lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Skip Splash Screens?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-13-2009, 02:13 PM   #1
scottyoung
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Skip Splash Screens?

Anyone know if there's a way (PC version) to skip the splash screens when loading the game? Maybe a config file somewhere to tweak? I'm tired of being forced to sit through the splash screens each time I load it up. Wouldn't be so bad if I could skip them...
scottyoung is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2009, 02:28 PM   #2
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
I found a "No Intro Fix" on another site (one I wouldn't link to) and uploaded it here. It is untested, but it is just a series of bik files (meant to replace the existing video files I presume) and should be self explanatory:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=218BNETZ


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2009, 06:25 PM   #3
jolly28
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurgan View Post
I found a "No Intro Fix" on another site (one I wouldn't link to) and uploaded it here. It is untested, but it is just a series of bik files (meant to replace the existing video files I presume) and should be self explanatory:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=218BNETZ
The Link doesn't work :-(


Display Unit
Philips 37" 37PFL9604H LCD

PC System
Antec 900 Gaming Case
w/ Antec Big-Boy 200 Top Fan + 3x TriCool 120mm TriColor Fans
Jeantech Artic 600W PSU
ASUS P5QL-E Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16ghz CPU
XFX ATI Radeon HD 4870 1GB GPU
Corsair TwinX XMS2 DDR2 800mhz 4GB Memory RAM
Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 1TB HD
Sony BDU-X10S Blu-Ray Drive
NZXT Sentry LX Fan Controller
Vista Home Premium x64


Other Gaming Systems
The Wii
Sony PS3 40GB Model w/ 250GB HD Storage
jolly28 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2009, 06:54 PM   #4
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Looks like it was taken down, sorry. I would suggest googling it. Because it was originally found on a site that included hacks that violate the game's liscense, I can't link to it directly without breaking the forum rules.

I don't have an ethical problem with this file as it's not designed to promote piracy in any way, just to make playing the game more convenient with regard to the intro. You'll just have to find it on your own. Suffice to say it is possible.

Please note that as with all hacks, it might do damage to your system and is not supported by Aspyr or Lucasarts, but supposedly it has helped some people. If there is an "official" way to do this, I don't know about it.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2009, 01:59 PM   #5
teleguy
Senior Member
 
teleguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,198
http://jump.fm/WNCJS

Copy the files to
Program Files (x86)\Activision\Star Wars The Force Unleashed\FMV.

You might also want to make a backup of the files that are being replaced.
teleguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2009, 07:34 PM   #6
jolly28
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Many Thanks teleguy.

I also used the Aspyr screen to by-pass many cut scene intros to levels, as I wanted to just get straight into the action, kept the originals as a back-up though ;-)


Display Unit
Philips 37" 37PFL9604H LCD

PC System
Antec 900 Gaming Case
w/ Antec Big-Boy 200 Top Fan + 3x TriCool 120mm TriColor Fans
Jeantech Artic 600W PSU
ASUS P5QL-E Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16ghz CPU
XFX ATI Radeon HD 4870 1GB GPU
Corsair TwinX XMS2 DDR2 800mhz 4GB Memory RAM
Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 1TB HD
Sony BDU-X10S Blu-Ray Drive
NZXT Sentry LX Fan Controller
Vista Home Premium x64


Other Gaming Systems
The Wii
Sony PS3 40GB Model w/ 250GB HD Storage
jolly28 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Force Unleashed > General > The Secret Apprentice's Logs > Skip Splash Screens?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.