lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Fair Strides' UNfair problems
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-17-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 594
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Fair Strides' UNfair problems

I'm starting this as a continuous tread for whenever I run into issues with whatever I'm working on. I simply ask that people glance at it occasionally or watch it, and try to help out with the issues that come up.

For starters, I actually tried to model a lightsaber, but something went horribly wrong with the blade...

Show spoiler


And I tried to change the hilt offset in the player's hands by changing the hilt's location relative to the aurora base but no dice.

Edit:Also, can someone point me to the textures for the lightsaber hilts? Thanks!

Also, can anyone confirm for me the locations of the DS/LS aura things that appear when you gain DS/LS points? I refer to the visual. Me and Maklor from DeadlyStream have it narrowed down up to here...:
Show spoiler

Last edited by Fair Strides 2; 05-17-2012 at 01:58 PM.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2012, 02:02 PM   #2
Trex
Forumite
 
Trex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 505
Veteran Modder 
The only locations I know of the for the auras are in nwscript.nss.

If you're trying to add them to characters, I can refer you to my recent thread here : http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=209626

A script that would work for adding light side aura would be :

Code:
void main()
{

object oNPC6=GetObjectByTag("charactertag");

effect bluestuff = EffectVisualEffect(VFX_IMP_LIGHT_SIDE);

ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_PERMANENT, redstuff, oNPC6);
return;

}
...although I think I still had to alter something in nwscript.nss to get it to work.

Hope some of that helps.


KNIGHTS OF THE OLD REPUBLIC : THE JEDI MASTERS
PLAY THE TOTAL CONVERSION MOD NOW! . | If you're interested, my almighty fanfic can be read here.
Trex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2012, 02:11 PM   #3
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 594
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trex View Post
The only locations I know of the for the auras are in nwscript.nss.

If you're trying to add them to characters, I can refer you to my recent thread here : http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=209626

A script that would work for adding light side aura would be :

Code:
void main()
{

object oNPC6=GetObjectByTag("charactertag");

effect bluestuff = EffectVisualEffect(VFX_IMP_LIGHT_SIDE);

ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_PERMANENT, redstuff, oNPC6);
return;

}
...although I think I still had to alter something in nwscript.nss to get it to work.

Hope some of that helps.
That helps a lot actually. Though I would be thankful if you updated the script you just posted to work for a given character if a certain robe/armor were worn. I'll re-skin the clothing, and then could you modify the script with the If/Then statement?
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2012, 02:21 PM   #4
Trex
Forumite
 
Trex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 505
Veteran Modder 
Off the top of my head I'm not too sure how to do that, but I think a few other around here would be able to.

I rarely make new items, but if there's an equivalent of an 'on equipped' part of the uti, then can you just use this script as an 'on heartbeat'.

I'm getting a little tired today though, try me again tomorrow if no one else helps. I may have a more articulate solution.


KNIGHTS OF THE OLD REPUBLIC : THE JEDI MASTERS
PLAY THE TOTAL CONVERSION MOD NOW! . | If you're interested, my almighty fanfic can be read here.
Trex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2012, 04:29 AM   #5
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 594
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trex View Post
I'm getting a little tired today though, try me again tomorrow if no one else helps. I may have a more articulate solution.
Well, I just textured two re-skinned robes, now I have to add the Baseitems.2DA lines, copy and modify the .UTIs, and then have someone do one of three things before release:

1.) Re-skin the robe/skirt thing on the Zeishon sha texture I send them.
2.) Make the robe/skirt thing invisible with Alpha Channels.
3.) Delete the robe/skirt thing from the .MDL.


EDIT:
In a PM to J7, who hasn't been on for something like two weeks:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2
I re-skinned the Zeishon Sha armor and renamed it "Master of Light".

I then copied-and-pasted the Zeishon Sha line in the baseitems.2da and and renamed it "Armor_Master_of_Light".(This line being 103)

The .uti kept reading line 103 as the minor uniform...

What would I do now with the .Uti? What is the TemplateResRef? The tag is the name of the texture, yes?

I tried to get it right, but I screwed up.

Show spoiler


I have the skin titled PFBM99 from PFBM02. I tried with the texture variation set to 99, but nothing. Also, I do need an icon, but that I have under control.

The issue is getting the texture in-game.

I read your tutorial on .utis, but it didn't help much in this particular area. If it actually did then please correct my erroneous mistake.

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!

Think You guys can help?

Last edited by Fair Strides 2; 05-19-2012 at 12:53 AM. Reason: Appending
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2012, 10:47 PM   #6
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 594
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Well, I'm back. And with a scripting problem. I'm doing a request that requires adding the items to the locker on the Endar Spire. I edited the K_inc_end.nss script, which details the Endar Spire, and when I compile it with KT, saving it as K_inc_end.ncs, it compiles, but there's no output file. I try it with HazardX's compiler, and it's an include file and becomes ignored. The specific parts of code I added were these:

Code:
#include "k_inc_utility"
#include "k_inc_generic"

string sTraskTag = "end_trask";
string sTraskWP = "endwp_tarsk01";
string sCarthTag = "Carth";

string SOLDIER_WEAPON = "g_w_blstrrfl001";
string SOLDIER_ITEM01 = "g_i_adrnaline003";
string SOLDIER_ITEM02 = "";
string SOLDIER_ITEM03 = "reptroop";

string SCOUT_WEAPON = "g_w_blstrpstl001";
string SCOUT_ITEM01 = "g_i_adrnaline002";
string SCOUT_ITEM02 = "g_i_implant101";
string SCOUT_ITEM03 = "recvest";

string SCOUNDREL_WEAPON = "g_w_blstrpstl001";
string SCOUNDREL_ITEM01 = "g_i_secspike01";
string SCOUNDREL_ITEM02 = "g_i_progspike01";
string SCOUNDREL_ITEM03 = "smugluck";

int ROOM3_DEAD = 3;
int ROOM5_DEAD = 4;
int ROOM7_DEAD = 2;

...

void SpawnStartingEquipment()
{
    object oLocker = GetObjectByTag(LOCKER_TAG);
    int nClass = GetClassByPosition(1,GetFirstPC());
    if(nClass == CLASS_TYPE_SCOUNDREL)
    {
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUNDREL_WEAPON,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUNDREL_ITEM01,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUNDREL_ITEM02,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUNDREL_ITEM03,oLocker);
    }
    else if(nClass == CLASS_TYPE_SCOUT)
    {
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUT_WEAPON,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUT_ITEM01,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUT_ITEM02,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SCOUT_ITEM03,oLocker);
    }
    else if(nClass == CLASS_TYPE_SOLDIER)
    {
        CreateItemOnObject(SOLDIER_WEAPON,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SOLDIER_ITEM01,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SOLDIER_ITEM02,oLocker);
        CreateItemOnObject(SOLDIER_ITEM03,oLocker);
    }

    if(GetHasSkill(SKILL_STEALTH,GetFirstPC()))
    {
        CreateItemOnObject(STEALTH_UNIT,oLocker);
    }
}
Before you ask, yes I have the tags correct, the files in the override, and yes they all work in-game. But I can't find a solution. Nothing else has been modified, so it's not a capitalization error. It is an include file, but in what should I include it? Thanks for the help in advance guys.
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Fair Strides' UNfair problems

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.