lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Bump map in ATI graphics - help!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-14-2011, 03:21 PM   #1
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"
Rookie
 
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 76
Current Game: HALO
Bump map in ATI graphics - help!

i got an ati graphic card so i cant play RC with high bump map quality! can this be fixed?
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro" is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2011, 08:55 PM   #2
Mandalorian Mercenary
Rookie
 
Mandalorian Mercenary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lusby, MD
Posts: 226
Can't you just lower it? You may have to get a different graphics card..i dunno.




"If at first you don't succeed, hire a mercenary to do the job for you. At least they'll get it done right."
Mandalorian Mercenary is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2011, 04:19 AM   #3
michonicle
Rookie
 
michonicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Haddington, Scotland
Posts: 90
Current Game: RC, COD 6, war stuff
Yeah you need a new graphics card. But most people I know have to lower it down.




"Par Ijaat, Par Kote, Par Kyr'am
For Honor, For Glory, For Death" -DS_Sgt_Michonicle, Leader of Rep Com Section
michonicle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2011, 11:22 AM   #4
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"
Rookie
 
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 76
Current Game: HALO
soo and here's the problem! i got a labtop!
and i want to play RC with high graphic!! i got a laptop which can play COD6 WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS!
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro" is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2011, 02:22 PM   #5
RC-3556
Rookie
 
RC-3556's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bucks, England
Posts: 96
Current Game: Fallout New Vegas
What card? I think I may be in the same boat as you.

RC-3556 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2011, 06:22 PM   #6
Ulmont
Junior Member
 
Ulmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Earth (Fight for her)
Posts: 383
Current Game: Natural Selection 2
Veteran Fan Artist Veteran Modder Helpful! 
As far as I can tell, the problems with RC stem from the weird coding of the totally busted engine LucasArts used. My suggestion would be either getting another graphics card (an NVidia Gee-force 9800 GTX + will work [though it has issues with UnrealEd]), or just running it on med/low bumpmapping.



Ulmont is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2011, 08:24 AM   #7
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"
Rookie
 
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 76
Current Game: HALO
repeat: i got a labtop! cant change gaphic card! also i cant play the battlefield games! WHYYYYY!
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro" is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2011, 01:21 PM   #8
Mandalorian Mercenary
Rookie
 
Mandalorian Mercenary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lusby, MD
Posts: 226
not much you can do then, cept for getting a new labtop.. sorry ner vod :/




"If at first you don't succeed, hire a mercenary to do the job for you. At least they'll get it done right."
Mandalorian Mercenary is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2011, 02:23 PM   #9
HockeyGoalie35
The New Leader
 
HockeyGoalie35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 553
Current Game: DJ Starscream
Veteran Modder Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
yea, get one with an Nvidia interface. its weird, i have a 7 year old laptop that runs high bumpmapping just fine. but with my card, i cant run unrealed on high or medium bumpmapping....it seems that the older cards worked the best




Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyGoalie35 View Post
I wish I had some Combustable Lemons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by =purifier View Post
Granted, but you accidently get blown up with that lemony smell and the
Pine-Sol woman appears out of nowhere and says: "That's the power of Pine-Sol, baby. "
HockeyGoalie35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2011, 03:01 PM   #10
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"
Rookie
 
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 76
Current Game: HALO
get a new one? i got this one last august! and a also got an old one! win XP! 8 yeares old! but bump map runs perfect! but here i can play it on better graphic!
Delta RC-2235 "Cyro" is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2011, 12:18 PM   #11
HockeyGoalie35
The New Leader
 
HockeyGoalie35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 553
Current Game: DJ Starscream
Veteran Modder Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
like i said........the older cards run bumpmapping fine. the new ones? not so much.




Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyGoalie35 View Post
I wish I had some Combustable Lemons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by =purifier View Post
Granted, but you accidently get blown up with that lemony smell and the
Pine-Sol woman appears out of nowhere and says: "That's the power of Pine-Sol, baby. "
HockeyGoalie35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2011, 08:38 PM   #12
Mandalorian Mercenary
Rookie
 
Mandalorian Mercenary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lusby, MD
Posts: 226
to be honest, i don't think the graphic level really affects the look




"If at first you don't succeed, hire a mercenary to do the job for you. At least they'll get it done right."
Mandalorian Mercenary is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2011, 11:43 AM   #13
HockeyGoalie35
The New Leader
 
HockeyGoalie35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 553
Current Game: DJ Starscream
Veteran Modder Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
it does a litttle. the bumpmapping gives the HUD and objects a more 3-D look




Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyGoalie35 View Post
I wish I had some Combustable Lemons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by =purifier View Post
Granted, but you accidently get blown up with that lemony smell and the
Pine-Sol woman appears out of nowhere and says: "That's the power of Pine-Sol, baby. "
HockeyGoalie35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > RepublicCommando.Net > General Discussion > Squad Tech Support > Bump map in ATI graphics - help!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.