lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: ANH Luke's Lightsaber Mod
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-29-2009, 06:29 PM   #1
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
ANH Luke's Lightsaber Mod

I'm pretty bored with the standard lightsabers in KOTOR so I decided to make the good old standby. In this mod all blue lightsabers are replaced by Luke's from A New Hope. I'm sure this has been done before, but I figured I'd try my hand at it. My horrible texture abilities aside I think this model came out quite well. I hope you all like it.

Screeny
Download from my website


OOPS: Okay, I just realized that there's only one texture for for all lightsabers. So beware that if you throw this into your override the other colored lightsabers won't look right.


Last edited by miro42; 04-27-2013 at 05:04 AM. Reason: OOPs
miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2009, 06:42 PM   #2
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
This hilt looks very nice.


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2009, 06:45 PM   #3
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
I might be wrong but it looks to me like both the model and texture is on par with the Luke ANH saber Oldflash did for the K1 Cyan saber.

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2009, 06:49 PM   #4
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Payne View Post
This hilt looks very nice.
Hey thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtas Vadum View Post
I might be wrong but it looks to me like both the model and texture is on par with the Luke ANH saber Oldflash did for the K1 Cyan saber.
Is that a good thing?
Or if you're suggesting I ripped it off, I built them both from the ground up. Really, I guess if we used the same reference material there shouldn't be too much of a difference anyway.

miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2009, 06:58 PM   #5
Kainzorus Prime
My vision is augmented
 
Kainzorus Prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Top of the food chain.
Posts: 1,218
Current Game: Deus Ex series
Contest winner - Modding 
That is not a rip-off of Oldflash's hilt. Oldflash's has completely different emitter.

Kainzorus Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2009, 07:00 PM   #6
Rtas Vadum
Behold The Envoy...
 
Rtas Vadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 744
Current Game: TES 4: Oblivion/3: Morrowind
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by miro42 View Post

Is that a good thing?
Or if you're suggesting I ripped it off, I built them both from the ground up. Really, I guess if we used the same reference material there shouldn't be too much of a difference anyway.
A very good thing. I mean that you modeled and textured the saber just as well as Oldflash did when he(Hopefully I'm not wrong about that, if so, sorry) made his.

Rtas Vadum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2009, 01:10 AM   #7
purifier
Forumite
 
purifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DisneyLand
Posts: 722
LF Jester 
Wow, the details on it are really good. I'd say you came pretty close to it looking like Luke's lightsaber.


It's a winner!


SITH HAPPENS
purifier is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2009, 01:12 AM   #8
Trench
Guy with Monocle
 
Trench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under a rock.
Posts: 1,638
Current Game: DX:HR, iKotOR
LF Jester 
Nice! I will be using this one soon!

Trench is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2009, 02:08 AM   #9
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtas Vadum View Post
A very good thing. I mean that you modeled and textured the saber just as well as Oldflash did when he(Hopefully I'm not wrong about that, if so, sorry) made his.
Cool. I like you then!

Quote:
Originally Posted by purifier View Post
Wow, the details on it are really good. I'd say you came pretty close to it looking like Luke's lightsaber.

It's a winner!
Aww, you're making me blush

Quote:
Originally Posted by Te Mirdala Mand'alor View Post
Nice! I will be using this one soon!
Yay! I hope you enjoy it!

miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2009, 02:35 AM   #10
Demongo
Afro Skeleton
 
Demongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 963
Current Game: Street Fighter IV
Nice job! I like mods that bring the saga into Kotor



Bink's Sake

"I've barely eaten anything for many decades now. It feels like my stomach shriveled into my back........though i don't have a stomach or back because i'm a skeleton! Yohohohoho! SKULL JOKE!"

"My eyes have never seen such a pretty woman! But i'm a skeleton so my eyes don't see much."
Demongo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2009, 09:41 PM   #11
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDac View Post
Nice job! I like mods that bring the saga into Kotor
Thanks. I almost prefer the original saga, if for no other reason than nostalgia. I'd have a Princess Leia head out if I could crack this silly hex editing.

miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2009, 10:53 AM   #12
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,695
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Very nice miro42. In particular an excellent texture, although sadly you really can't fully appreciate good saber textures in KOTOR.

There are a couple of technical inaccuracies. I'm not sure how concerned you are with those. I gather that some at least are due to modelling constraints, however there is also some minor missing detail from the texture. I don't want to be nitpicky though so I won't harp on about that. I do tend to be a bit anal about those sorts of things.

One comment I would pass on though is that, opening your model in GMax, there seems to be a UV error. It's something that commonly happens during the conversion to a binary model. Here's a pic:



Did you detach all your faces? I know this sort of thing was the bane of my early saber-making experience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -DK- View Post
That is not a rip-off of Oldflash's hilt. Oldflash's has completely different emitter.
Oldflash's hilt is Anakin's ROTS hilt which was an idealised amalgam of Luke's ANH and ESB hilts.

Last edited by DarthParametric; 08-01-2009 at 11:01 AM.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2009, 04:30 PM   #13
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthParametric View Post
Very nice miro42. In particular an excellent texture, although sadly you really can't fully appreciate good saber textures in KOTOR.

There are a couple of technical inaccuracies. I'm not sure how concerned you are with those. I gather that some at least are due to modelling constraints, however there is also some minor missing detail from the texture. I don't want to be nitpicky though so I won't harp on about that. I do tend to be a bit anal about those sorts of things.

One comment I would pass on though is that, opening your model in GMax, there seems to be a UV error. It's something that commonly happens during the conversion to a binary model. Here's a pic:



Did you detach all your faces? I know this sort of thing was the bane of my early saber-making experience.
Hey coolbeans. No I don't think I detached the faces so hopefully that is the problem. Just to clarify, you're talking about detaching the faces on the model itself, not in the UVMap, correct?

miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2009, 04:46 PM   #14
TriggerGod
Senior Member
 
TriggerGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hiding
Posts: 2,415
Helpful! 
Your model looks pretty good. I might use it in my next K1 playthrough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by miro42 View Post
Hey coolbeans. No I don't think I detached the faces so hopefully that is the problem. Just to clarify, you're talking about detaching the faces on the model itself, not in the UVMap, correct?
After you model your saber, you are supposed to select the different parts of the UV Map (in editable Mesh), and detach them to an element.

Heres a visual guide, courtesy of DP.
TriggerGod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2009, 02:06 AM   #15
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,695
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Was that something I sent you via PM TG? I did search to see if I made a more descriptive public post, but can't seem to find one. I should probably do one for the saber A-Z thread.

As TG said, the idea is to detach polys (make sure only as an "element" and not as a separate object). It seems MDLOps gets a bit screwy when dealing with adjoining polys that are split across different regions of the UV map. Usually what I do is start at the bottom of a hilt, select every loop/row of polys, detach them, then hide them to get them out of the way (as shown in the pic). In some cases you may need to detach polys individually, depending on your mesh topology and the UV map.

By the way, there should be a step 6a which is to hit the OK button. I guess that should be obvious but just in case.

Last edited by DarthParametric; 08-02-2009 at 02:13 AM.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2009, 06:34 PM   #16
T7nowhere
Did you reset?
 
T7nowhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,972
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
If you hexedit the model and rename the hilt texture then you wouldn't have to worry about it effecting the games models.
T7nowhere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2009, 05:23 PM   #17
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
Quote:
Originally Posted by T7nowhere View Post
If you hexedit the model and rename the hilt texture then you wouldn't have to worry about it effecting the games models.
I'm not so hot at the hex editing. What exactly do I change?

miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2009, 05:49 PM   #18
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,695
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
This is the instance you want to change -



Best just to change the 001 to something like 999. Or better yet, just export a new ASCII model from GMax that uses a texture with a custom name.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2009, 06:10 PM   #19
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthParametric View Post
This is the instance you want to change -



Best just to change the 001 to something like 999. Or better yet, just export a new ASCII model from GMax that uses a texture with a custom name.
Coolbeans. I changed the hex and it worked. As far as the lightsaber ascii models go, it looks like they all use the w_lghtsbr_001 texture. Is there a different spot to extract them from in KOTOR Tool?

miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2012, 08:34 PM   #20
miro42
Rookie
 
miro42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 131
Current Game: Plants vs Zombies
UPDATE: Put up a working link to download from my website in the original post, or just click here.

miro42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2012, 12:00 AM   #21
battle111
Forumite
 
battle111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lithuania/Korriban
Posts: 678
Current Game: SWTOR and LOTRO
Look's realy cool nice job!!!
battle111 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Taris Upper City Emporium > ANH Luke's Lightsaber Mod

Tags
a new hope, lightsaber, luke

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.