithful way of importing low-poly 3DSMax objects with their applied Materials... I would LOVE to know. GTKRadiant imports the model nicely. But strips the file of any textures displaying them as all white... can anyone help here, because my work will take off real fast if I knew of a good way to export 3DSMax Models!

I shall now start adding triggers for the "Carrot at the End of the Stick" adhering to the game's story line.

Let me know.... should I keep going with this!?

Last edited by C4-4U; 02-12-2004 at 07:59 PM.
C4-4U is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 03:25 AM   #2
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Your screenshots look pretty nice, although I'd like to see them a bit larger. I guess I could download the pk3, but that would mean installing JK2. :-/

As for your model importing issue, how are you bringing the models into Radiant, and in what format?

Standard practice for JK2 was to download the .md3 Exporter plugin for Max and export as a .md3. That brings the texture along with the model, and is easy to put into Radiant.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 10:05 AM   #3
The Truthful Liar
In-Transit
 
The Truthful Liar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blasting out of trajectory in a suit of terracotta
Posts: 3,548
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Re: POST : "Siege at the Senate Building"

Quote:
Originally posted by C4-4U
Let me know.... should I keep going with this!?
Yes!


"Whatever action is performed by a great man, common men follow in his footsteps. And whatever standards he sets by exemplary acts, all the world pursues."
The Truthful Liar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 10:24 AM   #4
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
I'd advice you to use an actual sky shader, though.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 02:06 PM   #5
C4-4U
Lurker
 
C4-4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Massachusetts
Posts: 2
> ...I could download the pk3, but that would
> mean installing JK2. :-/

I'll make a build for JKA this weekend!


> ...As for your model importing issue, how are you
> bringing the models into Radiant, and in what format?

I have used Pop-N-Fresh, but, apparently I am doing something very wrong. My objects come in nicely, however, no shading or textures!? I export the *.md3 to my models directory. Do I need to add a UVW Map to the Modifier stack?


> Standard practice for JK2 was to download the .md3
> Exporter plugin for Max and export as a .md3. That
> brings the texture along with the model, and is easy
> to put into Radiant.

BTW
The screen shots that were considered to be to small are now "click-able" to full screen 1280x1040 jpgs.

Also, the Sky Shader does not render for some reason, but, I think its because I do have an object or 2 outside the sealed world... I am on that one, now!
C4-4U is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2004, 01:56 AM   #6
-=DarkZero=-
Riddle Of The Day
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: U/A
Posts: 1,503
Whoaw, The map looks sick man.


"We all Have to Die Someday, I'm just lucky I got to say my goodbyes before my term was up."-Randy Darke (R.I.P)
-=DarkZero=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2004, 02:19 AM   #7
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Make a folder in you gamedata/base/models directory. For this I'll call it map_model...

Once you create the folder put your textured uv map in there. Now when you export your md3 you point to that folder for the texture. That way when you load the model up in radiant and in the game it will know where to find the skin for the model.


As for your sky.. make sure the shader is working the way it should...



EDIT::: also make sure your models skin follows the size format that normal textures use..

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2004, 08:45 AM   #8
Mercenary
 
Mercenary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 381
I use Milkshape 3D for my final export to md3.
Mercenary is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > POST : "Siege at the Senate Building"

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.