lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: OJP on New PC with Vista or no?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-13-2008, 01:59 AM   #1
Quijohn
Rookie
 
Quijohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Question OJP on New PC with Vista or no?

Hey guys,
I'm looking at getting a new pc and want something that will run OJP with the best graphics and fps possible. Should I be looking at something used with Windows XP? Are older graphics cards gonna work better? I guess I'm just wondering about JKA being an older game and running well with Vista/newer Video Cards. I've been reading forums that have complaints about Vista with JKA. I plan to run a server like Hoc's and give new comers tips on the saber system.(not that I'm super good or anything, just love the saber system) Any tips or suggestions would be much appreciated.
Quijohn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2008, 01:37 PM   #2
Mikouen
Rookie
 
Mikouen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England, UK
Posts: 116
I have no problems with Vista at all.

Mod compatibility is pretty much irrelevant, if the game runs then the mods also will run (so long as you don't try using a mod compiled for Linux on Windows, or anything daft like that).

So you'll have no problems with Vista 32-bit.

As for graphics cards, I have an 8-Series GeForce and it runs JA flawlessly, so again, you won't have too much of an issue there.
Mikouen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2008, 01:38 PM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
I don't know. I haven't tried OJP on Vista.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2008, 08:57 PM   #4
Quijohn
Rookie
 
Quijohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Well I got the new pc. It has vista 32 bit and i have it running ojp. I'm running the same server that I was on my old computer "OJP Saber Practice Server". If anyone is playing, please join my server for a minute just to see if it's working. I've had a couple guys try and they couldn't for some reason. I just want to make sure it's not an issue with the new pc or Vista.
Quijohn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2008, 05:52 AM   #5
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Quijohn who forget to disable he own firewall; shameful quijohn

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > OJP on New PC with Vista or no?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.