lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: JK3 Bones to JK2
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-22-2009, 02:05 PM   #1
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
JK3 Bones to JK2

Got a model fully weighed for JA. Thank's for the tuts on your site Psyk0

Wondering now how would I go about changing the few minor bone differences from JA to JK2. That way my model is usable in both JK2 and JA.
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2009, 05:04 PM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
-You could probably get away with your current setup, however, you will need to rename "lhang_tag_bone" to "lhand_tag_bone"

-It's possible the mc5 bone prevents compiling if it's missing.

-The bones that were removed from the old JO skeleton are fingers and "feet" joints, honestly it shouldnt make a difference, no one cares if the toes and remaining fingers are bending or not .

Give it a shot and see what happens, carcass will give you error messages to help troubleshoot.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2009, 12:34 AM   #3
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Says it can't find bone lhand_tag_bone after I change it's name. Be easier weighting with the JO skeleton. Do you know where I can get my hands on it by any chance?
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2009, 01:37 PM   #4
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Are you recompiling with the Jedi Outcast GLA? If you aren't, it won't work...

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2009, 10:53 PM   #5
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
I tired both .gla's actually. I might have done something wrong. Reweigh the entire model and try again.
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2009, 10:56 AM   #6
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
No need to reweight...the "lhand_tag" is not deforming any vertices, but it is still added to the bones list, remove any verts that are influenced by it.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2009, 11:27 PM   #7
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
What do you mean by remove any verts influenced by it, exactly? Think a picture works best. I move the bone the left hand moves with it.

ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2009, 09:43 AM   #8
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
When you pick the lhand_tag bone from the skin modifier list, there shouldnt be any colored verts showing up. To be sure, select all of the verts of the hand and change their weights to 0 (for that bone only!).

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2009, 07:18 PM   #9
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
None of the verts are colored or selected by that bone in anyway shape or form.
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2009, 09:43 PM   #10
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Strange, i can take a look at the max file if you want, psykopat(at)geocities.com.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2009, 09:45 PM   #11
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Alrighty sounds good, send it right to you.

Sent.
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2009, 12:40 PM   #12
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Check your e-mail.

Fixed. Since i dont have Jedi Outcast anymore i cant test it in-game, it worked fine in modview tho.

Problem 1: You didnt rename the bone (at least not in the file you sent)
Problem 2: The bone is not in the skin modifier list.
Problem 3: There is a tag weighted to it.

The skeleton was meant for Jedi Academy and the MC5 bone was removed, so i had to reweight the hand_tag to the hand bone when JO seemed to work with MC5. This could mess up the force powers / saber movements. Take it for a spin and see if any problems happen.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2009, 02:17 AM   #13
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Yup got it. Thanks for all the help.

Tinkered around with another model see if I could do it myself, figured it all out. Thanks again.
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2009, 11:15 AM   #14
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Awesome, glad i could help .

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Modeling > JK3 Bones to JK2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.