lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Modfy Indiana Jones the Last Crusade Adventure game
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-30-2010, 03:24 AM   #1
kenand
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 51
Modify Indiana Jones the Last Crusade Adventure game

I would like to translate old Indiana Jones the Last Crusade adventure game.

I would like to modify room images also.
I used scummtr and I saw room images in bm format.

I found a great tool: Lucasripper. I can save all in-game room images to GIF, BMP or PNG. That I can modify them. But how can I convert back modified images files to bm format?

Or is there any tool to edit bm files?

Last edited by kenand; 11-30-2010 at 05:35 AM.
kenand is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2010, 02:16 PM   #2
Krasas
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 22
Current Game: Tales of MI
Yes, I've used this tool BMRP that Hibernatus links to in his post here:
http://www.abandonware-forums.org/sh...wns-Loom-Towns

You can use it for rooms(backgrounds) and objects for export and import. The post states that the tool needs the BM HD PA files for a room background and the files OI OC PA for an object.

My "technique" was:
1) extract all game files in a dumpingtmp folder by running scummrp:
scummrp.exe -ogpd indy3vga . dumpingtmp/
2) find the rooms/objects I wanted to change.
e.g: Extract a room image:
BMRP.EXE -d:dumpingtmp/LF_0064/RO/
e.g: Extract an object image:
BMRP.EXE -d:dumpingtmp/LF_0079/RO/ -o:0851

3) After editing the extracted BMP image (make sure you kept the pallete intact) you have to repack it back:
e.g for a room image
BMRP.EXE -c:dumpingtmp/LF_0064/RO/
e.g for an object
BMRP.EXE -c:dumpingtmp/LF_0079/RO/ -o:0851

4) repack the files into the game archived files:
scummrp.exe -igpd indy3vga . dumpingtmp/

5) I think you must reload your translation (if any) after this, because it gets reset by the repacking.

Keep in mind that you should often take backups before you screw something and you are not able to fix it later on or find the cause of an error.

This worked for me flawlessly for the greek translation of the VGA and FMTowns versions of Indy 3 (not EGA though). At least I don't remember any problems, since this was finished a few years ago.
Krasas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2010, 03:34 AM   #3
kenand
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 51
Thank you very much your help.
kenand is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Community Discussion Forums > SCUMM > Modfy Indiana Jones the Last Crusade Adventure game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.