lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Problem with Dantooine
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-05-2005, 03:33 PM   #1
Darth_Mayfair
Rookie
 
Darth_Mayfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Problem with Dantooine

hi, firstly I apologise if this has been discussed elsewhere, but I'm a n00b so please forgive me!

I'm having problems with the Dantooine level. While I'm on board the Ebom Hawk, it's fine but as soon as I disembark onto Dantooine, it starts playing around. I can't walk or run normally - it'll be fine for a second or two, then it'll freeze and I'll suddenly jump accross the map (by about a "real world" 10 or 20 feet). when I go to move again, it kinda stays frozen, unless I switch between characters for a bit,,,then it returns to normal for a few seconds (sometimes longer, but there's no pattern).

any suggestions would be most appreciated as it's spoiling my enjoyment of the game.

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=05/04/2005 20:09:50
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.00.420
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=768

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=3400
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=3
CPUStepping=4
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.40GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=512
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=202.57GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\,J:\
Drives=DVD-ROM DVD-7T16,JLMS XJ-HD166S,JLMS XJ-HD166S,LITE-ON DVD+RW LDW-401S,LITE-ON DVD+RW LDW-401S,LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-1633S,LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S,LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S,LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S,LITE-ON DVD SOHD-167T,LITE-ON DVD SOHD-167T

[Video]
Video Card Name=RADEON 9550
Video Memory=512
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.0.4955 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=RADEON 9550 x86/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Realtek AC'97 Audio
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=69
Voiceover Volume=96
Sound Effects Volume=96
Movie Volume=89
Number 3D Voices=30
Number 2D Voices=64
2D3D Bias=1.50
EAX=2
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Grass=0
Shadows=0
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1024
Height=768
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=0
Brightness=65
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=1
Anti Aliasing=0

[Game Options]
UnlockedPlanetSongs=71
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=3
BodyVariation=9
AppearanceType=128
PCGender=1
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=2
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=45
Difficulty Level=0
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=16
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=2
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=32
Movie 2=15
Movie 1=255
Movie 0=252
Darth_Mayfair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 03:41 PM   #2
Darth_Mayfair
Rookie
 
Darth_Mayfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
just added my pc details to the above post
Darth_Mayfair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 05:27 PM   #3
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,632
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
check step 2 of the "TSL: ATI Driver Issues" sticky at the top of the forum.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 06:51 PM   #4
Darth_Mayfair
Rookie
 
Darth_Mayfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by stingerhs
check step 2 of the "TSL: ATI Driver Issues" sticky at the top of the forum.
ta very much, like! I'm not that techie minded, so could you explain exactly what thats gonna do please?
Darth_Mayfair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 07:29 PM   #5
Darth_Mayfair
Rookie
 
Darth_Mayfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
I made the adjustment as advised, but since I've done it, it just stops. I'll be playing merrily away (with no hassle from the frame rate or owt) then, suddenly, it freezes and the only way to get out of it is to switch my pc off (I can't even ctrl/alt/delete). is it beause of the addition, as it didn't do it before?
Darth_Mayfair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 10:53 PM   #6
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,632
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
hmm, it probably has something to do with it. in all honesty, i've never heard of somebody having this problem.

first things first: you could do one of two things with the graphics settings in the game. try disabling the Aniostrophy Filtering first. if that doesn't help, you could always try disabling the grass.

if neither of the above suggestions worked, there is one more thing you could try. back in the "TSL: ATI Driver Issues" sticky, there's a third step that involves extracting the OpenGL driver from another version of the Catalyst Drivers. give that step a shot and see if that helps. and don't worry: it doesn't cause any driver compatiblity issues with other games.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2005, 12:31 PM   #7
Darth_Mayfair
Rookie
 
Darth_Mayfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
thanks for the help I've just removed the line for now, as I, fortunately, saved my game before heading to Dantooine, so I've carried on from that point and gone to Nar Shadda (and have another game running with another char. where I'm at Onderon). I'll give those a go once Dantooine is a must lol

thanks agian mate!
Darth_Mayfair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2005, 08:54 AM   #8
Darth_Mayfair
Rookie
 
Darth_Mayfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by stingerhs
hmm, it probably has something to do with it. in all honesty, i've never heard of somebody having this problem.

first things first: you could do one of two things with the graphics settings in the game. try disabling the Aniostrophy Filtering first. if that doesn't help, you could always try disabling the grass.

if neither of the above suggestions worked, there is one more thing you could try. back in the "TSL: ATI Driver Issues" sticky, there's a third step that involves extracting the OpenGL driver from another version of the Catalyst Drivers. give that step a shot and see if that helps. and don't worry: it doesn't cause any driver compatiblity issues with other games.
right, I've tried all the steps now and still it isn't working. I've removed the extra line from the .ini file and tried it with just the step 3 opengl driver and the frame rate is just as bad as when I started, so I've stuck the extra line back in and it works for about 15 - 20 seconds then freezes totally. I'm despairing now, I really am my poor Jedi Sentinal/Sith Assassin just cannae do his job!
Darth_Mayfair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2005, 11:08 AM   #9
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,632
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
have you tried out the new 5.4 Catalyst drivers?? that version does address the Dantooine framerate issue. if you don't, I have a link in the "ATI issues" sticky.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2005, 01:17 PM   #10
Darth_Mayfair
Rookie
 
Darth_Mayfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
you'll be pleased to know that the Dantooine issue is fixed I finally managed to get the game updates after trying your last suggestion, added the code to the Graphics Options and voila! it works! ta very much!
Darth_Mayfair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2005, 08:56 PM   #11
Bubbles
Rookie
 
Bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Narnia
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs
in all honesty, i've never heard of somebody having this problem.
there are like 75 threads on the workbench about this problem.


Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Bubbles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2005, 10:21 PM   #12
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,632
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
^^^^
since when??? the most common thread in this forum deals with the issues that TSL had with the pre-5.4 Catalyst drivers. besides, his problem was fixed with the patch and the solutions posted in the sticky, so why drag this into the open??

now i'm confused.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Problem with Dantooine

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.