lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Error when Using Modview
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-05-2006, 02:12 PM   #1
Styles2304
Rookie
 
Styles2304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 43
Error when Using Modview

I modeled a saber hilt for jk2. I attempted to create a modified version of kyles saber from Jedi Knight. Anyways, when I open it in modview I get this error:

Code:
R_LoadMDXM: models/weapons2/my_saber/saber_w.glm has more than 1000 verts on a surface (1320)
I got this error before and just assumed it was a too high poly model. However, I'm pretty sure that I've seen more polys on other weapons, especially since this is a re-modeled version so I don't know what this means.

If anyons any ideas, please, shoot 'em this way!

Thanks,
Zach


Styles2304 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2007, 09:27 AM   #2
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Max poly count for JK3 weapons is 1000 I think.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2007, 11:19 PM   #3
Johnpp
Junior Member
 
Johnpp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Australia, The Place To Be.
Posts: 435
If you cut the model in half, so it is in 2 shapes, I think it will work. The max poly/vertex limit for JA and JO is 1000 per object. So if it is in 2 objects, you may not go over.

I am not sure if this is true or if you can even cut models in half, but meh.


Opera user.
IE hater.
JKA player.
DooM player.
Quake 2 player.
Real life player.
Johnpp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2007, 11:34 AM   #4
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Yes that is correct, there's a limit on vertex count and you can split the object into separate pieces. The object should still work in JA, just wont have shadows calculated i think (too complex).

Honestly if you have 1k on a hilt that means you're way overboard too! :P

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Modeling > Error when Using Modview

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.