lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Big problem with WinZip
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-06-2005, 04:27 PM   #1
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Question Big problem with WinZip

I am having trouble with the pk3's. I am looking for this picture "gfx/damage/burnmark4" in a mod pk3 but its not there! Whats going on?

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2005, 04:46 PM   #2
Thrawn42689
 
Thrawn42689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 408
Maybe...it's not in the pk3?

What makes you think this is a winzip problem?

Thrawn42689 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2005, 05:50 AM   #3
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Because its not visible in WinZip. It has to be there cuz its mentioned in some .efx files and I went through the whole pk3 and its not visible. I know some people (like TK-8252 who made the mod pk3 that I am talking about) like pkunzip, so I was wondering if things show up in pkunzip that dont in WinZip?

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2005, 09:07 AM   #4
KMan
The Wu Tang Master
 
KMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 840
LFN Staff Member 
it could be a name to a shader that references different named images as part of the effect.
KMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2005, 04:55 AM   #5
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Well, as you can see in the above post it links to a spicific image. So I dont know how what you are suggesting could be posible.

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2005, 05:43 AM   #6
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
its possible its in one of the assets pk3's or its a new one then it has to be in a new pk3 that is not by raven
you will have to look hard



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2005, 07:35 AM   #7
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
It doesn't appear to be in the Raven pk3s.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2005, 01:28 PM   #8
Wudan
Got Balance?
 
Wudan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Posts: 1,442
Quote:
Originally posted by TK42235
Well, as you can see in the above post it links to a spicific image. So I dont know how what you are suggesting could be posible.
You didn't understand what KMan said to you. Is there a shaders folder in the pk3? Look for a .shader file. Open it in notepad and look for "gfx/damage/burnmark4".

It was a seriously good suggestion that KMan gave you. He's a nice guy


Mt-Wudan.com
I made a silly little program called Dragon, which is an animation tool for the GLA format, used in Jedi Outcast, Jedi Academy and Krakatoa.
Wudan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2005, 02:28 PM   #9
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
But why would it link to a spicific picture then? What shader would I look for?

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2005, 09:02 PM   #10
KMan
The Wu Tang Master
 
KMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 840
LFN Staff Member 
do a text search in all of the shader files.
KMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2005, 09:38 PM   #11
Wudan
Got Balance?
 
Wudan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Posts: 1,442
Quote:
Originally posted by TK42235
But why would it link to a spicific picture then? What shader would I look for?
In Q3 engine games, shader names and image names can be used completely interchangeably. If a pic and a shader have the same name, it'll use the shader. If there is no pic and something references a pic, it's almost certainly referencing a shader. Does the mod work? Do you get error messages that such and such is referenced but not found? If you don't get messages like that for this image when you use the mod, very very likely (can't be certain, since I don't have your files, lol), it's referencing a shader.


Mt-Wudan.com
I made a silly little program called Dragon, which is an animation tool for the GLA format, used in Jedi Outcast, Jedi Academy and Krakatoa.
Wudan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2005, 08:30 AM   #12
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
No, no error message. I can send the files to you if you have Outcast on your computer cuz thats what I'm working with. Btw how would I do a text serch? Can you reccomend a program?

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2005, 04:37 PM   #13
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Found the shader. It was marks.shader. But big problem, I add it to the pk3 and get this error message when I shoot a weapon WARNING: RE_AddPolyToScene: NULL poly shader and once it starts saying that it doesnt stop. Also, guess what, the image doesnt appere on the map

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2005, 05:22 PM   #14
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
It means you have a polygon shader that doesn't actually do anything. You need to change the shader so that it does something.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2005, 03:43 AM   #15
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Ummm?

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2005, 06:31 AM   #16
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
http://www.qeradiant.com/manual/Q3AShader_Manual/


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2005, 01:49 PM   #17
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
OK. But what do you mean by what you said? Your link doesnt really help me with that, does it?

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2005, 04:06 PM   #18
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
A shader is basically a texture with some special effects added on. If you have no effects AND there's no texture, your shader doesn't do anything and you have a problem.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2005, 03:58 AM   #19
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Ok, I'm beggining to understand. The texture would be the pictures mentioned. I will post the shader cuz everything looks fine with it.

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2005, 03:59 AM   #20
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
gfx/damage/rivetmark
{
surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm trans
polygonOffset
q3map_nolightmap
{
clampmap gfx/damage/rivetmark
blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_SRC_COLOR
}
}

gfx/damage/burnmark4
{
polygonOffset
q3map_nolightmap
{
map gfx/effects/scorch
blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
}
{
clampmap gfx/effects/embers
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE
glow
rgbGen vertex
}
{
clampmap gfx/effects/embers
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE
glow
detail
rgbGen wave sin 0.5 -0.5 0 0.2
}
}

gfx/damage/burnmark1
{
polygonOffset
q3map_nolightmap
{
map gfx/effects/scorch
blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
}
{
clampmap gfx/effects/embers
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE
glow
rgbGen vertex
}
{
clampmap gfx/effects/embers
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE
glow
detail
rgbGen wave sin 0.5 -0.5 0 0.2
}
}

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Big problem with WinZip

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.