lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Graphics problem (in game) Help please!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-01-2012, 11:28 PM   #1
LennM24
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Graphics problem (in game) Help please!

First I'd like to apologize if this is the wrong forum for posting this and/or if it's been covered before. I'm running the game in a Windows 7 (64 bit) Home Premium laptop with a Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family display adapter. I know there have been lots of problems as far as game compatibility with the newer OS's and graphics card. Mine seems to run fine until a certain parts in the game (The Undercity - Taris, Dantooine, ect). There I find this game graphical problem or something, I can't really describe it. Though it is annoying to deal with, I wouldn't care as long as the game ran at the pace it should, but it not only slows my character down but prevent him from walking in certain places (which he should be able to) but sometimes I'll go on to another area linked to that one (so for example: Undercity > Sewers or Undercity > Lower City) and it will occasionally crash. Now I think I've read somewhere in the forums about this being a graphics card issue. I checked my driver and it's fully updated and up to date. I'm also running the launcher and .exe in compatability mode to service park 3. So is there anything I'm doing wrong? Or something I could do? Please be specific as I'm not really that good with computers. Here is a picture of what the error looks like. (On Dantooine it gets worst)

LennM24 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2012, 12:43 AM   #2
CptPriceless
Junior Member
 
CptPriceless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 350
Current Game: TSL
I haven't found a legitimate solution to this problem, but I found the next best thing. Turn off the grass. While this would probably ruin some aesthetic facets of the game, turning off the grass should get rid of all those lines.


CptPriceless is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2012, 12:51 AM   #3
thejman217
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 231
I used to have that same problem.

Disable shadows and grass.

Go into your SWKotOR directory. (Start, computer, C:/, program files, program filesx86, LucasArts, swkotor, click compatability files at the top, and you should see a notepad document called "swkotor" or "swkotor.ini") And in your swkotor.ini, add a new line under your graphics options and type "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1" without the quotes (it's the Kashyyyk & Undercity & Dantooine lag fix, in case you're wondering what the new command does).

Save changes.

Enjoy game.

Last edited by thejman217; 09-02-2012 at 12:56 AM.
thejman217 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2012, 10:40 AM   #4
LennM24
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Thank you both for the the replies. It worked All the annoying laggy lines are gone. Now hopefully this will prevent the occasional crashes from the Elevator to the Undercity and the Ebon Hawk to the Jedi Council on Dantooine, but anyways, thank you very much for your help

Last edited by LennM24; 09-02-2012 at 10:45 AM.
LennM24 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2012, 05:09 PM   #5
thejman217
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by LennM24 View Post
Thank you both for the the replies. It worked All the annoying laggy lines are gone. Now hopefully this will prevent the occasional crashes from the Elevator to the Undercity and the Ebon Hawk to the Jedi Council on Dantooine, but anyways, thank you very much for your help
Sweet!!! Awesome!!! Glad I could help!
thejman217 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Graphics problem (in game) Help please!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.