lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Mod Idea
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-04-2007, 08:52 PM   #1
Splatah King
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 27
Mod Idea

Here is a mod i thought of a couple minuets ago.


This is a simple mod for looks. There is no alltering in the power of the ships just the looks of the squadron.

Installation: First loacte in the Xml Files The File called Squadron.Xml.
After you locate this find whatever squadron you want to allter.
Then you simply change the coding from

<Squadron Name="Rebel_X-Wing_Squadron">
<Squadron_Units>X-Wing, X-Wing</Squadron_Units>
<Squadron_Units>X-Wing, X-Wing</Squadron_Units>
<Squadron_Units>X-Wing</Squadron_Units>

To:

<Squadron_Units>X-Wing, X-Wing</Squadron_Units>
<Squadron_Units>Y-Wing, Y-Wing</Squadron_Units>
<Squadron_Units>A-Wing</Squadron_Units>

Or whatever combonation you want. The only problem is that if you add a Y-Wing to a squadron it will slow the over all speed of the squadron down so then i just changed the speed of the Y-Wing squadron to a higher number. Also this doesnt allow you to use the Speciltys of all of the ships it just is for show.


Anybody can use this in there own mod but contact me first for any ideas before you do.

Email: wdwnut@voyager.net

Thanks, Cody Rockwell.
Splatah King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2007, 05:42 PM   #2
ScorLibran
Rookie
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 118
Interesting idea.

Boosting the speed of Y-Wings will apply across the entire game. Have you looked at how this would affect the balance of the game? It may be as easy as boosting the speed of TIE Bombers to counter, or maybe Tartans, but I'd look more closely at tactical effects before turning any speeds up or down throughout the game.
ScorLibran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2007, 07:06 PM   #3
Splatah King
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 27
All it would do is make all of the squadrons be the same speed. I do know that when i applied the change i didnt loose any bomber in the fight. Also i only changed it from 1.4 to 3.6 this is about the same speed as a tartan.
Splatah King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2007, 07:33 PM   #4
Splatah King
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 27
Mod Idea

Sorry for double posting but another idea for a mod i just had was making an ultimate squadron/fleet by putting in say two assault frigates and a calamari cruiser. I just wont do this to my game because that is to much for me to think about adding more units to a squadron and then making them not be inside one another.

Last edited by Splatah King; 05-06-2007 at 09:03 PM. Reason: Misspeled Word
Splatah King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2007, 09:36 AM   #5
ScorLibran
Rookie
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splatah King
All it would do is make all of the squadrons be the same speed. I do know that when i applied the change i didnt loose any bomber in the fight. Also i only changed it from 1.4 to 3.6 this is about the same speed as a tartan.
Hmmm, there'd be a definite need to give something back to balance that out. Maybe drop the health of all the units in the "custom squadron" by 30-50%...that'd be fair.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splatah King
Sorry for double posting but another idea for a mod i just had was making an ultimate squadron/fleet by putting in say a two assault frigates and a calamari cruiser. I just wont do this to my game because that is to much for me to think about adding more units to a squadron and then making them not be inside one another.
The U.S. Navy calls that a "battle group" - an aircraft carrier plus a few cruisers, destroyers, frigates, subs and support ships, all treated (at the strategic level) as one "unit". Seems like a good idea for this game as well. Although you'd have to determine a "line in the sand" with which to protect the player's ability to still create their own complete battle groups. What you're describing is like offering "mini battle groups" of just the core units. Cost and pop value for such a "combo unit" would have to be jacked up accordingly, but I think it'd give something very convenient to the player. It'd benefit beginning-level players who either don't want to worry about - or don't KNOW to worry about - how to put together a core fleet, and more experienced players with the convenience point.

I wonder what other peoples' opinions would be...?
ScorLibran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2007, 12:49 PM   #6
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splatah King
Sorry for double posting but another idea for a mod i just had was making an ultimate squadron/fleet by putting in say a two assault frigates and a calamari cruiser. I just wont do this to my game because that is to much for me to think about adding more units to a squadron and then making them not be inside one another.
sounds awesome but i did just start playing 3 days ago...


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2007, 09:08 PM   #7
Splatah King
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 27
That a good idea. I have two empire at war game files on my computer. One is stacked for the empire the other is my normal Mp Game that i use for online play. All of my mods are set up for the empire. If i make the mod to change the health Ill wan to put it on the imperial game instead of the online game, but other than that very good thought, Ill start crunching the words again. Another full night of typing on a computer. );
Splatah King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2007, 09:57 PM   #8
CLONECOMMANDER501
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 369
Good to see you guys make mods for fun


CLONECOMMANDER501 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2007, 10:10 PM   #9
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
i have an idea but i dont know how to do it myself. make kyle and mara with a lightsaber b/c to me they are nearly worthless in land and a mod i just downloaded makes them better in space.


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2007, 11:28 PM   #10
Darth Windu
TSLRP Beta Tester
 
Darth Windu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 1,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splatah King
Anybody can use this in there own mod but contact me first for any ideas before you do.

Email: wdwnut@voyager.net

Thanks, Cody Rockwell.
lol, mate are you serious? Okay, it's a good idea but it's hardly a unique or new one. I came up with the same thing a few months ago. Does that mean you have to credit me for the idea? No. Nor does anyone need to credit you for the idea.


Dark Lord of the Purists

Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
Darth Windu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2007, 07:07 AM   #11
CLONECOMMANDER501
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 369
Alright guys calm down, atleast he wants to make mods for fun. Over at filefront, it's a war about who has the best mod.


CLONECOMMANDER501 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2007, 12:18 PM   #12
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
yeah i noticed that to. so far ive only been able to get three or four to actually work without major screwing my game up. how would i go about editing mara jades ship for space like changing it to something else, health and other stuff


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2007, 04:00 PM   #13
Splatah King
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 27
Thank you CLONECOMMANDER501.
Splatah King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2007, 05:25 PM   #14
CLONECOMMANDER501
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 369
^ Looks like a new beggining for me, I may have a better time here then in filefront.

-=S=-


CLONECOMMANDER501 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 12:20 AM   #15
Darth Windu
TSLRP Beta Tester
 
Darth Windu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 1,973
Revan - that depends on exactly what you want. It's a fairly easy change though.


Dark Lord of the Purists

Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
Darth Windu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 12:38 AM   #16
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
im not sure yet im looking for something better then a z-95 but not a acclamator or victory cruiser, i wish some could make the jade fire that might fit or talon karde's shrike. if i could model i would have a go but im not so good. how about a v-wing with 4 arc-170's sorta like vader has and his ability. BTW im using CIS v5 so ill need to edit them.


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 03:57 PM   #17
Splatah King
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 27
If you want to learn how to model these guys ell help

http://www.aoswmod.com/Forums/index.php?topic=608.0

Also if you want to do that, just copy lord vaders space unit and put a different model in for it and presto ready made mara jade updated ship. Or if you don't like that idea you could make one from you own thoughts. LOL


Fly like a butterfly stings like a bee if you get shot in the ass you'll know it was me. lol

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him on his way to world domination!
Splatah King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Mod Idea

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.