lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Music in JK and MOTS won't work
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-10-2008, 06:53 AM   #1
Yodafone
Rookie
 
Yodafone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Music in JK and MOTS won't work

Hi guys

I am new here. I bought the JEDI KNIGHT: DARK FORCES II along with MOTS yesterday. The games work good - but I can't hear any music. I checked out the sound settings in the Options menu, and the music is set to max. What can be wrong?
Yodafone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2008, 06:44 PM   #2
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
did you install the no CD patch?

the CD needs to be in the drive for the music to work


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-14-2008, 04:45 AM   #3
Yodafone
Rookie
 
Yodafone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKLE_Cougar
did you install the no CD patch?

the CD needs to be in the drive for the music to work
Yes, actually - the music started working AFTER I won first level in MotS.
It started working for both Jedi Knight and MotS. This I don't really understand at all...
Yodafone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2008, 01:10 PM   #4
EvilIguana966
 
EvilIguana966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
I just installed JK on Vista and I've gone 3 levels and still no music. JK is just not JK without the music. I know the CD is not damaged because I can play the music tracks just fine in Windows media player.
EvilIguana966 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2008, 08:28 PM   #5
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
That is strange.... hmmmmm Im not sure what to say about this

have you reinstalled? I know its Vista and Vista can be a pain but I really am drawing blanks on this


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2008, 01:40 AM   #6
gatekeeper6838
Rookie
 
gatekeeper6838's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Make sure you run the game in compatibility mode, namely Windows 95 / 98. If you weren't already aware, all you have to do is right-click on the game's icon (shortcut) and click on "Properties" from the drop-down menu. Then go to the compatibility tab:



It should look something like this. Make sure "Disable Visual Themes", "Disable Desktop Composition" and "Run this program as an administrator" are selected. See if that helps. Also, make sure you have the latest compatibility patches / updates for Windows Vista, as well as the latest sound drivers.
gatekeeper6838 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2008, 11:49 AM   #7
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
I've had bad experiences using compatibility mode in XP namely game running slow. I'm not sure how it runs in Vista but I would say give it a shot!


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2008, 01:22 PM   #8
hhunter6
Rookie
 
hhunter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 225
you know i tried this and i couldn't get the music to work on MOTS either. i'd have to check and see if i have the same problem with JK. i can get it to play with media player but other than that i couldn't get it to work on its own
hhunter6 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2008, 03:10 PM   #9
jedimike2234
Rookie
 
jedimike2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lost in the Rain forest on Yavin 4
Posts: 144
i have the same problem but,with jk the music plays and loops up to a certain point,say 10 or 12 minutes ,after that the music stops.with mots,it only plays once or twice and thats all she wrote.and i have both games in compatbility mode running in vista.with jk i just load up a save game and the music continues,i cant say the same for mots.
jedimike2234 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2008, 06:04 PM   #10
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
I am not positive on how to fix this... it is a strange problem cause it does not happen to me at all... both my JK and MotS work flawlessly

I will do some research and try and find a fix for you guys...

in the mean time try getting the unoffical patch for JK and MotS over at www.jkhub.net and see if that helps... go under Projects in the top corner and look for Unofficial Patches or something like that its by ZeqMacaw, the unofficial patches fix a lot of things for JK and MotS like texture limits ect ect. See if that helps... if that does not I will keep looking for a fix

cheers


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2008, 09:41 AM   #11
hhunter6
Rookie
 
hhunter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 225
i have both patches installed already, and i have been using the JK enhanced for Both JK and MOTS. We've talked before Cougar. once i get a net connection at home i'm gonna head over to your site to play some old School JK matches

Last edited by hhunter6; 03-27-2008 at 10:55 AM.
hhunter6 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2008, 11:43 AM   #12
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhunter6
i have both patches installed already, and i have been using the JK enhanced for Both JK and MOTS. We've talked before Cougar. once i get a net connection at home i'm gonna head over to your site to play some old School JK matches
heh I remember you

make sure you go to our new site in my signature


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2008, 12:53 PM   #13
hhunter6
Rookie
 
hhunter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKLE_Cougar
heh I remember you

make sure you go to our new site in my signature

figured you would. lol i will don't worry.
hhunter6 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2008, 03:16 PM   #14
hhunter6
Rookie
 
hhunter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 225
any luck on why the music doesn't play? no rush though. just thought i'd ask
hhunter6 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > Music in JK and MOTS won't work

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.