lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Personal JKO server help/questions
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-18-2007, 01:09 PM   #1
Thrasonic
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA (East Coast)
Posts: 3
Question Personal JKO server help/questions

Recently I setup a JKO server running on my PC (not dedicated). I fwd'd the ports necessary so that a couple of friends could join in over my DSL connection (3Mbps down/384Kbps up). They were able to join without a problem. However, they constantly got a connection interrupted message and were dealing with severe lag. We were playing with the 2 of them, myself, and 7 bots.

I lowered the number of bots to 3 so that the game was than 3 vs 3 and that helped a little bit but they were still occasionally having that same problem. Does a dedicated server work better? I do have another PC I could run that on if that would help them. Are there any settings I can tweak to help those players coming in over the Net?

So you know, I have hosted an America's Army (AA) server with no problems. I've had 8 people on my LAN and up to 4 coming in over my DSL connection and no one had lag problems. This leads me to believe it's not my DSL connection but some setting or settings in the game. In my mind I imagine AA would require more resources in every way, including network/Internet, so JKO should run fine but I have seen this is not the case. Perhaps JKO, being older, is less efficient at running as a server over my DSL connection?

Let me know your ideas and thoughts. Thanks.
Thrasonic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-18-2007, 11:39 PM   #2
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
you could try lowering the sv_maxrate to like, 8000

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2007, 10:02 AM   #3
Thrasonic
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA (East Coast)
Posts: 3
acdcfanbill, thanks for the suggestion. I'll give that a try. I noticed that was a setting, and it's similar to a setting in AA and in that game I do lower it to 7500 or 8000 so maybe that's it.
Thrasonic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Dedicated Server > Personal JKO server help/questions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.