lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Disable one Faction?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-19-2006, 10:19 PM   #1
sherlockemery
Rookie
 
sherlockemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 55
Disable one Faction?

Can you disable one faction in Galactic Conquest? I want to play just empire vs rebels...
sherlockemery is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-19-2006, 10:52 PM   #2
Rust_Lord
Rookie
 
Rust_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 171
Nope. If you want that you gotta play standard EaW with no FoC units.
Rust_Lord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-19-2006, 11:23 PM   #3
sherlockemery
Rookie
 
sherlockemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 55
That Stinks...

Anyone think we could mod this option in?
sherlockemery is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2006, 05:27 PM   #4
Darth_Extas
Junior Member
 
Darth_Extas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: On the Eclipse destroying anything in my way
Posts: 497
Actually you might beable, you can basically turn the Consotitorum into the "Pirates" or the original EaW, I believe you can change whether it is selectable in the XML.



Sig made by Princess Lyla

http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=20872

The Sith will always be around as long as there is hate in the Galaxy.

Dark Hands of the Empire(Clan Member)
Darth_Extas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2006, 12:37 AM   #5
sherlockemery
Rookie
 
sherlockemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 55
Has there been a full extraction of the xml file for forces of corruption yet?
sherlockemery is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2006, 03:34 AM   #6
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
Yes, i made a full extraction of the XML and all. You can easily disable any one of the faction in the Campaign_GC.xml file. Just assign the AI player for that faction as none.

Then remove all pre-games units for that faction from the xml.

I find the win conditions can be goofy, you cna name specific planets that must be taken to win, and for the AI. I would say until the patch is out to fix a myriad of small bugs and balance issues, getting to far into modding is a waste of time in a way.

What GC map do want and what exactly?
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2006, 09:20 PM   #7
sherlockemery
Rookie
 
sherlockemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 55
I was wanting the largest map available, and only have the option of Empire or Rebels. I just don't care about the other faction...
sherlockemery is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2006, 05:09 AM   #8
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
OK, let me see what I can do. I assume out of the five or so maps, the big one with 55 planets.

Plus, depending upon which side you play, the initial planet distrubution is different. Example, playing the Empire in Origin of Corruption GC mode you start with one planet and the AI gets alot more, it changes for each faction you play.

I think you want the AI and you both to start out with one planet each (Coruscant and say Yavin or something decent). Plus maybe place some non-expanding pirates in to slow down the initial land grab. As of now, the pirate faction is disabled in FoC. I wonder if it still works if I renable it.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2006, 10:30 AM   #9
QuestGAV
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
You might want to start with the file Darth Khasei posted here:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=172061

It doesn't have the Consortium disabled but it does have 55 planets and each side down to 1 planet. I would love to have a version of that GC with all three factions having 1 planet and pirates around to slow down the rest.
QuestGAV is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2006, 12:46 PM   #10
sherlockemery
Rookie
 
sherlockemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 55
I'm playing that one right now QuestGAV. Thank you.

Slocket, that sounds like exactly what I'm looking for. That scenario would make me a very happy camper.

I just can't get into the ZC at all. I think they could have used Jabba/Talon Karrde/Xizor with a greater effect. Karrde could have defected to the rebels at one point or something for a plot twist...
sherlockemery is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2006, 10:35 PM   #11
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
It would be great if some industrious modder could write a GUI frontend for editing galactic maps and objectives. I know it's easy to do via XML (and I keep telling myself I'm going to try setting some GCs up), but I bet community-built galactic conquest campaigns would really take off if there was an easy-to-use tool.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2006, 05:51 AM   #12
TearsOfIsha
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherlockemery
I'm playing that one right now QuestGAV. Thank you.

Slocket, that sounds like exactly what I'm looking for. That scenario would make me a very happy camper.

I just can't get into the ZC at all. I think they could have used Jabba/Talon Karrde/Xizor with a greater effect. Karrde could have defected to the rebels at one point or something for a plot twist...
I think Zann is a fair enough character, but i take your meaning. Xizor and Black Sun would have been a better fit to the Star Wars universe than a massive, galaxy spanning cartel that could go toe-to-toe with the best the Galactic Empire had to offer yet no-one has ever heard of them outside of FoC.

I don't think Karrde would have worked either - some of the stuff doesn't seem his style. Massive battlecruisers with prototype weapons and platoons of hovertanks? Nah, that's nowt like him.
TearsOfIsha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2006, 10:14 AM   #13
Naso
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 69
They fit him in nicely in the campaign, but outside of that conquest, GC particularly, it is a bit odd. I always just wonder about the mechanics of him running up to an ATAT and bribing the guy way up there about to step on him too, but that's just me.
Naso is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2006, 03:22 PM   #14
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
well, care to post the extracted xml? I would like to change around a few things on my own, and don't want to work on anything other than the xml.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2006, 09:13 PM   #15
sherlockemery
Rookie
 
sherlockemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 55
I don't have the xml file, I'm begging to get my hands on one...
sherlockemery is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2006, 01:11 AM   #16
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
I am getting on it now. Sorry for the delay. It was such a 'Happy Thanksgiving' here in the USA :/ relatives....sometimes I wonder....

Now I can get back to gaming. I am changing that map, plus seeing if the pirate AI will work if it is re-enabled. I do not want to post a poor working map.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2006, 02:53 AM   #17
sherlockemery
Rookie
 
sherlockemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 55
I've done some goofing myself, and found if you remove all units, and change the AI for the faction you don't want in the game to none, That faction doesn't expand, doesn't build, and only has the one planet if you use the file linked in the questgav post above...
sherlockemery is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2006, 02:55 PM   #18
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
That will work. Plus you must manually add in Pirates to slow down the AI land grab. I have finished a beta version if you want to try. For some reason I had a problem with uploading it to Rapidshare. It is the above mention file with pirates added, and only the Empire with Rebels, plus starting with only one planet each.

It can have more or less pirates added in, but that is a balance issue. It seems to work good enough for now. Let me get a link again today.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2006, 05:11 AM   #19
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
Empire vs Rebel only Mod. for the Equal Footing GC map.

http://rapidshare.com/files/5011285/...el_gc.zip.html

I do find it interesting how the AI expands, and waits for you to catch up, or how big a starbase it will attack on Medium. I hope Petro can make the AI more smarter.

I was using a simple three party Rebel raid with Air Speeders and the Empire was too stupid to build one AA turret to shoot them down. It did build one randomly in EAW, but not in FoC for some reason.

Last edited by Slocket; 12-03-2006 at 10:53 PM.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2006, 07:14 PM   #20
QuestGAV
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks Slocket, I'm going to give that a whirl as the Rebels. Would it be possible to have a 2nd version of that file with the ZC reenabled as well?
QuestGAV is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 02:47 AM   #21
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
Sure, and if the first map is working...a map pack with different faction combination for all to play against to select from.

I think it makes an interesting gameplay.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 07:14 AM   #22
QuestGAV
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
It's working pretty well so far. I've got 12ish planets under my control, the Empire has 18 or so on Hard and a big fleet knocking on my door.

I don't know if this was a bug related to the map or if it was just a random occurence but there was a group of 3 stormtroopers above Mandalore where no Imp ships should have been able to get to. When I moved my space stack on top of it they joined the stack and couldn't attack them. They flew around with my fleet for a bit until the next space battle (with pirates), during which they flew in with my ships and were immediately destroyed.
QuestGAV is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 08:47 AM   #23
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
funny but, but at least its not affacting your game.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 01:08 PM   #24
QuestGAV
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Yeah, a little hiccup but the game hasn't puked on me yet.
QuestGAV is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 07:17 PM   #25
tedsta
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slocket
Empire vs Rebel only Mod. for the Equal Footing GC map.

http://rapidshare.com/files/5011285/...el_gc.zip.html

I do find it interesting how the AI expands, and waits for you to catch up, or how big a starbase it will attack on Medium. I hope Petro can make the AI more smarter.

I was using a simple three party Rebel raid with Air Speeders and the Empire was too stupid to build one AA turret to shoot them down. It did build one randomly in EAW, but not in FoC for some reason.
I noticed that you created a mod that allows you to disable the zc in gc. I am really interested in acquiring this mod. But when I went to retrieve it, the file was no longer there. Perhaps you could repost this mod so that I could acquire it. Thanks
tedsta is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-20-2007, 03:03 PM   #26
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
BUnpish for re-upload anyone?
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-20-2007, 08:18 PM   #27
CLONECOMMANDER501
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 369
Chandlers FOC mod disables the Consortium.


CLONECOMMANDER501 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > Disable one Faction?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.