lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: x-wing DOS and tie fighter DOS with logitech attack 3
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-19-2008, 10:55 AM   #1
Danfun64
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
x-wing DOS and tie fighter DOS with logitech attack 3

hi all. I want to ask a question, i want to play the dos versions with my new-school joystick, unfortunatly, since dos doesn't support usb, i have to use stuff like vdmsound and dosbox. I might also have to resort to a program like joy-to-key (but easier) to get as many keps as possible. If all else fails, i could eather use a keyboard and mouse. Or use the windows versions (which i have, could be considering getting the dos versions) which work fine (if i have to use windows versions, can you give a totorial on how to replace the wavs?).

My question is, what is the best solution?
Thanks for helping!.
Danfun64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2008, 11:06 AM   #2
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,488
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I'd go for the Windows versions, but, unfortunately, I don't know if there is anything available on replacing the sounds in the games.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2008, 05:20 PM   #3
Danfun64
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildstar
I'd go for the Windows versions, but, unfortunately, I don't know if there is anything available on replacing the sounds in the games.
I know how to do it i think (convert origional midis to wav, copy files from windows version cd to a folder in the hard drive, cut off the ends of the wavs so they match the lengh of the wavs in the origonal windows wavs [optional?], replace the windows wavs with the new ones, burn to cd) the trouble is how slow it is, even with the midis gatekeeper6838 already extracted and utilitys like winapp that convert the midis to wavs and auducity for cutting the lengh off. I think the process is too slowWouldn't it be nice more people did the process for me and others who want to change the sound around. That would take off a whole chunk off the load. Still, seems like a good idea.

Last edited by Danfun64; 04-20-2008 at 05:22 PM. Reason: fix typo
Danfun64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2008, 01:40 PM   #4
littleman794
Rookie
 
littleman794's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inside your soul...
Posts: 189
The windows version is also what i would go with....


Cry me a river, build me a bridge and get over it.
Music is like candy, it is only good without the rapper.
When all is said and done, too many people keep on saying and doing.
littleman794 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > X-Wing Trilogy & X-Wing Vs. TIE Fighter > x-wing DOS and tie fighter DOS with logitech attack 3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.