Thread: Another CPU ability thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-16-2011, 07:24 PM   #1
Zeami
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Another CPU ability thread

I just bought this computer for the simple fact that I want to play TOR on it's highest settings for years to come. Recently on TOR forums, I was advised that it probably won't live up to the ability out of the box because of the G Card.

iBUYPOWER Gamer Extreme AMD AM571SLC
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T (2.8GHz) processor
NVIDIA GTX550i 1GB (HDMI) graphics
1TB Serial ATA-III hard disk drive
4GB DDR3-1333Mhz RAM
Window 7 Home Premium
700 Watt XION PSU
Water Cooled



Is there anything I can do (other than overclocking) to speed this rig up.

I was told the Ram is sufficient and that the GTX 550 is not.

Silly me for thinking the GTX 580 is tops and the GTX 550 is better than the GTX 460...

Any insight would be appriciated.
Zeami is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2011, 09:10 PM   #2
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,431
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
While the GTX 550 is below the 460 in specs/benchmarks, it will still run TOR perfectly fine I'm sure. You don't need a high end machine to play this game. You can check the system requirements here: http://www.starwarsmmo.net/system-requirements/

Can you link the thread where you were told that card wouldn't be good enough? Since I haven't played the game on my own system I don't know how high the graphics settings would go but just based on the minimum requirements I have to believe you could play on max.

Welcome, btw!


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2011, 10:42 PM   #3
Zeami
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Thank you for the welcome!

I can't link the quote yet (on a government computer and can't go to any gaming website). SW TOR is flagged for some reason (guess they think I won't be productive here lol).

I wasn't looking to just play, I want shadows and rippling grass and lighting perfection. (I really want the realism to shine and not see the "cartoony"-smooth-render that was wow.

"but just based on the minimum requirements I have to believe you could play on max." - that's what I wanted to hear. I guess it's going to just come down to me giving it a shot.... 58 days out.
Zeami is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2011, 10:14 AM   #4
Tommycat
º¿º>^..^<
 
Tommycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,578
Current Game: Real Life 1.0(BETA)
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeami View Post
Thank you for the welcome!

I can't link the quote yet (on a government computer and can't go to any gaming website). SW TOR is flagged for some reason (guess they think I won't be productive here lol).

I wasn't looking to just play, I want shadows and rippling grass and lighting perfection. (I really want the realism to shine and not see the "cartoony"-smooth-render that was wow.

"but just based on the minimum requirements I have to believe you could play on max." - that's what I wanted to hear. I guess it's going to just come down to me giving it a shot.... 58 days out.
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html
I'm running a Radeon HD 6670 and I'm able to hit max settings, and keep framerates above 30 at nearly all times(save lag and extremes).

The GTX 550 rates higher than that.

I was able to run the game on a GeForce 8600 GT. though I wouldn't recommend it... ugh. getting 7-19 FPS max was rough.


"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." Thomas Jefferson
Tommycat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2011, 05:12 PM   #5
decalibron
Rookie
 
decalibron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 80
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
hm...just as a side note: where does the GeForce G210M with 512 MB dedicated RAM rate in all of this? That's what i've got, and i'm trying to get an idea.


“In view of the fact that God limited the intelligence of man, it seems unfair that He did not also limit his stupidity.”
-Konrad Adenauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
1. Reschedule the game release [Light side]
2. Go ahead with release [Neutral]
3. Destroy Activision-Blizzard's offices, massacre their employees, eat their children and abduct their women [Dark side]
decalibron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2011, 06:52 PM   #6
Lynk Former
internet hate machine
 
Lynk Former's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,979
10 year veteran! The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer LF Jester 
1. Go to this site: http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/ using either Internet Explorer or Google Chrome (since it requires ActiveX support) and make sure the browser you're using isn't blocking the plugin.

2. On the drop down, find "Star Wars: The Old Republic" (it's the last Star Wars title on the list)

3. Click "Can you run it?" and wait for the results.

Lynk Former is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2011, 09:43 PM   #7
decalibron
Rookie
 
decalibron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 80
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
thanks! that was extremely helpful. I went and checked like 9 different games i've had my eye on as well :P


“In view of the fact that God limited the intelligence of man, it seems unfair that He did not also limit his stupidity.”
-Konrad Adenauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
1. Reschedule the game release [Light side]
2. Go ahead with release [Neutral]
3. Destroy Activision-Blizzard's offices, massacre their employees, eat their children and abduct their women [Dark side]
decalibron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2011, 07:24 PM   #8
Knight Of Honor
Rookie
 
Knight Of Honor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Can i run this game

I have a laptop computer and im curious if i could play TOR on it.

Dell Inspiron 1545


- Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
- Pentium Dual-Core CPU - 2.3 GHz
- 3 GB RAM

- Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330
Graphic Memory: 512
Memory Type: DDR2

So.. is this sufficient to run the game?


If we are all clones, why am i the only one with a sense of humor?
Knight Of Honor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Forums > Game Discussion > Taris Recovery Center > Another CPU ability thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump