lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Utility for 2DA converting(Text<->V2.b) and merging
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-29-2005, 06:33 PM   #1
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Utility for 2DA converting(Text<->V2.b) and merging

Last version: Click

In case someone else would find it useful I have uploaded a modified version of my small 2DA converter utility which now contains a new 2DA file merging function.

It will take two 2DA files (of the same kind) and merge changes they contain and save the combined result as a new 2DA file. It will currently detect changes to existing lines as well as new lines and columns that have been added. It will not handle files where standard lines have been deleted (since the 2DA spec. strongly discourages deleting rows in a 2DA anyway).

Row labels will automatically be updated to be unique, but all other data is just merged together from the files. Thus you'll still need to check/update references to the added rows, and make sure columns that should have unique values (such as the forcehostile/forcefriendly columns in spells.2da) have proper values in their new context. It's intended to save some data entry time when merging 2da's, not to solve all problems with the click of a button.

Please note: This is not a mod compatibility-fixing tool for mod users. It's a tool to help mod-makers merge together 2DA data. Use one of the mod installer utilities if you want to reduce mod compatibility problems for users.

From what I have tested it appears to work, though I have only tested it with a few different 2DAs and a fairly small set of changes, so it is possible that I have overlooked something. If anyone is interested you can get it here.


Last edited by stoffe -mkb-; 03-16-2006 at 05:48 PM.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2005, 07:26 PM   #2
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,431
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
I think people have been wanting this ever since this place was created. Great job stoffe: I have yet to find a mod or tool of yours that I don't enjoy


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 01:02 AM   #3
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Stoffe when it comes to merging fields between 2 2da's does it check versus the ones in the bif files to determine which entries to overwrite?

The reason I ask is how would it handle a situation where 2 mods both change the entries in something like the modeln columns and neither of the entries match the original entrie located in 2da.bif.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 01:44 AM   #4
TheOssusKeeper
Forumite
 
TheOssusKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 534
this tool will come in handy when trying to edit/merge older mods... it'll help with all the .2da editing, way cool... good job keep up the good work...


TheOssusKeeper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 07:52 AM   #5
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkkender
when it comes to merging fields between 2 2da's does it check versus the ones in the bif files to determine which entries to overwrite?

The reason I ask is how would it handle a situation where 2 mods both change the entries in something like the modeln columns and neither of the entries match the original entrie located in 2da.bif.
Since my KEY/BIF reader class isn't finished yet it will currently ask the user for an unaltered copy of the 2da file (which you'll have to extract manually with KotorTool) in addition to the two files which are to be merged. This file will be used as a reference to determine what has changed, and as a base template for the new, merged file.

When the two files merged alter the exact same value/cell of one of the standard lines in the 2DA file, the changes done in the second selected file will take precedence, and a message will be posted in the progress log box where the user can see what it has done.

When two files that both add new lines are merged, the lines in the first selected file are first added, and are then followed by the lines from the second selected file, which will have the row labels automatically changed if they are already used by the lines added from the first file.

Same with merging two files which both have custom columns, those in the first file are added first, then followed by those in the second file.

When you merge two files where one adds a column and the other adds new rows, the values for the extra rows from the other file will be set to the standard **** in the new column, since they have no values that can be merged (since the column doesn't exist in that file). The standard lines, and any custom lines set in the file with the new column, will have the values properly set for the new column.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 10:52 AM   #6
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Thank you for that feedback Stoffe. You mentioned your key/bif reader have you downloaded the Source code for Torlacks Tools at his website? The reason I ask is it has given me bounds of insight into further understanding the file formats from a programatic perspective.

*I'm not using his source directly. Instead I'm using it to figure out how to build my own foundation taking a much more generic approach.*


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 11:06 AM   #7
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkkender
Thank you for that feedback Stoffe. You mentioned your key/bif reader have you downloaded the Source code for Torlacks Tools at his website? The reason I ask is it has given me bounds of insight into further understanding the file formats from a programatic perspective.
No, as I'm a rather poor excuse for a programmer and my knowledge C/C++ is rudimentary at best. I'd probably be more confused than helped by reading code written by a programmer of his caliber. I prefer using higher level languages (Delphi, C#...) to get something done.

And half the fun is doing things yourself. I tend to be rather good at needlessly reinventing the wheel only for the satisfaction of (hopefully) managing to do something that actually works in the end.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 11:25 AM   #8
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe -mkb-
No, as I'm a rather poor excuse for a programmer and my knowledge C/C++ is rudimentary at best. I'd probably be more confused than helped by reading code written by a programmer of his caliber. I prefer using higher level languages (Delphi, C#...) to get something done.
Hey I'm a poor excuse as well However I can also admit when I'm in over my head. Especially since I'm trying to relearn programming and diving in feet first into Game engine development and ignoring all of the small stuff untill I need to understand it. Delphi = Pascal Which is simply a simplified C++. Or at least that is how I came to understand C/C++ easier.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 12:38 PM   #9
Lando Griffin
Junior Member
 
Lando Griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: We dont go to Ravenholm
Posts: 447
Great tool stoffe!
Can we merg 2 .2da files and then make it into one. THen merg the already merg 2da file with another?


Oblivion, Dark Brother Hood Quest

Lando Griffin: "Rumors"
Lucien Lachance: "Brother, theres no time for rumors, im going to die!"


Dont f*** with Picard!!!!!!
Lando Griffin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 03:17 PM   #10
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lando Griffin
Can we merge two 2da files and then make it into one, then merge the already merged 2da file with another?
There shouldn't be any problem doing so that I can see. The Merge utility wouldn't know the difference between a file that has been created manually or one that has been joined from two other files before. It's just a 2da file as far as it's concerned.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 08:33 PM   #11
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Simply put... I am in awe

You do realize that you've made my life 1000% easier right?

I'm going to give this thing a good work out this weekend (I have the perfect project for this), so expect some feedback in the future

You're my newest hero stoffe, I'm your forever stalker .. err... fan hehehe...


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2005, 09:14 PM   #12
General Kenobi
Guardian of The Force
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In Exile Waiting For Luke
Posts: 1,318
Thumbs up Praise and Awe!!!!!

Another Wonderful Utility Tool from Stoffe~mkb~

Absolutely wonderful Stoffe I can't wait to start another project and give your new utility tool a whirl You never cease to amaze us with your wonderful tools and mods!!! Don't know which gaming forums you came from before joining here BUT I'm SOOOOOO glad you did


General Kenobi
__________________________________________________ _____
@Darth333
Hey how abouts addin' this bad girl to the tools page for us? It would be kewl in case we ever lost the thread here to have it over on StarWarsKnights.com as well.


MY SITE: Okinawa Outpost
Gilliam Forums
Ikanaru hito demo sonke suru koto
Yakusoku o yaburanai koto
Hito o on****su shinai koto
Hito ni tai****e omoiyari o motsu koto

Last edited by General Kenobi; 09-30-2005 at 09:15 PM. Reason: Edited Stoffe's Name
General Kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2005, 08:04 AM   #13
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChAiNz.2da
Simply put... I am in awe
You do realize that you've made my life 1000% easier right?

I'm going to give this thing a good work out this weekend (I have the perfect project for this), so expect some feedback in the future

You're my newest hero stoffe, I'm your forever stalker .. err... fan hehehe...
Thanks for the warm praise, though perhaps it would've be best to wait until you see if the utility actually works. If you run into any problems, let me know and I'll see if I can fix them.


@General Kenobi: Thanks! I've been mostly lurking on some forums before. I usually don't participate as much as I have here, most forums aren't this friendly. Let me know if things seem to work when/if you try the utility out.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2005, 03:16 AM   #14
Dyliak
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Somewhere lost in the galaxy...
Posts: 27
How much time I would have saved if this utility was made before *sigh*
But now I can merge many other mods easily without losing time and again: thank you Stoffe for sharing ever more useful nice things!

P.S. What a shame that I haven't continued programming with Delphi, that was also my favorite tools for making my own small program.
Dyliak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2005, 07:36 AM   #15
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyliak
How much time I would have saved if this utility was made before *sigh*
But now I can merge many other mods easily without losing time and again: thank you Stoffe for sharing ever more useful nice things!
Well, nobody asked for it before (as far as I know) and I didn't need it myself until recently.

Just remember that this isn't the "Ultimate One Click Mod Compatibility Tool". It just merges custom values between the two files. Depending on what kind of files you merge you may still need to do some manual adjustments (such as the forcehostile/forcefriendly columns in spells.2da). But hopefully it will save some typing at least.

* * *

If a moderator read this: Since nobody has informed me of any bugs and I haven't spotted any more myself yet, perhaps this thread should be moved to the Tools forum instead for archival?


Last edited by stoffe -mkb-; 10-06-2005 at 08:13 AM.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2005, 09:34 AM   #16
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe -mkb-
If a moderator read this: Since nobody has informed me of any bugs and I haven't spotted any more myself yet, perhaps this thread should be moved to the Tools forum instead for archival?
Done & Done!

Wasn't sure if you wanted to leave the title as is.. but I think you can fix that now in here

The tool is working absolutely fabulously. I'm still on the project I was using it for, so hopefully I can give you some better feedback later.. but so far, nothing "negative" to report


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2006, 09:57 PM   #17
Glacius21
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Great tool. It's saved me lots of time.
Glacius21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 04:48 AM   #18
mongerman
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 28
Erm, what exactly does unaltered standard copy of 2da mean? I'm trying to merge USM and greatsabers. Which would be the unaltered standard copy?
mongerman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 06:48 AM   #19
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mongerman
Erm, what exactly does unaltered standard copy of 2da mean? I'm trying to merge USM and greatsabers. Which would be the unaltered standard copy?
It means a clean copy of the 2DA file from the game data that has not been modified by any mods. You can extract it from 2da.bif with KotorTool. The utility needs this file to be able to determine which fields have been modified by either of the two modded 2DA files you want to merge.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2008, 11:36 PM   #20
murdrax
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
umm i tryed runni8ng this tool and for some weird reason im not seeing the merge option of tool tryed redownloading still not showing it help please!!
murdrax is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2010, 07:31 PM   #21
battery000
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Okay I really don't get this. Every time I run the program a command prompt opens for a split second and then disappears, is that what it is suppose to do?
battery000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2012, 02:06 PM   #22
Bonedragon Jedi
Rookie
 
Bonedragon Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 35
Current Game: KOTOR 1, Mass Effect 2
confused

what does the message "invalid row index specified, unable to look up row label" mean? that's as far as I get on things and the merged file never saves.
Bonedragon Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2012, 01:14 PM   #23
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
^^^ Did you use the vanilla .2da from your vanilla game files, by extracting the .2da you want to merge from 2da.bif?

This is essential... If you did this step, then I am not sure what your issue might be, although I would suspect that you are running Vista or Win7 OS... Could be a rights/privileges thing, make sure that when doing anything KoTOR related on a Vista/7 rig, that you do the same steps for modding things that you did to properly install your game.


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2012, 03:06 AM   #24
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,636
Changing the default font size to 125% in Windows 7 seems to cause problems for ChangeEdit. I've encountered similar problems with other programs before, but with ChangeEdit certain vital buttons are not shown at all and resizing the window in any manner doesn't fix it. Of course, switching back to 100% or even 150% if your eyes can stand it resolves the problem. I just figured I'd post here in case anyone else encounters the same issue and doesn't realize this, and also on the off chance that stoffe decides to address it at some future point, in a rare moment of free time.


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Utility for 2DA converting(Text<->V2.b) and merging

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.