lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: can this be fixed?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-14-2006, 09:05 PM   #1
jedi_exile
Rookie
 
jedi_exile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: arizona
Posts: 66
can this be fixed?

i love what you guys are doing with the site, the only problem i see is when looking at post and scrolling down there seems to be ALOT of space the you have to scroll through befor you reach the next, but other then that its great!


jedi_exile is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-14-2006, 10:08 PM   #2
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Can you post a pic of the issue?


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2006, 03:43 AM   #3
Jawa Bobo
Lurker
 
Jawa Bobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Anchorhead
Posts: 1
Try turning off some of the control panel options (like images/signatures/avatars) to reduce the excess content (empty space is quite often from large avatars)
Quote:
Originally Posted by User Control Panel
You have the option to show or hide various elements of messages, which may be of use to users on slow internet connections, or who want to remove extraneous clutter from posts.
Click on "User CP" at the top of the screen, then "Edit Options" on the left hand side menu under "Control Panel" "Settings and Options". The third set of options is "Thread Display Options" and by unchecking "Show Signatures/Avatars/Images" you'll eliminate a lot of the blank space in threads/posts.

Last edited by Jawa Bobo; 06-15-2006 at 04:01 AM. Reason: added quote from Control Panel Options
Jawa Bobo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2006, 05:57 PM   #4
Xbx_Inthusiast
.Devil's Trap.//
 
Xbx_Inthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,156
Helpful! 
Check your internet options. See if the font size is too big, or your resolution is messed up. Doubtful, but it's an idea.
Xbx_Inthusiast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2006, 01:15 AM   #5
Bob Lion54
Jr. Malkavian Detective
 
Bob Lion54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the case! Both my minds!
Posts: 2,103
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I believe the part marked in red is what he is talking about.


Bob Lion54 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2006, 01:28 AM   #6
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Hmm... what browser are you guys using?


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2006, 01:40 AM   #7
Bob Lion54
Jr. Malkavian Detective
 
Bob Lion54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the case! Both my minds!
Posts: 2,103
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Im using Firefox. It never really bothered me though.

Actually, in my above post my sig takes up as much room are the post itself. It dos't do it with IE (I just checked.)


Bob Lion54 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2006, 01:47 AM   #8
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Have you upgraded Firefox lately?

I was a few versions behind and it was doing all sorts of wierd things to me. I was even getting crashes here at the forum.

I have 1.5.0.4 right now.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2006, 01:58 AM   #9
Bob Lion54
Jr. Malkavian Detective
 
Bob Lion54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the case! Both my minds!
Posts: 2,103
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Yep. I have auto-update on.

Its probably an option thats checked (or unchecked.) I looked through my options but Im not sure what it could be.

Im not sure why it does it, but it has for as long as I can remember. (And this is through a few different reformats.)

EDIT: I tracked down the problem. Im not sure why its doing it, but when you set a maximum signiture size in your "User CP" it causes the "problem" described.

I just disabled it and the issue is gone. I don't know why I thought of trying that, but my intuition proved correct. (At least for me.)

EDIT2: It DOES do it with IE. When I checked earlier, I did not log in. I checked again, this time logging in with IE, and its the same as with Firefox.



Last edited by Bob Lion54; 06-17-2006 at 02:12 AM.
Bob Lion54 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2006, 02:42 AM   #10
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Yup, you are correct Bob, I just did that, I went into my UserCP and Options set max sig size to 240 and woah!

Space the final frontier!

I hope all this helps jedi_exile!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Starwarsknights.com > Feedback > can this be fixed?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.