lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: BIOSHOCK!!!!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-05-2007, 07:55 AM   #81
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
In Neptune's Bounty...
spoiler:

... is there any way to get your ammo back after you have to give up all your weapons in order to enter Fontaine's Fisheries? I found my weapons again in the mailbox on the stairs down to the basement, but all the ammo I had been conserving was gone.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2007, 05:18 PM   #82
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
spoiler:
Yeah, after you defeat Peach Wilkins in Fontaine Fisheries and receive your weapons you had previously, you don't get all the ammo you originally had. Yeah, it sucks. I had most of my weapons at maximum and then I lost almost all the ammo as well.


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 11:52 AM   #83
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Is the Human Inferno gene tonic not available in the PC version of the game? I checked one of those Plasmid FAQs posted on gamefaqs and it was listed as being available in the Gatherer's Gardens in Arcadia and Fort Frolic, but I haven't been able to find it in either place when playing.

If they've intentionally removed it just to punch their PC customers in the face a bit more I hope it can still be spawned using cheats. At least it's listed in the game's data files and not obviously blocked out there.


Edit: Seems to work to add the Human Inferno powers via console commands.


Last edited by stoffe; 09-13-2007 at 12:41 PM.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 11:54 AM   #84
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,028
Anyone able to run this game on full graphics settings?

- Ghost Down



Last edited by Ghost Down; 09-25-2007 at 12:43 PM.
Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 12:30 PM   #85
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
My specs are far from special. 3200+, 1gig, and a 7800 superclock. I'm fairly close to full settings @ 1024x768. I had to turn off Detailed Shaders because of a crashing issue but everything else is max. The framerate dips low enough to notice stuttering sometimes but it's fairly smooth most of the time.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 12:46 PM   #86
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost Down
Anyone able to run this game on full graphics settings? Also It lags alot on my PC.
Works fairly OK on my computer with all settings on max in 1280x1024 resolution (no DX10 though),I get on average around 28-42 FPS so far. The only time I've seen any noticeable slowdown is when a Big Daddy lumbers by close to me causing the screen to shake and the game to shave off 20 FPS from my counter until he's a bit further away or has stopped walking.

(AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU, Radeon X1900XT graphics card.)

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 01:12 PM   #87
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
*cough* get an Xbox 360 *cough*



Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 01:16 PM   #88
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander Obi-Wan
*cough* get an Xbox 360 *cough*

Can you get the "Organic Pockets" tonic in the X-box 360 version? A pack rat like me couldn't survive without it.

(It doubles your carrying capacity for med kits, EVE hypos and all ammunition.)

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 01:23 PM   #89
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
Shut up.

Just playin', but I didn't really need 2X my ammo, Eve, and med kits. I usually was at the 'full' 9 of the Eve hypos and Med kits. Though, I probably could have used it against the Big Daddies.

Screw mods. ( I take it that, that is a mod?)


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 01:29 PM   #90
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander Obi-Wan
Just playin', but I didn't really need 2X my ammo, Eve, and med kits. I usually was at the 'full' 9 of the Eve hypos and Med kits.
That's why you need it if you're a pack rat. It pains you to have to leave something you've found behind, whether you actually need it or not. With that tonic you at least delay the agony until 18 EVE hypos instead of 9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander Obi-Wan
Screw mods. ( I take it that, that is a mod?)
It's part of the standard game, but I don't think it can be found anywhere since it's not listed in any of the FAQs I've seen, so it was probably cut from the release game for whatever reason. You can use a console command to get it though, and it still works. There are a handful of other things like that.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2007, 01:35 PM   #91
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
I see, will I don't really need now that I have completed it. But, I guess I didn't look into it much. A really the only time I probably good have used it the whole is against the final boss of the game. In which, I am sure all those hypos and med kits will do you plenty fighting the final boss.


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2007, 06:10 PM   #92
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Heads up, lads! GoGamer has Bioshock on sale fort he next few days for only $34.90! + ~$2.79 S/H!

LINKY
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2007, 11:04 AM   #93
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,028
Hey, I was thinking of getting Bioshock. But first I'd like to know how it runs, did you guys have any lag?

Btw. Anyone have a system similar to mine? So that I can know how would run on mine?

Quote:
My specs

Intel Pentium 4 3,2 GHZ
Nvidia GeForce 7800GS 256MB
2 GB's of RAM
- Ghost Down


Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2007, 11:10 AM   #94
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost Down
Hey, I was thinking of getting Bioshock. But first I'd like to know how it runs, did you guys have any lag?
I have usually pretty decent performance in Bioshock with no visible lag or slowdowns. I have on average 32-36 FPS in most areas at 1280x1024 resolution with all graphics options on max (except DX10). The only performance problem I've had so far is some weird bug when a Big Daddy walks past close to me, which causes my FPS to drop to single digits. (Thankfully that doesn't happen when fighting Big Daddies though, just when they walk around near me.)

(I have an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ machine with 2 GB RAM and a ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512 MB graphics card.)

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2007, 03:51 PM   #95
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost Down
Anyone able to run this game on full graphics settings?

- Ghost Down
Yep. 1920x1200 with everything but DX10.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-20-2008, 05:58 AM   #96
Pavlos
Scruffy Englishman
 
Pavlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The real world/ivory towers
Posts: 1,974
Current Game: Viking Warrior Poets
*Blows off dust*

Source

2K announced yesterday that all activation and install restrictions have been removed from BioShock PC, active immediately.

The news comes by way of 2K's community manager, (who seems to like her job so much that she's changed her first name to "2K" and has done away with the need for a surname) 2K Elizabeth:

Quote:
Good news! As promised, all activation restrictions, including install limits, have been removed from BioShock PC as of today. You don’t have to patch or install anything for this to go into effect for your copy of BioShock – it’s already done!
Enjoy your unlimited wandering around Rapture; which is, needless to say, awesome.


StarWarsKnights.com -- News and features will be returning shortly...

I 'gin to be a-weary of the sun,
And wish the estate o' the world were now undone.

Last edited by Pavlos; 06-20-2008 at 07:05 AM. Reason: I'm not sure the original posting of this news item even made sense o_0
Pavlos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-20-2008, 09:13 AM   #97
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Excellent.

Maybe Bioshock's ridiculous anti-piracy features have hurt sales enough for 2K to take notice.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-20-2008, 11:28 PM   #98
Serpentine Cougar
Veteran
 
Serpentine Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Not there yet.
Posts: 879
Current Game: Beneath A Steel Sky
Helpful! 
That's cool. But how does it work? Does the game check the internet and then find out it doesn't need any activation? I mean, wasn't it programmed onto the game disc?


Serpentine Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2008, 12:58 AM   #99
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Perhaps it's eventual deactivation was also programmed into it as well.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2008, 12:00 PM   #100
Pavlos
Scruffy Englishman
 
Pavlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The real world/ivory towers
Posts: 1,974
Current Game: Viking Warrior Poets
Source

It seems that 2K is still in discussion with Irrational Game's (otherwise known as 2K Boston) Creative Director and creator of BioShock, Ken Levine, over the state of his contract.

According to the New York Post the new contract -- presumably designed to ensure that Levine remains with 2K -- would give Levine more creative control over titles along with the power to create new franchises. According to sources, Levine might also earn 'points' for each of his titles and under a system which makes no sense to me whatsoever (dumb English Literature student here) these would grant him a percentage of the profits made from the sale of his titles.

Even a measly 1% of BioShock's profits would personally suit me fine. What did that thing sell? 2 million units? At £40 each? They must really want him...


StarWarsKnights.com -- News and features will be returning shortly...

I 'gin to be a-weary of the sun,
And wish the estate o' the world were now undone.
Pavlos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2008, 07:21 PM   #101
Ctrl Alt Del
Uncreative User
 
Ctrl Alt Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 3,814
Current Game: Dishonored
Forum Veteran 
^ With all reason. The team must be taletented, but the head designer has... let's say, a small role on it.


Inspiration

.Bioshock inspiration.
Ctrl Alt Del is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2008, 02:22 PM   #102
Pavlos
Scruffy Englishman
 
Pavlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The real world/ivory towers
Posts: 1,974
Current Game: Viking Warrior Poets
Source

2K have just shown off the PS3 version of their steam-punk, objectivist, swingin' FPS-RPG, BioShock at E3. You can catch a video demo on Gametrailers if you're interested.

There's nothing much new but it gives us a few glimpses of the bonus areas confirmed to be present in the PS3 edition. Both quite long and quite repetitive, it's interesting that they've chosen to ditch Beyond the Sea, which they seemed so fond of in the run up to the 360 and PC releases, in favour of generic FPS action music. Shame, really, the game loses some of its ironic twang when you take that away.


StarWarsKnights.com -- News and features will be returning shortly...

I 'gin to be a-weary of the sun,
And wish the estate o' the world were now undone.
Pavlos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2008, 03:19 PM   #103
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
Just wanted to be sure...

spoiler:
... Do I need to save every little sister in the game to get good ending or can I just save one little sister and don't rescue/harvest the other little sisters and still get good ending?


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Community > The Outlander Club > BIOSHOCK!!!!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.