lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: JK3 models > MD3
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-12-2005, 03:57 PM   #1
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Exclamation JK3 models > MD3

Glm & Md3 models are basically the same right? Correct me if I'm wrong, but anyway - is there a way to convert the Glm models to Md3? (Including self-picked models and all that jazz)

Thanks,

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2005, 10:59 PM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Open glm with 3d max and export to .md3 (or use milkshape)

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2005, 11:31 PM   #3
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Sorry, I meant 'self-picked animations'.

Any ideas on how to get the animations to tag along there from the .cfg file(s) ?

I use Milkshape 1.7.0 by the way, if it requires 3DSMAX to do this then I'll do whatever I can to get ahold of it.

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2005, 02:13 AM   #4
Wudan
Got Balance?
 
Wudan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Posts: 1,442
Well, the animation data is available in XSI format, available for download at lucasfiles.com and pcgamemods.com, IIRC.


Mt-Wudan.com
I made a silly little program called Dragon, which is an animation tool for the GLA format, used in Jedi Outcast, Jedi Academy and Krakatoa.
Wudan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2005, 04:00 AM   #5
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
That's pretty neat, but could you guide me through it more through?

I downloaded the _humanoid animations, basically all the stuff the player does and then extracted it into its own unique folder.

After that I fired up Milkshape, opened up the (example) Jawa model. Clicked the ANIM button at the bottom right corner, then imported an XSI animation.

Nothing happened. (tried importing without and with skeleton and fiddled with all kinds of variations)

Any suggestions?

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2005, 03:56 PM   #6
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Last i heard Milkshape wasnt compatible for JA anims and models...get XSI or 3D Max.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2005, 05:55 PM   #7
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks, I'll check up on it.

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2005, 09:43 PM   #8
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
I guess I should've seen it coming, I've come to a dead end.

I have 3D Studio Max 7.0 at the moment, but the supported formats aren't what I need to import the GLM & XSI files.

I'm guessing I need to download a plug-in for this so I can import the models+animations and then export it to MD3, right?

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2005, 12:03 PM   #9
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally posted by Wudan
Well, the animation data is available in XSI format, available for download at lucasfiles.com and pcgamemods.com, IIRC.
What exactly are you trying to do? .md3 isnt for player models, at least not in JA.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2005, 11:02 AM   #10
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
I want to convert a few models (w/ animations) to Md3 - that's all.

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-26-2005, 12:46 PM   #11
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Player models?



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-26-2005, 01:22 PM   #12
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
but md3 in JA doesnt have animations
>_>
<_<




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-26-2005, 02:01 PM   #13
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Actually the first person models are md3 and they have animations =P. But I don't think Rusty meant that anyway.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 02:00 AM   #14
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by CortoCG
Player models?
Yessir, but I wouldn't mind converting the Mutated Rancor @JKA as well.

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 07:50 AM   #15
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
So you wanna make the rancor a player model as a md3??, well i think im lost.. :/




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 08:00 AM   #16
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
I think so too.

No, I want to convert GLM models (player AND non-player models) to MD3.

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 09:42 AM   #17
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
You cannot convert the .glm models o .md3 and keep the animations right away. You'll have to import the .glm mesh into 3dsmax, and the desired animation data from the dotXSI files supplied by Raven, then re export everything to quake 3 .md3. At any rate, I think using Raven's animations in other game that isn't JA or JO is illegal and not ethic.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 10:06 AM   #18
Rusty_Nails
Rookie
 
Rusty_Nails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Not to worry, I am not looking out for distributing any of these. I'm doing all this behind closed doors, so to speak.

But anyway, as far as importing the stuff into 3DSmax, I would need a desired plug-in for this, no? Seeing as the currently supported formats are all but the ones I need for this.

So, any idea where to find this plug-in?

-Rusty Nails


Just passing through...
Rusty_Nails is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 10:22 AM   #19
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Search with google.com for .glm or ghoul2 importer for max and a .xsi importer for max.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2010, 02:15 PM   #20
Zwier Zak
Junior Member
 
Zwier Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 254
Sorry to bump a really old thread but I'm kind off trying to do something similar. I'm making my own ioquake based game and I would like to use some of the custom skins made by the fans for JA. Any advice would be nice.
Zwier Zak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2010, 10:00 PM   #21
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
In terms of workflow it's pretty straight forward:
Import .glm into max, rig to a biped, export to .md3

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > JK3 models > MD3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.