lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Small Movies and Cut Scenes
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-07-2011, 02:54 AM   #1
Bassoonist
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Small Movies and Cut Scenes

I just downloaded this game from Steam. Even though I have a wide-screen monitor, I can live with the two black bars on the side. What drives me crazy is that the movies are tiny little rectangles on my screen. Anyone know a way to fix this?

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=9/6/2011 11:52:12 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\swkotor\

[OS]
Name=Win9x
Version=Windows 9X v6.1 build 7601 Service Pack 1
Service Pack=None
Status=Fail

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=3059
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=7
CPUStepping=10
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9900 @ 3.06GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=4096
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=141.38GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=4096
Desktop Resolution=0x0x0
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=3.3.0
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce GTX 260M/PCI/SSE2
NVidia Driver=(null)
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Fail
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=66
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=112
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
RefreshRate=60
Height=1200
Width=1600
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=8
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action265=52
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67
Bassoonist is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2011, 05:36 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Hi.

Try adding support for 640x480 as a custom resolution in your Nvidia driver control panel.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2012, 09:16 PM   #3
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,352
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Hey,

I have the same issue, and I think I have added the 640x480 resolutions to the Nvidia control panel.

Under Display -> Change Resolution -> Resolution (box containing list): under HD, SD I have 1080p, 640x480. Under PC I have 640x480, which were added by Customize and checking all the possible 640x480 options.

However, I still get the small movies. Am I missing something?

from my .ini

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=0
EnableScreenShot=1
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=0
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=0
Status Summary=0
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=0
EnableCheats=1

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=8
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1280
Height=1024


Thanks for any help you might have!

EDIT: Now it seems my lower res games scale and skew to my 1920x1080 native res, and no longer play at their proper aspect ratio with back bars. How do I turn off scaling?


Last edited by Prime; 01-29-2012 at 11:04 PM.
Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2012, 12:24 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Answered here (sort of).


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2012, 01:21 PM   #5
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,352
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Thanks, Q.

2) Your driver. In the Nvidia control panel, look for "Adjust desktop size and position" and try "No scaling". I think that "GPU" has to be selected under "Perform scaling on..." for this to work.

Currently, I do not have such an option available under that heading. Here is some additional info I posted in the Nvidia forums:

Recently whenever I played a game that had a lower resolution, it would display at that resolution surrounded by black bars. Everything was great. I had then tried to add 640x480 as a supported resolution by going to the Nvidia control panel -> Change Resolution -> 2. Apply the following settings -> clicking the "Customize" button and checking the boxes for each 640x480 setting. Later I undid those checks to remove them from the list in the box labeled "Resolution:".

However, now I noticed that the games that maintained their aspect ratio before now skew and stretch to display at the full 1920x1080.

I also do not have the option to select the type of scaling under "Adjust desktop size and postion", as it only has "2. When my desktop is displayed on my HDTV". I also noticed that while 640x480 is no longer in the "Resolution:" box, the 640x480 options are also no longer selectable from the "Customize" list.


From a couple of responses they suggested trying to set the res to a non-native one in the control panel, then reopen the control panel (or even reboot first) and that should make the option appear.

I will try that tonight and see what happens. Out of curiosity, what is really the difference between the "HD, SD" and "PC"? Is it simple the set of resolutions available? Why would Nvidia think my monitor is an HDTV and not a monitor? Possibly because my drivers are old?

Thanks for the help, as usual!

Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2012, 09:06 PM   #6
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,352
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Alright, based on your info I figured out I could change the aspect ratio on my monitor to 4:3, so old games are good and scaled to the height of the monitor.

I also played around a bit more with the Nvidia control panel, and it doesn't seem to let me select one of the PC options. When I do so it automatically switches to an equivalent resolution under HD, SD. As a result it still does not provide the option under Adjust desktop size and position to chnage the aspect ratio there. It appears it needs to be a "PC" resolution for that.

Do you know why it is so determined to be an HDTV?

Not that it really matters, just wondering. It has been so long since I bought a monitor, I'm used to everything being done through the video card/windows settings.

Thanks for the help once again, Q.

Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-31-2012, 01:58 AM   #7
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime View Post
Alright, based on your info I figured out I could change the aspect ratio on my monitor to 4:3, so old games are good and scaled to the height of the monitor.
This is exactly what I do with my monitor for older games that can't be hacked to widescreen. I do use widescreen mods whenever I can, though. You'd be amazed by how many there are, and most look awesome. I recommend that you use them whenever possible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime
I also played around a bit more with the Nvidia control panel, and it doesn't seem to let me select one of the PC options. When I do so it automatically switches to an equivalent resolution under HD, SD. As a result it still does not provide the option under Adjust desktop size and position to chnage the aspect ratio there. It appears it needs to be a "PC" resolution for that.

Do you know why it is so determined to be an HDTV?

Not that it really matters, just wondering. It has been so long since I bought a monitor, I'm used to everything being done through the video card/windows settings.
Because your monitor is 1920x1080, which is an HDTV resolution. It's weird that the PC resolutions that your monitor could accommodate aren't available, though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime
Thanks for the help once again, Q.
You're welcome.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-31-2012, 09:29 PM   #8
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,352
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
This is exactly what I do with my monitor for older games that can't be hacked to widescreen. I do use widescreen mods whenever I can, though. You'd be amazed by how many there are, and most look awesome. I recommend that you use them whenever possible.
I've been reading up on the KOTOR widescreen hacks. I can't seem to get the UniWS patcher to work for me even though I am ver 1.03, so I am looking at doing it manually. I am assuming TSL resolutions can be moded with a hex editor similar to the way as this: http://widescreengamingforum.com/dr/...s-old-republic ?

Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2012, 12:44 AM   #9
Extreme110
Lurker
 
Extreme110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 7
Current Game: SWKotORII:TSL
Sorry if I re-opened a dead topic, but wouldn't it work if you just download all the HQ Movie files from the following URL to the same directory (make a folder on the desktop), run the program and then copy the newly created "Movies" folder to the games folder in SteamApps?

http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...cas_Arts;12840


This signature was removed in accordance with the ACTA treaty, by some backstabbing bastards who want to remove your freedom too. Don't want yours to be next? Do something.

Say no to ACTA.
Extreme110 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Small Movies and Cut Scenes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.