lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Could we use VPN to get around gamespy problem?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-19-2006, 12:12 PM   #1
dougsmithuk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Could we use VPN to get around gamespy problem?

Been trying this with a friend before I gave up. Maybe others could figure it out (unless its disabled somehow in the game!!):

I set-up a VPN server on my LAN at home and my friend connected to my network from his house fine. He was assigned a local IP address and I could ping and browse files on his machine!!

We then though of simply opening Empire at War and trying the LAN option as theoretically he is on the same network now.... BUT we couldnt see each other in the LAN lobby

Anyone else experimented with VPNs to try and get a LAN game working? Or is this not possible? I would LOVE it if this worked as I've only ever managed to get a few games working through the Gamespy method.

Over to you guys....
dougsmithuk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 12:50 PM   #2
Spaxspore
Rookie
 
Spaxspore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
Hamchi is the best program for that, works really good and its free, got done playin my bro in a GC Lan Match, worked great.


Spaxspore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 01:36 PM   #3
dougsmithuk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Have you managed to play EaW using Hamchi with the LAN option in the game?
dougsmithuk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 02:15 PM   #4
Spaxspore
Rookie
 
Spaxspore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
yea, its a LOT easier and more reliable then GameSP&.

Especially if u want to play with friends


Spaxspore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 02:25 PM   #5
Athanasios
Forumite
 
Athanasios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 561
Spaxspore, what's this Hamchi program? Never heard of it....something like Xfire or what?
Athanasios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 04:29 PM   #6
Spaxspore
Rookie
 
Spaxspore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
virtual lan, just search for it on google.


Spaxspore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 05:34 PM   #7
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Thread moved to Multiplayer section.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 08:11 PM   #8
enterman
Rookie
 
enterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Athanasios
Spaxspore, what's this Hamchi program? Never heard of it....something like Xfire or what?
basiclly its like playing lan except your friend is alot farther away.
enterman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 03:53 AM   #9
lightsaber
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
I also tried using Hamachi... but still the same problem, whe don't see each other in the LAN Lobby. Have you changed any settings with Hamachi????
lightsaber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2006, 09:59 AM   #10
ITGL72
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11
Hamachi? Virtual LAN? OMG -- a way to bypass GAMESPY and maybe even get better online performance? I must google now. THANKS FOR THE TIP!
ITGL72 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2006, 10:58 AM   #11
lightsaber
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
sorry guys to disappoint you... but with Hamachi it is not working properly... only with huge problems... and this is a result of a lousy eaw network code... this game just uses to many ports. I have given up trying to conect with hamachi...
lightsaber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2006, 01:09 PM   #12
ITGL72
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11
That is very dissappointing. I will wish we could bypass GAMESPY!
ITGL72 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Multiplayer Chat / Ladders > Could we use VPN to get around gamespy problem?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.