lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Two Crucial Problems
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-09-2006, 08:43 AM   #1
ZemmurkTrooper
Rookie
 
ZemmurkTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 127
Two Crucial Problems

OK, i just reinstalled Tie Fighter so i could get reference for my mod, and so i could play one of the best games ever made again . Needless to say, the graphics look like lines across the screen on everything other then when your in the concourse, and the sound card was not read by the game, though i have one and to my knowledge its fairly recent. Ill get my sound card info, but my graphics are Radeon X300 Series. If anyone could help, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank a lot,
Zemmurk Trooper


Stormtrooper For Life! Long Live The Empire!

Dark Forces Mod
http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Mapper

Dark Forces 2 Mod
http://shamusworld.gotdns.org/df2mod/
Mapper

Current Projects: JKMod, Tie Fighter Mod, DFMod, Ramsees Hed
ZemmurkTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2006, 12:41 PM   #2
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,507
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Are we talking about DOS TIE here or Windows TIE (Windows TIE comes as part of either the "X-Wing Collector Series" or "X-Wing Trilogy")?


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2006, 01:54 PM   #3
ZemmurkTrooper
Rookie
 
ZemmurkTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 127
im pretty sure its for dos, though the install and such worked. Its from the Tie Fighter Collectors CD. Its running fine through install and the concourse and load, but once in a mission the video goes haywire, and the audio was out all the time.

Zemm


Stormtrooper For Life! Long Live The Empire!

Dark Forces Mod
http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Mapper

Dark Forces 2 Mod
http://shamusworld.gotdns.org/df2mod/
Mapper

Current Projects: JKMod, Tie Fighter Mod, DFMod, Ramsees Hed
ZemmurkTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2006, 06:10 PM   #4
ZemmurkTrooper
Rookie
 
ZemmurkTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 127
Realtek HD Audio is all i could get for my audio card type.


Stormtrooper For Life! Long Live The Empire!

Dark Forces Mod
http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Mapper

Dark Forces 2 Mod
http://shamusworld.gotdns.org/df2mod/
Mapper

Current Projects: JKMod, Tie Fighter Mod, DFMod, Ramsees Hed
ZemmurkTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2006, 06:40 PM   #5
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,507
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Forgot to ask what operating system you were running too, b/c if you're trying to run DOS TIE on Win2K or XP, it won't work, since neither of those operating systems supports DOS applications natively. This means you have to run TIE under an emulator of some sort, such as VDMSound, which has been found to work with DOS X-Wing and TIE Fighter. However, since DOS games run under an emulator tend to run slowly (and often to the point of being unplayable), I recommend finding a copy of the above-mentioned X-Wing Collector Series or X-Wing Trilogy. X-Wing and TIE from those bundles will run on Windows XP without much trouble, save for needing a compatibility fix found on LucasFiles in order to run with hardware 3D acceleration enabled.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2006, 06:48 PM   #6
ZemmurkTrooper
Rookie
 
ZemmurkTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 127
ok, im on XP, and i do have dos, but ill try the emulator. Thanks


Stormtrooper For Life! Long Live The Empire!

Dark Forces Mod
http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Mapper

Dark Forces 2 Mod
http://shamusworld.gotdns.org/df2mod/
Mapper

Current Projects: JKMod, Tie Fighter Mod, DFMod, Ramsees Hed
ZemmurkTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2006, 07:06 PM   #7
ZemmurkTrooper
Rookie
 
ZemmurkTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 127
i tried the emulator, but this occured:

Loading TIE-Fighter CD. Please wait....
DOS/4GW Protected Mode Run-time Version 1.97
Copyright (c) Rational Systems, Inc. 1990-1994
ERROR #3: You must insert TIE-Fighter CD into your cd-rom drive.
If the CD is already in the drive and you still get this
error, then check to make sure that your cd-rom drivers are
loaded. You can do this by trying to change to drive letter
of your cd-rom drive (D: for most people.) If you get an
error message when trying to change drives, then your drivers
are not loaded. You must consult your computer's manuals for
details on how to load your cd-rom drivers.

Press any key to continue . . .

Any ideas? The discs in, the drive works fine.


Stormtrooper For Life! Long Live The Empire!

Dark Forces Mod
http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Mapper

Dark Forces 2 Mod
http://shamusworld.gotdns.org/df2mod/
Mapper

Current Projects: JKMod, Tie Fighter Mod, DFMod, Ramsees Hed
ZemmurkTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2006, 07:17 PM   #8
ZemmurkTrooper
Rookie
 
ZemmurkTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 127
Well, all i need id sound-ive gotten the video fixed through resolution, and the controls im slowly learning back. All i need is sound, which i have a problem with on every computer ive ever installed this game on.


Stormtrooper For Life! Long Live The Empire!

Dark Forces Mod
http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Mapper

Dark Forces 2 Mod
http://shamusworld.gotdns.org/df2mod/
Mapper

Current Projects: JKMod, Tie Fighter Mod, DFMod, Ramsees Hed
ZemmurkTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > XWingAlliance.net > 1. XwingAlliance > Tech Center > Two Crucial Problems

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.