lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Remote Admin For SWBF
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-06-2004, 07:27 AM   #1
Cyberslush
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Remote Admin For SWBF

http://nolimitclan.com/cgi-bin/enuke...pic.php?21.465
beta testing starts today
Cyberslush is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2004, 08:08 AM   #2
Stryker412
Rookie
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
He said himself:

"I can come up with remote tool
but the game does not support kick players and change maps
so what would be the point
even if u sit in front of the server you cant kick players
the best i can do at this point is give admins the ability to start and stop the server
choose which maps run
and some other usless server settings "

So what is the point of having one?


Stryker412 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2004, 11:20 AM   #3
Cyclone7
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 62
Your post says it's only for NoL members. So can anyone join the beta or not? If so can our clan, krazo, test out your admin tool? Our server admin would probably be interested if so.
Cyclone7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2004, 08:01 AM   #4
Cyberslush
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Client has been released
waiting on our web site admin to add the server to our downloads

the client has no special instructions

the server must be installed in the starwarsbattlefrontPCserver
folder where the battlefront.exe is kept

here is the client
http://nolimitclan.com/cgi-bin/enuke...oad.php?list.5

I hope to see the server added today

I apologize for the size of the install
The software was made with Visual Basic 6
Stupid package and deployment wizard
You can delete the extracted folder after install

The program itself is small and light weight under 1mb
Cyberslush is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2004, 08:53 AM   #5
vwjoker
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Um a remote admin tool?

Ok, maybe I am missing the point.... but if you are running a windows server that is hosting the dedicated server, why reinvent the wheel when you have simple tools like Terminal Server, Remote Desktop.... or my favourite TightVNC (which is free and not made by the coders of evil).
vwjoker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2004, 09:56 AM   #6
Cyberslush
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Evil Coder LOL
My name is Brian Linder Owner and operator of
Candlestick Computing in Western Ohio
My company has been around for a little over 5 years
In my spare time I like to play games. Joint Operations
Being my favorite, I hooked up with the No Limit gamming clan
About a year ago! Great bunch of guys. Nolimit started back in
the battle Zone days so they have acquired a lot of members over
the years. I have not picked up Starwars Battlefront yet but several
have in our clan. To give them Remote access to the server is not
an option so I created SWBFRAW32

The Beta version of the server will give you easy access to some of
the extra commands. One feature I really like is if Auto restart is
selected And the game crashes SWBFRAW32 will auto recover
and restart the server

I wanted to share with this group after all I got a lot of my information
from this site and its my way of saying thank you!
Cyberslush is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2004, 10:39 AM   #7
LoRdNaTaS
Rookie
 
LoRdNaTaS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 162
FYI your download does not work... It states that
"You do not have the correct permissions to download this file."

This message was still given after I signed up on your site..

Might want to get this fixed.


LoRdNaTaS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2004, 01:18 PM   #8
ECGN|MMmmGood
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
I can pull a PHP tool out of my ass that can let you do that stuff remotely, any reputable GSP has a custom coded panel ( ie. NOT SERVERDOC ) that lets you do that stuff.
ECGN|MMmmGood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2004, 11:18 AM   #9
Cyberslush
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Server is up now the description is wrong
the client description is with the server
sry make sure you install the server in the same folder as battlefront.exe server

you have to sign up to access the download section
If it still won't let you you might have to wait for your account to be approved

my next release will have a ton of more options thanks to this site and many others

Last edited by Cyberslush; 10-08-2004 at 11:31 AM.
Cyberslush is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2004, 02:54 PM   #10
[RNGD]Tyrant
Rookie
 
[RNGD]Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 149
has anyone used this tool? any reviews?
[RNGD]Tyrant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2004, 10:29 PM   #11
Cyclone7
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally posted by ECGN|MMmmGood
I can pull a PHP tool out of my ass...
Yeah, well then why don't you just go do that. They guy is contributing to the community, and you are being an a-hole to him, nice!

Looks like good stuff Cyberslush, I'll pass it on, and it is appreciated!
Cyclone7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 10:00 AM   #12
LoRdNaTaS
Rookie
 
LoRdNaTaS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 162
The way I look at it is that if we did not have people that just wrote apps and scripts for this stuff we would not have any of the Status, Stats or this remote tools that are currently available.

And hey if you can write something better then do it but don't be a dick to the guy for creating something..

just my 2 cents.


LoRdNaTaS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2004, 01:10 PM   #13
phaethon
Lurker
 
phaethon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Can you get with us. I would love to see what you got going on fro the remote.

www.gaming-freaks.net


phaethon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2004, 08:18 AM   #14
Cyberslush
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
I have a release that displayes Players and scores and other real time Info but I'm waiting for the next server patch to be released
I want the ability to kick/ban and change maps either way when they release the next update for the server I will release the next version for SWBFRAW32

If you have some Info that might help me or just some comments Please visit
http://nolimitclan.com/cgi-bin/enuke/forum.php
and post in the public star wars forum
Cyberslush is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2004, 06:19 AM   #15
Cyclone7
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 62
So what's the word on a new version for the 1.1 patch?
Cyclone7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2004, 07:54 AM   #16
Cyberslush
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Sry Been busy, I didnt know they released the patch, It seems the old tool works with the new patch... cool less work
I'll try to add the kick ,ban stuff this weekend

I'll post links here when its been tested


Cyberslush is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2004, 07:21 AM   #17
Cyclone7
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 62
Cool, because SEVERAL people have been wanting remote capabilities for booting and banning. I hear it all the time, and from what I've seen in game alot more booting and banning is needed!!!

To tell you the truth, I think there are several server admins out there who don't even know how to boot or ban now with the new 1.1 patch. You tool I think would greatly change that!
Cyclone7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2004, 12:35 PM   #18
[RNGD]Tyrant
Rookie
 
[RNGD]Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 149
my clan stop hosting this game

until there is a way to remotely control the game it is pointless. I dont want to have to log into my remote server desktop every time i just want to boot someone...and i dont want to give that kind of access around to anyone in my clan.


if this tool works I would start hosting again...and i am sure there are other admins who would as well.


...no pressure
[RNGD]Tyrant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2004, 04:59 PM   #19
Stryker412
Rookie
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
That and BF server needs to be able to run as a service.


Stryker412 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2004, 07:59 PM   #20
Kramerika
 
Kramerika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: PA, US of A
Posts: 73
I have been running it as a service in Win2k (via Firedaemon, www.firedaemon.com) since the game was launched. See my post here:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=136365

Without in-game admin though, this game will go nowhere but the bargain bin.


Kramerika
-------------------------------
The Outlaws of Sherwood Forest
-------------------------------
A community, not a clan!
Kramerika is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 05:48 AM   #21
Fds
Rookie
 
Fds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Civis Romanus Sum
Posts: 62
Cyberslush, when do you think to release (if you really want to release it) a new version of your good remote control tool with the support of the newest 1.11 functionality?



=XSL=Fds[iTa] in Star Wars Battlefront

[999]Fds_RSF in Jedi Outcast/Jedi Academy
_999_Fds_RSF in X-Wing vs Tie Fighter/X-Wing Alliance/MSNZone

Xa'Felian Space Legion Clan Leader - [XSLclan.com] -
- The First Italian StarWars Battlefront Clan! - (Since August 2004)
- The First StarWars Republic Commando Clan on the World! - (Since November 2004)
[XSLclan.com]
Fds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2004, 09:32 AM   #22
[RNGD]Tyrant
Rookie
 
[RNGD]Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 149
is there going to be another release of this?
[RNGD]Tyrant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2004, 06:47 PM   #23
Fds
Rookie
 
Fds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Civis Romanus Sum
Posts: 62
Before releasing the next version read this:

http://aluigi.altervista.org/adv/swbfraw32-adv.txt



=XSL=Fds[iTa] in Star Wars Battlefront

[999]Fds_RSF in Jedi Outcast/Jedi Academy
_999_Fds_RSF in X-Wing vs Tie Fighter/X-Wing Alliance/MSNZone

Xa'Felian Space Legion Clan Leader - [XSLclan.com] -
- The First Italian StarWars Battlefront Clan! - (Since August 2004)
- The First StarWars Republic Commando Clan on the World! - (Since November 2004)
[XSLclan.com]
Fds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2005, 10:20 AM   #24
s3ultramagnus
Rookie
 
s3ultramagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 23
yes^^^please fix that....I had to take it off due to people reading this thread and then using the expliot.


This is my signature.
s3ultramagnus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Server Administration > Remote Admin For SWBF

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.