lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: UltimateHk47's Guide to Start modding (List of tools and helpful tutorials)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-26-2012, 04:44 AM   #1
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
UltimateHk47's Guide to Start modding (List of tools and helpful tutorials)

Okey doke, here is the Ultimate guide to start modding!!!!

http://www.starwarsknights.com/tools.php
-this includes most of the tools
The ones you need to download are
Kotor Tool
DLG Editor
K-GFF Editor
ERF/RIM Editor
MDLOPS
Kotor Script Generator
Whereami Armband (Only for TSL)

Other (google these)
GIMP - http://www.gimp.org/ - for skinning
Gmax - http://www.turbosquid.com/gmax - for moddling
Nwmax plugin - http://nwvault.ign.com/View.php?view....detail&id=626 - gmax plugin
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Beginner Tuts
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204108 - UTC (Character's) Tutorial
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202892 - UTI (Items) Tutorial
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204227 - UTP's (placeables) Tutorial
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204636 - Simple Skinning for beginners
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=197003 - Gimping for dummies
http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef.../ArmorSkinning - Custom Armour Tutorial
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143412 - Frequently Used Script Functions
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=157396 - making a storyline mod (even if your not there to make a large scale mod it will still show you the basics of using kotor tool, module creation and conversation)

More Advanced Tuts
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143372 - adding journal entrys
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=131944 - recruiting NPS's
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=208456 - Script Shack (for all manner of scripts, good place to get help with them)


VISIT THIS THREAD FOR LOADS OF TUTORIALS! - http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=151013

PS: Come to me or any other modder for help on getting started!
If I've missed out something or i should add to the list please message me Thank You!
I hope this helps!!


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2012, 11:56 AM   #2
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
UPDATE

-----------------------------------------------------------

It would be nice on this page for people to provide short tutorials for peoples questions (so people dont have to create loads of threads for their questions, yes I know thats what i did ). I have one:

This is my predicament:
Thers a droid and a man, I talk to the man and we team up and kill the droid. Id like to talk to him again without going through that dialog. How can I do this. More to the point,
Can someone give me a script to set that the node of the battle dialog had been said, and next time I talk a script will check if Ive talked to him, if true, it will show a different line of dialog. If you need me to explain further i will do so.


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2012, 02:42 AM   #3
Fair Strides 2
Junior Member
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 495
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateHK47 View Post
UPDATE
This is my predicament:
Thers a droid and a man, I talk to the man and we team up and kill the droid. Id like to talk to him again without going through that dialog. How can I do this. More to the point,
Can someone give me a script to set that the node of the battle dialog had been said, and next time I talk a script will check if Ive talked to him, if true, it will show a different line of dialog. If you need me to explain further i will do so.
Have you tried the "k_act_talktrue" script? You might set it in the slot for "script that determines if this node is available" in the node you want to access.
Fair Strides 2 is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2012, 05:37 PM   #4
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Sorry that im not that updated with LF too much anymore, but has alot of data been lost?


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2012, 10:45 PM   #5
TWINKEYRUNAWAY
Rookie
 
TWINKEYRUNAWAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 111
I have looked through the majority of the tutorials. Very helpful and it has a place on a notepad so I can refer back to this. Quick question If I may ask, how does one apply the CM_Baremetal effect to clothing that doesn't originally have it?


www.youtube.com/user/411Remnant
Mass Effect Unification Released, click on our channel to get it!
TWINKEYRUNAWAY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2012, 11:28 PM   #6
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWINKEYRUNAWAY View Post
I have looked through the majority of the tutorials. Very helpful and it has a place on a notepad so I can refer back to this. Quick question If I may ask, how does one apply the CM_Baremetal effect to clothing that doesn't originally have it?
You'd first need to edit the texture so it has an alpha channel(which allows for transparency). With one, the game renders the texture with an effect, rather an the part in question actually being transparent(unless that is the intent, however). Photoshop and gimp can easily do this, though you might have to keep changing it to get the best look.

Next, you need to create a .txi file. This can be done with notepad, but you must change the "Save As Type" to 'All Files' first, as otherwise it won't read correctly. As for what you need to add to it, it's just this:

Code:
envmaptexture CM_Baremetal
There are one or two others you can use, such as the gunmetal texture, which gives a similar effect.

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2012, 01:18 AM   #7
TWINKEYRUNAWAY
Rookie
 
TWINKEYRUNAWAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtas Vadum View Post
You'd first need to edit the texture so it has an alpha channel(which allows for transparency). With one, the game renders the texture with an effect, rather an the part in question actually being transparent(unless that is the intent, however). Photoshop and gimp can easily do this, though you might have to keep changing it to get the best look.

Next, you need to create a .txi file. This can be done with notepad, but you must change the "Save As Type" to 'All Files' first, as otherwise it won't read correctly. As for what you need to add to it, it's just this:

Code:
envmaptexture CM_Baremetal
There are one or two others you can use, such as the gunmetal texture, which gives a similar effect.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsHpW...ature=youtu.be
Thanks for the advice, however I am still encountering this problem that seems to have plagued me for a few days now. Perhaps I am doing something wrong with the alpha channel?


www.youtube.com/user/411Remnant
Mass Effect Unification Released, click on our channel to get it!
TWINKEYRUNAWAY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2012, 04:26 PM   #8
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
I have somethings that need to be done:

Can someone give me a script if an item is in someones inventory. If it is an extra line of conversation appears. If not, its not viewable/selectable.

Also, can some give an alternative script to check if something ISN'T there, if its not, an extra line of dialog appears. If it is, it doesn't.

Thank you!


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2012, 01:17 AM   #9
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,280
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateHK47 View Post
I have somethings that need to be done:

Can someone give me a script if an item is in someones inventory. If it is an extra line of conversation appears. If not, its not viewable/selectable.

Also, can some give an alternative script to check if something ISN'T there, if its not, an extra line of dialog appears. If it is, it doesn't.

Thank you!
Alright, I don't really have my normal modding computer on hand so I don't know if this script will compile/work perfectly, but I'm pretty sure this is the general idea.

Here's the script for having the item and the line appearing true:

Code:
int StartingConditional()
{

object oPC = GetFirstPC();



if(

     GetItemPossessedBy(oPC, "YOUR ITEM'S TAG") ) {

  return TRUE;

}

else return FALSE; 
 
}
I'm not entirely sure that the script I have next up will work right, but I think it will. This one should let you see the option if you don't have the item.


Code:
int StartingConditional()
{

object oPC = GetFirstPC();



if(

     !GetItemPossessedBy(oPC, "YOUR ITEM'S TAG") ) {

  return TRUE;

}

else return FALSE; 
 
}
Just in case the script above doesn't work, this is another way to get the line to pop up if you don't have the item, but again, I'm not entirely sure.


Code:
int StartingConditional()
{

object oPC = GetFirstPC();



if(

     GetItemPossessedBy(oPC, "YOUR ITEM'S TAG") ) {

  return FALSE;

}

else return TRUE; 
 
}
Hope I helped. If only just a little bit.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > UltimateHk47's Guide to Start modding (List of tools and helpful tutorials)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.