lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Modeling
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-12-2004, 10:27 PM   #1
Hassle
Lurker
 
Hassle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bako
Posts: 1
Modeling

OK i have been working on Models for some time now since i have had the game since the it came out.

I have been reModeling the ships and have been adding about 5 new ships to the game. I have the Models themself almost done using AutoCADs MD 3D Modeling, has anyone found a way to import them into the game yet????
Hassle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2004, 06:09 AM   #2
nemesis11c
Rookie
 
nemesis11c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
until better tools come out, it is impossible to put models into the game after editing them, so all modders can do is hope for a tool that automatically extracts and imports both skins and textures.
nemesis11c is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2004, 07:25 AM   #3
kingguru
Rookie
 
kingguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gametoast.com
Posts: 175
Thumbs up Some Modding Pioneers

Riley75 and Luck3y have made some advancement in extracting meshes of the models, check the gametoast.com forums often for newest mod-ablility status. As far as a simple tool nothing for model adding - it doesnt exsit, yet. there is now at least the ability to extract the meshes for models, its a slow task reversing a game engine but whether its by us or the devs. I think we will have full conversion mod ability in the near future.


Star Wars Battlefront 1 & 2 Mod Site.

-=Gametoast.com =-
kingguru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2004, 07:42 AM   #4
luck3y
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
From autocad, you will want to export them as microsoft .x directx format (use the text format if you get the option). You should be able to open the file in notepad after export.

If you do get them exported, feel free to drop me a line and send them over, I'd like to get a look at how the final exported file looks from autocad. (I don't have autocad, nor do I know how to use it).
luck3y is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2004, 10:06 AM   #5
luck3y
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
http://www.swissquake.ch/chumbalum-soft/ms3d/index.html

Milkshape looks pretty good, looks like you can import a wide variety of formats and output directx meshes.

I'm thinking of changing the extractor to output a different format than .x, thats dependant on me finding good documentation on some other formats etc ...
luck3y is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2004, 12:49 PM   #6
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,382
Current Game: Tetris
I suppose this removes the posibility of porting characters out/ in to the game?

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2004, 01:51 PM   #7
luck3y
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by CaptainSkye
I suppose this removes the posibility of porting characters out/ in to the game?
no ...
luck3y is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2004, 05:58 AM   #8
Riley75
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 20
Right now, our ability to import models back into the game is prevented by the following:
- A few unanswered questions related to the way models are stored. There are often two "almost-identical" vertex lists in each mesh segment, and unless luck3y has figured something out that I haven't, we don't know why yet. There are also some models that store some extra data (in sections marked VDAT / SKIN / shdw / GSHD, CSHD, SPHR). While we can make some good guesses about this data, we haven't gone into depth with it yet.
- We don't know yet what the meaning of all the data in the collision chunk is (marked by "coll"). If we try importing a model back in without also updating or adding the collision data, chances are we'll get unexpected or unwanted results.
- We need to talk with some of you artists out there! What programs are you using? What import / export features does your program have?


Star Wars Battlefront: LVL File Reference Information
http://personal.riley-man.com/swbf/editing/
Riley75 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2004, 11:07 AM   #9
luck3y
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Yeah, what I meant is that there is no reason yet why importing new models wouldn't work, its simply a matter of time & effort...
luck3y is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2004, 10:47 PM   #10
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
XSI EXP

The models were created using the professional version of XSI but there is no reason you can't use XSI EXP to create the models. They are exported with a custom Add On for XSI created by Pandemic that saves files in a .msh format.

These models are then compiled into LVL files that are then wrapped up inside other LVLs which are all wrapped up inside the side.lvls and world.lvls. The .msh files contain all data about the model and animations such as hardpoints, collision, and firepoints, and also reference the textures. The animation and model properties are defined by Object Definition Files (ODFs) which are also wrapped up in the lvls. The ODF names typically correspond to a msh file but often, as in the case with units, they share a base geometry across a class.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2004, 05:50 AM   #11
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
that should definately help the modelers/modders


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2004, 11:12 AM   #12
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Psych0fred,
can you post or email me(send me a PM then) the XSI export plugin so i test it if it works with XSI EXP ?
I just wonder how the plugin works because the export function has been disabled in the EXP version. But i donīt know if it also blocks plugin export functions.

Edit:
From the Readme:

File Export

ExportAction has been disabled.

ExportdotXSIFile has been disabled.

ExportIGES has been disabled.

Both the standalone and built-in Flipbook executable has been removed however, the FXTree will be able to provide this function in the XSI EXP.

C++ API

SDK data accessor methods have been blocked which may hinder the function of most compiled plug-ins.

Doesnīt sound promising.
Maybe a 3ds,obj file or any other common file to .msh converter would be a better idea.

Rends

Last edited by Rends; 11-16-2004 at 01:36 PM.
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2007, 07:48 AM   #13
KZ_3D
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
I added the Star Wars BattleFront .msh loader module to the 3D Object Converter and I uploaded the latest developer package (non beta) to my web page.

You can download it using the following link:
http://web.t-online.hu/karpo/3dc32390x_dev_20070217.zip

I converted any original .msh files into .Wavefront's .obj format.
http://web.t-online.hu/karpo/reconverted.zip

Original .msh files:
http://web.t-online.hu/karpo/msh_examples.rar
KZ_3D is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > Modeling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.