lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: K1 - Trouble making a new Party Member
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-09-2009, 08:10 AM   #1
ReLiK
Lurker
 
ReLiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
K1 - Trouble making a new Party Member

Hi everybody, I've been working on my first mod and I have encountered a problem.

I decided to make a custom recruitable party member and I used an already existing skin I found on Filefront, the darth Maul skin. It uses the PMHA03 skin but I didn't want it to replace a character skin but just add him as a new non playable character. So I added an entry to appearance.2da to heads.2da and to portrait.2da. I renamed the PMHA03.tga, PMHA03.mdl and PMHA03.mdx files to the name of the value I put in the 2da files. Then I created a utc file that links back to the appearance.2da file. That being done and after having added a little dialog I inserted the character into a map. Then I tried it out and found out I have a nice little problem going on

Here it is :
Screenshot
And here are the files I used :
Source Files

Thank you for having taken the time to read this.

ReLiK.

Edit : Sorry I've posted in the wrong subforum, I guess this should go to Holowan's Laboratories.

Moved it for ya - Cz

Last edited by ChAiNz.2da; 04-09-2009 at 09:23 AM. Reason: moved thread
ReLiK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2009, 09:27 PM   #2
ReLiK
Lurker
 
ReLiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Hum I can't edit my post so I hope this will not be considered has bumping.

I've solved the graphic issue but now the texture won't appear on the NPC, in stead of it it's still the regular PMHA03 skin. I have edited the rar file above with the new files, if somebody could check where my mistake is or clarify how the textures are links to the models I would be really gratefull.

I'll go over the steps I think I understood. The utc links the npc to the appearance.2da so I choose 509 my new NPC's number. I link that one to 107 in the heads.2da file. 107 is the new NPC head entry I added. In all of these files I used my targa file as name PAlethH. I really don't understand why the skin won't link to the model.

Thanks.
ReLiK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2009, 04:52 AM   #3
Darth Novotnus
Rookie
 
Darth Novotnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 64
Current Game: TSL
I think you should read Darth InSidious tutorial here: http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=175101
Also, if you use skin from FF, did you ask the author?
Darth Novotnus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2009, 09:21 AM   #4
ReLiK
Lurker
 
ReLiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks I'll read this tutorial I hadn't found it before. Otherwise I will ask the author If I share the module, for now it's basicly to practice and for myself I haven't planned to put it online or anything and the skin which is the only part I took from the creator has been heavily modified but yeah I wouldn't put the mod on internet without his authorisation.

Thanks again

Edit : The tutorial treats about area retexturing I'm trying to associate a texture to a npc head but thanks.
ReLiK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2009, 03:10 PM   #5
Darth Novotnus
Rookie
 
Darth Novotnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 64
Current Game: TSL
Basicly it should go the same way - just two textures (head and body) and much less files to put into your mod.
Good luck, hope to play it soon : )
Darth Novotnus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2009, 06:33 AM   #6
ReLiK
Lurker
 
ReLiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply.

I still haven't found a way to change this head though I'm going to try again adding an underwear texture. I need a lot of files since there is the model files the skin files and I'm adding dialog and scripts, hard to think that's the easy part but that's the only one I'm not having trouble with I'll be trying some more random solution to get this skin to work
ReLiK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > K1 - Trouble making a new Party Member

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.