lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Modding
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-28-2008, 11:12 AM   #1
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 718
Modding

Now after reading some tutorials I am a bit confused if I want to put some TSL mods onto the Xbox do I just need an ethernet wire and the FTP program? Also has anyone found a way to burn extra files onto the game DVD and mod that way? If all you need isnt just an ethernet wire and FTP can I have a list of anything that I cant download that is needed to put mods onto the Xbox? For example games.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2008, 01:45 PM   #2
Da_man
CHEATER (Apparently)
 
Da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 1,173
Current Game: Team Fortress 2
While modding Pc games is legal, I'm not sure about modding console games. If Xbox Live catches you with modded content, it could "brick" your console.

Da_man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2008, 06:23 PM   #3
Da_Man_2423
Forumite
 
Da_Man_2423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 745
Current Game: NCAA Football 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_man View Post
While modding Pc games is legal, I'm not sure about modding console games. If Xbox Live catches you with modded content, it could "brick" your console.
I think the Xbox has only been designed to search for modded firmware on the console itself...not the games themselves.


Da_Man_2423 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2008, 06:59 PM   #4
Da_man
CHEATER (Apparently)
 
Da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 1,173
Current Game: Team Fortress 2
No, I thought it searches for stuff like that On Halo 2, to prevent cheating.

Da_man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2008, 08:19 PM   #5
Da_Man_2423
Forumite
 
Da_Man_2423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 745
Current Game: NCAA Football 10
I dunno...either way I know for sure it's a helluva lot harder to mod a console game than a PC one.


Da_Man_2423 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2008, 09:51 AM   #6
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 718
I know I cant use it on Xbox Live I dont plan on to either, But if I want to transfer TSL or K1 mods what exactly do I need, I havnt done anything to my Xbox yet so I just need to know if I will have to buy anything.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2008, 12:13 PM   #7
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,378
Just a heads up before you start, things like USM won't work.

The XBOX versions have a different model format.
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2008, 12:37 PM   #8
TriggerGod
Senior Member
 
TriggerGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hiding
Posts: 2,415
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Fett View Post
Just a heads up before you start, things like USM won't work.

The XBOX versions have a different model format.
I also heard that there is some kind of error in the XBox nwscript
TriggerGod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2008, 01:14 PM   #9
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos K View Post
But if I want to transfer TSL or K1 mods what exactly do I need
Mod Note: C'mon guys.. quoted above is the topic. Let's try answering that one before running off on tangents. - Cz

Have you tried the steps in the linked sites from here yet, Christos K?
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=166492


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2008, 06:21 AM   #10
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 718
Ok I watched a very good video on how to soft mod the Original Xbox now I have a question about a couple of mods, Does Shem's Super Enhanced Mod work for either K1 or TSL same for his Super Enhanced Sound mod I think its called. Now heres the last mod, I have read that new modules, locations almost always never work what about Exar Kun's Tomb? That mod doesnt use any new models, doesnt involve the Planet/Galaxy Map or anything and only adds and reskins a few items (Exar Kun's Robe, Exar Kun's Armor, etc.)


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.

Last edited by Christos K; 07-31-2008 at 06:28 AM.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2008, 10:22 AM   #11
jrrtoken
Senior Member
 
jrrtoken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,995
The only mods that I've done for the original Xbox have been hard-mods, as in modding the hardware, and not tampering with the firmware. I've added a ATA-100 replacing the sluggish ATA33 data transfer cable, which significantly speeds up loading. I've also increased the voltage on my fan to 12V, thus making it run faster and keeping my Box cooler. I've added a heatsink to the GPU to prevent overheating. As for soft-mods, good luck trying it. I've NEVER added a modchip, mainly due to the fact I don't want to seriously screw up my system, but if you really want to try mods in any of the KotORs, good luck.
jrrtoken is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2008, 10:21 AM   #12
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 718
Some specific mods that I would like to transfer are Shem's Super Enhanced Mod and Ultimate Sound Mod. Will things I edit myself like Skills, Feats, and Powers per level work?


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > Ebon Hawk's Machine Room > Modding

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.