lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: problem with jk2ded.exe on server with Xeon CPU
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-27-2006, 07:29 PM   #1
JoergZ
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
Question problem with jk2ded.exe on server with Xeon CPU

Hi @all !

I have the following problem: I can't get the dedicated server running. It stops before the "Game Initialization". On my test-server with the same software-configuration it runs. Only the hardware is different. For better understanding here the specs:

Test-Server:

Intel P4 1,7 GHz
Asus Mainboard
512MB RAM
Windows 2003 Standard R2

JK2 dedicated Version 1.02c

When starting the server, everything is o.k. as you can see here:

Quote:
D:\jk2_1\GameData>jk2ded +set net_port 28070 +exec server.cfg
JK2MP: v1.02c win-x86 Apr 15 2002
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
D:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
D:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
D:\jk2_1\GameData/base
----------------------
14685 files in pk3 files
execing mpdefault.cfg
couldn't exec jk2mpconfig.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found
Intel Pentium IV
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Winsock Initialized
Opening IP socket: localhost:28070
Hostname: rootsrv01
IP: 192.168.87.15
Working directory: D:\jk2_1\GameData
execing server.cfg
sv_maxclients will be changed upon restarting.
------ Server Initialization ------
Server: ffa_bespin
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
D:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
D:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
D:\jk2_1\GameData/base
----------------------
29370 files in pk3 files
Loading vm file vm/jk2mpgame.qvm.
VM file jk2mpgame compiled to 1926381 bytes of code
jk2mpgame loaded in 7117280 bytes on the hunk
------- Game Initialization -------
gamename: basejk
gamedate: Mar 04 2002
------------------------------------------------------------
InitGame: \version\JK2MP: v1.02c win-x86 Apr 15 2002\dmflags\0\fraglimit\50\time
limit\9999\g_maxHolocronCarry\3\g_privateDuel\1\g_ saberLocking\1\g_maxForceRank\
7\duel_fraglimit\10\g_forceBasedTeams\0\g_duelWeap onDisable\65531\g_needpass\0\g
_gametype\0\protocol\15\mapname\ffa_bespin\sv_priv ateClients\8\sv_hostname\Server
\sv_maxclients\12\sv_maxRate\25000\sv_minPing\0\s v_maxPing\0
\sv_floodProtect\1\sv_allowAnonymous\0\sv_allowDow nload\0\Email\x@x.
xx\URL\http://\Clan\No Clan\Location\German
y\g_forceRegenTime\0\capturelimit\7\g_weaponDisabl e\65531\g_forcePowerDisable\14
7448\gamename\basejk\g_maxGameClients\0\g_redteam\ Empire\g_blueteam\Rebellion
0 teams with 0 entities
21 items registered
-----------------------------------
------- BotLib Initialization -------
29 bots parsed
15 arenas parsed
-----------------------------------
broadcast: print "server: write jk2mpconfig.cfg"
Hitch warning: 953132542 msec frame time
Resolving 63.146.124.53:28060
63.146.124.53:28060 resolved to 63.146.124.53:28060
Sending heartbeat to 63.146.124.53:28060
Resolving 216.144.239.34:29060
216.144.239.34:29060 resolved to 216.144.239.34:28060
Sending heartbeat to 216.144.239.34:29060
execing banned.cfg
Didn't find 62.47.177.1.
Writing jk2mpconfig.cfg.
Hitch warning: 1270 msec frame time

Productive Server:

Intel Dual Xeon 3,2 GHz
Tyan S5350 Mainbaord
4 GB RAM
Windows 2003 Standard R2

JK2 dedicated Version 1.02c

When starting the server, it returns without any further error-message to the prompt as you can see here:

Quote:
G:\jk2_1\GameData>jk2ded +set net_port 28070 +exec server.cfg
JK2MP: v1.02c win-x86 Apr 15 2002
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
G:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
G:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
G:\jk2_1\GameData/base
----------------------
14685 files in pk3 files
execing mpdefault.cfg
couldn't exec jk2mpconfig.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found
Intel Pentium IV
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Winsock Initialized
Opening IP socket: localhost:28070
Hostname: eszsrv01
IP: 192.168.192.1
IP: 192.168.87.171
Working directory: G:\jk2_1\GameData
execing server.cfg
sv_maxclients will be changed upon restarting.
------ Server Initialization ------
Server: ffa_bespin
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
G:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
G:\jk2_1\GameData\base\assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
G:\jk2_1\GameData/base
----------------------
29370 files in pk3 files
Loading vm file vm/jk2mpgame.qvm.
VM file jk2mpgame compiled to 1926381 bytes of code
jk2mpgame loaded in 7117280 bytes on the hunk
G:\jk2_1\GameData>
Does anybody knows the problem or maybe had the same problems ? Any soloution tips ?

I already have tried the following things:

- Disabling Hyperthreading in the BIOS
- Trying alle compatibility modes
- Also tried the jk2mp.exe , but is not working too
- tried also the 1.03 version of jk2ded.exe

Now I have no idea anymore how I can get this running. It is quite important, because I want to get rid of my rented servers and start using the new ones.

Thanks for your help.

Best regards

Jörg
JoergZ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 10:35 PM   #2
aka_mustang
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Same problem here
jk2Ded.exe will run fine on an AMD X2 3800+
But put it on a Xeon 2.66GHz and the window disappears as soon as a map is attempted to be loaded
aka_mustang is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2009, 06:23 AM   #3
aka_mustang
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Is there still no resolution to this after 3 years?
aka_mustang is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 12:18 AM   #4
Tr!Force
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by aka_mustang View Post
Is there still no resolution to this after 3 years?
u solved this problem? i have the same problem

any solutions?

---

someone help us please
Tr!Force is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 12:36 AM   #5
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
I seem to remember problems with it on Xeon servers. 1.04 may have solved the issue, I don't remember, it's been 8 years

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2010, 10:37 PM   #6
Tr!Force
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdcfanbill View Post
I seem to remember problems with it on Xeon servers. 1.04 may have solved the issue, I don't remember, it's been 8 years
im trying with 1.04 version, but is the same problem with all versions, we need a solution :/
Tr!Force is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2010, 02:37 AM   #7
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
the solution, I guess, is probably just to run servers on non-Xeon machines.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2010, 09:40 PM   #8
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Did you try LucasArts/Yoda's help desk? That should be a known issue if it's true. Assuming there's no fix at a Xeon related site of course. You might try contacting them.

Or did you find a solution?


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Dedicated Server > problem with jk2ded.exe on server with Xeon CPU

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.