lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Grim Launcher 1.3.1 - Loading Lua Scripts
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-09-2006, 03:47 AM   #1
lagamorph321
Rookie
 
lagamorph321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Grim Launcher 1.3.1 - Loading Lua Scripts

Hi All,

I was wondering if someone could tell me how to get a lua script to work using Grim Launcher.

I've been able to successfully issue these commands one at a time by pressing ctrl + E.

manny.knock_costume="msb_knock_on_door.cos"
manny:push_costume(manny.knock_costume)
manny:play_chore(ma_knock_on_door_knock,manny.knoc k_costume)

Here is what i've tried...

1. I place these three lines into a file I've named GR_Knock.LUA in my c:\ directory.

2. I use alt+s to bring up the dialogue box

3. Type in "c:\GR_Knock.LUA" in the dialogue box

4. Click on OK.

No costume change, no knocking on door action.

Do I need to put my script into a specific directory?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
lagamorph321 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2006, 01:49 PM   #2
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,997
LFN Staff Member 
I've never actually tried loading a lua script. Grim scripts in the resource files are compiled, it may be that the engine cant load uncompiled scripts.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2006, 01:57 PM   #3
lagamorph321
Rookie
 
lagamorph321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
I'll try compiling my script using scumm rev (if it can do that). Thanks for the info.
lagamorph321 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2006, 02:08 PM   #4
john_doe
 
john_doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The pit
Posts: 137
Try to put the commands into a function, then call the function from the game.
If GrimE uses the "standard" Lua-way of loading scripts, then the actual script is not executed at load-time but only prepared to be called later.


Long Live Akatosh
And All The Divines
john_doe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2006, 02:48 PM   #5
lagamorph321
Rookie
 
lagamorph321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
oh, i see.

So, I'll try these steps...
1. Put my commands into a lua function
2. Compile my script (may or may not be necessary)
3. Load it using the alt+s command.
4. Use the ctrl+e command in grim launcher to call my function.

Thanks for the clarification.
lagamorph321 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2006, 02:58 PM   #6
john_doe
 
john_doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The pit
Posts: 137
I'm not sure if that works but it's (as always ) worth a try.


Long Live Akatosh
And All The Divines
john_doe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Community Discussion Forums > SCUMM > Grim Launcher 1.3.1 - Loading Lua Scripts

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 AM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.