lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Installing TPM on Windows 7 :(
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-05-2014, 09:34 AM   #1
florida
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Installing TPM on Windows 7 :(

Hi guys

Anyone know how to install the game on Windows 7?

When I try to install, it says it's not compatible with my version of windows (64 bit).

I've tried running setup.exe in compatibility mode but it makes no difference.

Really wanting to play this legendary game again!

Thanks in advance guys
florida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2014, 11:14 AM   #2
Alexrd
Senior Member
 
Alexrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,095
Current Game: Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3 HD
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by florida View Post
Hi guys

Anyone know how to install the game on Windows 7?

When I try to install, it says it's not compatible with my version of windows (64 bit).

I've tried running setup.exe in compatibility mode but it makes no difference.

Really wanting to play this legendary game again!

Thanks in advance guys
You need to install it on a 32-bit machine (if you have XP Mode on your version of Windows 7, do it there). Then copy the game folder to your main OS and play the game.



Star Wars: In Concert - Lisbon - Some pictures of the exhibition accompanying the event.
Alexrd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2014, 11:32 AM   #3
florida
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrd View Post
You need to install it on a 32-bit machine (if you have XP Mode on your version of Windows 7, do it there). Then copy the game folder to your main OS and play the game.
Thanks for the reply - great to know there are still people round here!

Unfortunately I don't have another machine to install onto
florida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2014, 04:56 PM   #4
Alexrd
Senior Member
 
Alexrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,095
Current Game: Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3 HD
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by florida View Post
Thanks for the reply - great to know there are still people round here!

Unfortunately I don't have another machine to install onto
Don't you have XP Mode on Windows 7?



Star Wars: In Concert - Lisbon - Some pictures of the exhibition accompanying the event.
Alexrd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2014, 08:58 AM   #5
florida
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrd View Post
Don't you have XP Mode on Windows 7?
I have Windows 7 Home Premium which allows you to run Windows Virtual PC but does not allow the XP mode, which is incredibly frustrating!

Spent hours trying to find a solution but I can't seem to get anywhere. Are the installed files available for download anywhere?
florida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2014, 03:41 PM   #6
florida
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Managed to do it!

Downloaded Windows Virtual PC 2007 and ran windows 98 off that and installed it there.

So happy it worked! Looking forward to playing and posting some screen shots!
florida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2014, 06:22 PM   #7
florida
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Edited: sorted!

Managed to install on a virtual machine and copy the files to my hard drive. I've updated the registry as suggested on other websites.

If anyone else is trying to install on windows 7, open the obi.ini file and add the following:

screen_width=1280
screen_height=1024
max_menu_Width=1280
max_menu_Height=1024

Worked like a charm!

Last edited by florida; 04-07-2014 at 06:36 AM.
florida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2014, 04:41 PM   #8
Alexrd
Senior Member
 
Alexrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,095
Current Game: Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3 HD
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by florida View Post
Edited: sorted!

Managed to install on a virtual machine and copy the files to my hard drive. I've updated the registry as suggested on other websites.

If anyone else is trying to install on windows 7, open the obi.ini file and add the following:

screen_width=1280
screen_height=1024
max_menu_Width=1280
max_menu_Height=1024

Worked like a charm!
Glad you got it working. I guess there's no need to send you the folder now.

By the way, do shadows work?



Star Wars: In Concert - Lisbon - Some pictures of the exhibition accompanying the event.
Alexrd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2014, 03:07 PM   #9
florida
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrd View Post
Glad you got it working. I guess there's no need to send you the folder now.

By the way, do shadows work?
Yes, works with all graphics options on and set to highest resolution with no problems.
florida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2014, 03:47 PM   #10
Alexrd
Senior Member
 
Alexrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,095
Current Game: Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3 HD
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Hmm, somehow I'm unable to get shadows and laser marks on walls, even though they are activated...



Star Wars: In Concert - Lisbon - Some pictures of the exhibition accompanying the event.
Alexrd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2014, 12:33 PM   #11
KJ9
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
HI @Florida. It's great to see a new poster around here. Think of me as basically the supreme master of this game; there are so many things that I have found in the game that surpass Master Qui-Gon's discoveries.

I'm glad you got it working but there is also a program developed to make it work on 64 bit. I gave a copy to Alexrd as well, but I guess you no longer need it.

Have you discovered any glitches/neat things in the game florida? I'd like to know because it is always possible you may have discovered something that even I have not. Thanks, and glad to have you here.
KJ9 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2014, 03:17 PM   #12
Alexrd
Senior Member
 
Alexrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,095
Current Game: Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3 HD
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ9 View Post
I'm glad you got it working but there is also a program developed to make it work on 64 bit. I gave a copy to Alexrd as well, but I guess you no longer need it.
From what I recall, the RAR you sent me was the game folder, right?



Star Wars: In Concert - Lisbon - Some pictures of the exhibition accompanying the event.
Alexrd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > Episode I: The Phantom Menace > Installing TPM on Windows 7 :(

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.