lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Default Game Textures' .TXIs
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-21-2012, 12:42 PM   #1
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 536
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Default Game Textures' .TXIs

I recall someone saying once that we can't figure out what the .txi data is for the textures in the texture packs, right?

Well, out of curiosity, I hit the "Hex View" button with a texture selected. I got gibberish until I scrolled to the very bottom and saw something about proceduretype. So, I hit the "ANSI" button at the bottom of KT's hex viewer, and again scrolled to the bottom.

Voila! I saw all of the .txi info right there. A thing to note: the blending/proceduretype setting is at the end of the line that is immediately above the "clear text".

IIRC, this means you can extract the .tpc, Hex edit it(or edit it in ANSI), then throw it through an online .TGA converter, and have fun. I am not in a position to test this atm. If any wish to do so, please report their findings to a moderator so they can update this post.

I regret that I can't post screenies to show you, but unless someone else wants to obtain them, it'll be a few weeks at the least before I can upload them...
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2012, 12:29 PM   #2
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 550
Could you explain with more detail for a leak like me?

I could really use the OE .txi of Kotor2Logo.tpc
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2012, 02:17 AM   #3
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 106
Current Game: tslrcm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter View Post
Could you explain with more detail for a leak like me?

I could really use the OE .txi of Kotor2Logo.tpc
it works, from kotor2logo.tpc :
"mipmap 0" is what i got, from other textures we get more, what i have noticed so-far is that almost every texture has an xbox downsample, though ktools tpc viewer shows gibberish or nothing.
to explain further on how to view this extra info.
1. select a tpc.
2. on ktools right-most panel select hex viewer
a new window shows up
3. you now have the hex on the right and the ANSI translation on the right
4. scroll to the very bottom, in your ansi part you should see things that make sense "clamp 0" "mipmap 0" "xbox_downsample 64"
5. on the bottom of ktools hex viewer you have three options: hex ansi unicode
6. select ansi, the view should change, now your looking at just gibberish,
7. scroll down to the last line, then scroll right until you get to what you notced in step 4.
8. there is your txi info copy and paste from the ansi view and bob's the hobo living on the corner.

Last edited by Darth Sapiens; 11-23-2012 at 02:44 PM.
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2012, 02:35 PM   #4
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 536
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Sapiens View Post
it works, from kotor2logo.tpc :
"mipmap 0" is what i got, from other textures we get more, what i a=have noticed so-far is that almost every texture has an xbox downsample, though ktools tpc viewer shows gibberish or nothing.
to explain further on how to view this extra info.
1. select a tpc.
2. on ktools right-most panel select hex viewer
a new window shows up
3. you now have the hex on the right and the ANSI translation on the right
4. scroll to the very bottom, in your ansi part you should see things that make sense "clamp 0" "mipmap 0" "xbox_downsample 64"
5. on the bottom of ktools hex viewer you have three options: hex ansi unicode
6. select ansi, the view should change, now your looking at just gibberish,
7. scroll down to the last line, then scroll right until you get to what you notced in step 4.
8. there is your txi info copy and paste from the ansi view and bob's the hobo living on the corner.
Thanks for explaining. Give me a month guys, and I'll have pics to detail the whole process.

You know, I'm amazed that in eight years of modding, I'm the first to report this...
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2012, 03:13 AM   #5
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 550
mipmap 0 doesn't do anything

edit;
If I copy the ansi the game just crashes the instant its loaded...

Last edited by Hassat Hunter; 11-24-2012 at 03:21 AM.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2012, 04:49 AM   #6
Darth Sapiens
Rookie
 
Darth Sapiens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 106
Current Game: tslrcm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter View Post
mipmap 0 doesn't do anything

edit;
If I copy the ansi the game just crashes the instant its loaded...
you mean the entire ansi? just copy what makes sense
i think mipmaps only affect tpc's not tga's (im not to sure about tga lacking mip maps but still...) there is a tga to tpc converter online somewhere its for jade empire but it works for kotor/tsl
Darth Sapiens is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2012, 08:40 AM   #7
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 550
Got "blending additive" now... it does work somewhat, but not enough, as it still allows a green stripe to pass the original does not.
And it's not listed when doing this either... :/
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2012, 01:09 AM   #8
Darth DeadMan
Rookie
 
Darth DeadMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 119
Current Game: StarCraft II
HH, transparency in logo realized with alpha channel in the texture, not *.txi.


Stay metal, live forever, never die!

My mods @ DeadlyStream
Darth DeadMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Default Game Textures' .TXIs

Tags
txi files

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.