lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: vB Code Suggestion
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-29-2006, 10:52 AM   #1
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
vB Code Suggestion

I believe there is a vB Code that allows one to display other Codes without activating them. What I mean is, something that lets readers see the bold tags without having the text between them bolded. I'm pretty sure the code is ...text....

This would make it easier to show new members how to use the vB Code tags without having to put spaces in them. It's not a major problem that willl being the end of the forums, I know, but it would make things just that much more convenient. Could this tag be activated, or is it not available for some reason?
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2006, 10:59 AM   #2
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,198
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I think what you're looking for is:

HTML Code:
[b]This[/b]
[url=http://www.lucasforums.com/]This[/url]
[img]http://static.lfnetwork.com/lucasforums.com/images/default/lf_menulogo_top.gif[/img]
It is the [HTML] tag, which is prompted by the following icon:


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2006, 12:07 PM   #3
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
That's exactly what I meant. Thanks a lot, Thrik.

One question: How do I go about setting that up in a post? I'm still solightly confused?
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2006, 02:09 PM   #4
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,198
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
You just have to wrap it all in [HTML] and [/HTML] tags. Ironically, the only tag that you can't actually include unparsed within the HTML tags is the HTML tag itself; otherwise, I'd show you.

The easiest way is to just write out the VBCode as usual, highlight the bit that you don't want to be parsed, and then hit the icon I showed above.

I have to confess, though, the HTML tag isn't really designed specifically for showing unparsed VBCode. Its actual use is to colour code real HTML if you enter it in there, which I guess is useful for web developers and such; since it's rarely used, it does this secondary job pretty well too.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-01-2006, 08:53 AM   #5
coupes.
★★★★★
 
coupes.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Québec
Posts: 2,437
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Or you could use the [code] [/code] tag...

Last edited by coupes.; 05-03-2006 at 10:12 AM.
coupes. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2006, 09:46 PM   #6
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,198
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
[code] still parses (most) vBcode; it's basically the same as [html], except it's designed for displaying code and preserving the spacing — no colouring. Sadly, it doesn't inherit the same non-parsing trick. :~

Code:
Example!


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2006, 01:41 PM   #7
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrik
[code] still parses (most) vBcode; it's basically the same as [html], except it's designed for displaying code and preserving the spacing...
Talking about preserving the spacing, the [code] tag automatically inserts a space after 50 characters. This can be quite annoying in the modding forums when you have to post some code. Is there anyway this could be fixed without too much trouble? It's not like it's likely to mess the forum layout as scroll bars are automatically added when it's too large.
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2006, 03:39 PM   #8
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,198
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
The reason it does it I'd assume is because words in posts are set to wrap at 50 characters to prevent stretchy tables; it seems to carry this setting into the vBcode too. I can't think of any quick solution to this, so you'd have to approach Matt about it, with him being the man of all things PHP.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 02:48 AM   #9
coupes.
★★★★★
 
coupes.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Québec
Posts: 2,437
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrik
[code] still parses (most) vBcode; it's basically the same as [html], except it's designed for displaying code and preserving the spacing — no colouring. Sadly, it doesn't inherit the same non-parsing trick. :~

Code:
Example!
Oh, I see... I stand corrected then
coupes. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Forum Help & Feedback Center > vB Code Suggestion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.