lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Character Start Up Changes
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-16-2010, 07:37 PM   #1
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Character Start Up Changes

This is a small and hardly taxing mod, however it has fixed a couple of things which bugged me with the original KotOR. It basically allows you to freely select the number of feats you get at startup instead of having them chosen for you bar 1. It also makes Perusade a class skill seeing as the PC is the only member of your party who can use it. See the screenie and then readme for more details...



Quote:
Originally Posted by Readme
AUTHOR: jonathan7
EMAIL: Message me via lucas forums user name is jonathan7
NAME: Character Start Up Changes
CREDITS: Fred Tetra for the wonderful KotOR tool, all at Lucas Forums for the various Tutrials and Stoffe for TSLpatcher.

FILENAME: Character Start Up Changes
FILE SIZE: 725kb unzipped
DATE RELEASED: 12/12/2010

DESCRIPTION: This essentially changes the starting feats for the three classes and makes pretty much all the feats availible for the player to select for their individual PC. Personally it always bugged me that often my PC would end up with quite a few useless feats that she did not need. So what this does is delete all the preset feats for the classes and give you free selectable ones, the Soldiers have the most, then Scouts then Scoundrels; you have the same ammounts of feats as in the vanilla game but you are free to choose what you want. I think this does improve the RPG aspect of the game, be warned however to make sure you specialise in either melee weapons or some form of blaster, otherwise you won't be doing much in combat! The mod also changes Persuade into a class skill, so it's availible to all three classes, always struck me as silly that Bioware didn't do this, as the PC is the only charachter who can actually use Persuade, seemed unfair only one of the classes got it; but maybe thats just me. A couple of pre-set feats remain; for the Scout the Implant Feat 1, because the scount automatically gets them as the PC is leveled up. The scoundrel keeps Scoundrels luck for obvious reasons, not that its a selectable feat, but things like that and "uncanny dodge" I have left alone.

INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS:"Extract from the zip and then run the installer, simple enough!

COMMENTS: Enjoy!

BUGS: Should be none, may well require a little work to make compatible with other mods which edit these .2da's - Shem's extra feat mod spring to mind, but to be honest if you have that, then I don't see why your installing this :-p

PERMISSIONS: PM me at LF to discuss useage.This Mod should only be found at KotOR Files and
Lucas Files, please contact me if hosted elsewhere!

THIS MODIFICATION IS PROVIDED AS-IS AND IS NOT SUPPORTED BY BIOWARE/OBSIDIAN ENTERTAINMENT
OR LUCASARTS OR ANY LICENSERS/SPONSORS OF THE MENTIONED COMPANIES. USE OF THIS FILE IS AT
YOUR OWN RISK AND THE ABOVE MENTIONED COMPANIES OR THE AUTHOR IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY
DAMAGE CAUSED TO YOUR COMPUTER FOR THE USAGE OF THIS FILE.
Download Link



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran

Last edited by jonathan7; 10-26-2013 at 10:16 PM. Reason: Updated Download Links
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2010, 10:48 PM   #2
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
DL'd!

I think this is a great idea, and frankly didn't know that it was possible!

Wonderful job, thank you Will go great with my freshly installed KotOR.

Cannot recall if TSL would benefit from this type of mod or not...


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2010, 07:09 AM   #3
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qui-Gon Glenn View Post
DL'd!

I think this is a great idea, and frankly didn't know that it was possible!

Wonderful job, thank you Will go great with my freshly installed KotOR.

Cannot recall if TSL would benefit from this type of mod or not...
Thanks Glenn, I was quite suprised no-one had done it, initially I was just looking for a mod that did the above but couldn't find one. It wasn't actually a hard change just playing with a couple of .2da files. I don't think TSL would benefit in the same way, partly as you start off as a Jedi anyway, but I could certainly look into it!



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2010, 12:54 PM   #4
Rinku
kad'la tracinya be abiik
 
Rinku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Modified YT-1930
Posts: 785
Current Game: SWBF, Pokemon SS
Great idea J7 definite download & a permanent spot in override .





Rinku is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2010, 02:32 PM   #5
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,415
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Just a quick, rather silly clarification: if I wanted to use just the class-skill portion of this mod, all I'd have to use would be the skills.2da and newskills.2da files, correct?
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2010, 02:38 PM   #6
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doctor View Post
Just a quick, rather silly clarification: if I wanted to use just the class-skill portion of this mod, all I'd have to use would be the skills.2da and newskills.2da files, correct?
Yeah that's all you would need!



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2010, 03:49 PM   #7
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,415
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Very awesome. Thank you very much, J7.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2011, 06:26 PM   #8
Nynaeve_Onasi
Rookie
 
Nynaeve_Onasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salem, MO (USA)
Posts: 25
Current Game: KOTOR I & II
Jonathon7 - just wanted to say thanks! I've been wishing for something like this, any chance of one for KOTOR 2?
Nynaeve_Onasi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2011, 12:30 AM   #9
Acleacius
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 159
This looks great thanks!

One question, I checked your readme first. Would I have to start a new game to get the Freed up Feats? The reason being, I'm mid game and it would be easier to use KSE to fix my current PC, then benefit from your new mod.


Thanks for any tips.
Acleacius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2011, 03:37 AM   #10
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acleacius View Post
Would I have to start a new game to get the Freed up Feats?

Thanks for any tips.
Yes. Once the game has started, you have the feats you started with. Only works on a new game, sorry!


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2011, 12:31 PM   #11
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
A great idea, indeed... A K2 version would be appreciated


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2011, 12:38 PM   #12
JediExile
Rookie
 
JediExile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 79
Current Game: Mass Effect 3
Great idea! I didn't like how I'd get feats and would never use them.



Revenge of Revan || Deadly Streams || Follow me on Twitter!


"Hey! You talk to her with a bit of respect in your voice or you'll end this conversation minus a few teeth! Got it?" -Carth Onasi
"Are you an angel? Aw, I'm just kidding. That's the worst line I've ever used. Hope some poor kid doesn't start using it." -Atton Rand


JediExile is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2011, 07:29 PM   #13
GeorgNihilus
Forumite
 
GeorgNihilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 600
Current Game: Skyrim
Wink A must have IMO ...

A much needed mod J7! besides the fact that you need to choose the Weapon Proficiency Melee Weapons and Weapon Prof. Blaster Pistol almost forcibly to fight your way through the Endar Spire; you can choose whatever you want with this. Amazing ...

thanks a lot dude!


TSL Mods
Nar Shaddaa hidden complex http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef..._Complex;91257
Mandalorian camo Armors in-game http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204159
Telos polar plateau sidequest 1.2 http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202436

KotOR Mods
A lost sith in a nameless world http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...ss_World;96040
GeorgNihilus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2011, 08:20 PM   #14
.:Lord Revan:.
Junior Member
 
.:Lord Revan:.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Somewhere :D
Posts: 413
Current Game: MW3
Very nice idea J7. Looking forward for one for TSL
.:Lord Revan:. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2011, 06:18 AM   #15
Slayer93
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 26
Very nice

But I can't use the installer because I'm running the xbox versions... can't I install this manually into the override directory or does the installer need to patch other files to look at your new files and hence I won't be able to use this? Unless of course you supplied the patched files ;-)

cheers
Slayer93 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-21-2011, 08:50 PM   #16
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer93 View Post
Very nice

But I can't use the installer because I'm running the xbox versions... can't I install this manually into the override directory or does the installer need to patch other files to look at your new files and hence I won't be able to use this? Unless of course you supplied the patched files ;-)

cheers
I have no idea about modding or installing on Xbox games, I'm affraid, however all the files needed are found in "tslpatcher" folder, you will need to put the variations of newexample.2da into whatever file they go in, but you will need to remove the "new" from the start. Hope that helps!



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2013, 05:43 PM   #17
Kamilos192
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Welcome, can someone reupload this mod/send pm with this mod?

I have troubles downloading it from filefront.
Kamilos192 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2013, 10:12 PM   #18
scramjetbooster
Rookie
 
scramjetbooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tropical island paradise, yay!
Posts: 77
Just a quick tip for people who have trouble downloading from filefront/gamefront site:

Can't download mods from jkofilefront file not found
Go straight to post #10 and #18.


scramjetbooster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2013, 05:02 PM   #19
Morganna_Onasi
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Wow, this mod just fixed one of the few things I've always disliked about the game! Thnx Jonathon!!
Morganna_Onasi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Taris Upper City Emporium > Character Start Up Changes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:05 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.