lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Why can't I get this to spawn?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-04-2009, 07:19 PM   #1
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
Why can't I get this to spawn?

I'm a first time scripter, so thanks to who ever helps me here ahead of time.

I've managed to get the following script compiled, but I can't get the monument to spawn. I want it to appear in the left hand small room right before you get to the Evil Kiria vision.

Is there something I'm missing, like a trigger or should I be using a different set of scripts entirely for what i want to do?

Code:
void main()
{
float x=56.25f;
float y=4.07f;
float z=9.88f;
float r=0.0f;
vector MyVec=Vector(x,y,z);
location MyLoc=Location(MyVec,0.0);
object osithmonument=CreateObject(OBJECT_TYPE_PLACEABLE,"sithmonument05",MyLoc);

CreateItemOnObject("g_i_lan1", osithmonument);
CreateItemOnObject("w_rocket_m", osithmonument, 10);
}
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2009, 08:57 PM   #2
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Code looks fine to me. What are you using to trigger the script? A conversation? Or do you want the monument to be spawned as soon as you enter the room?

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2009, 10:43 PM   #3
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
Soon as i enter the room would be my preferred method, or spawned when I unlock the nearest door.
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2009, 12:44 PM   #4
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
You can spawn it after unlocking the nearest door by putting the script into the OnOpen field of the door. Locate the door that you are using with KT, open the .utd file and click the Scripts tab. Type the name of your compiled script into the OnOpen field and save the file into your Override folder.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2009, 09:59 PM   #5
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
Ok, I checked out the door like you suggested, and there's already something in the OnOpen slot:
Code:
tr_pc_god
Now can I add another script trigger, is this junk code I can remove, or what?
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2009, 12:47 AM   #6
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Code:
void main() {
float x=56.25f;
float y=4.07f;
float z=9.88f;
float r=0.0f;
vector MyVec=Vector(x,y,z);
location MyLoc=Location(MyVec,0.0);
object osithmonument=CreateObject(OBJECT_TYPE_PLACEABLE,"sithmonument05",MyLoc);

CreateItemOnObject("g_i_lan1", osithmonument);
CreateItemOnObject("w_rocket_m", osithmonument, 10);
ExecuteScript("tr_pc_god", OBJECT_SELF);
}
Try this script version. Compile it and replace the tr_pc_god script with whatever you call this script.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2009, 02:04 PM   #7
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
It's spawning now. Sort of. It's currently invisible for some reason.

I had managed to get it to spawn as rubble after fixing a mistype between the script and the utp name/information. Now it's indivisible and not showing the "hey something's here" blue circle like it had as rubble.

Last edited by Darth Cryptic; 04-06-2009 at 03:32 PM. Reason: Updated to reflect change in status without makeing a new post
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2009, 04:14 PM   #8
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
But is it actually there? As in, you try to walk over it, and it blocks your path?

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2009, 05:10 PM   #9
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
Yeah it's there, walked right into it.
Cleaned up the utp a little more and I can now get the "use saber, security, blow it up" indicator, but the monument itself is still invisible.

Saber and blowing it up works at opening it, but the security/use tunnerler seem to be set way high so I couldn't get it open that way.
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2009, 03:57 PM   #10
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
I made an adjustment to where my monument is supposed to appear, and I'm getting nothing now. No resistance where it's supposed to be, just a blue bar that when you click it it says Locked. No saber/Security/Blow it up option any more.

Here are images if what's happening:

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m...yptic/K200.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m...yptic/K201.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m...yptic/K202.jpg


and an image if what i want spawning. This was one spawned in the Jedi Temple mod:
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m...yptic/K203.jpg

And apparently I don't know how to work the Spoiler feature.

Last edited by Darth Cryptic; 04-11-2009 at 04:03 PM.
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Why can't I get this to spawn?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.